We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres de Palermo

Save Saved
You added Ayres de Palermo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ayres de Palermo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sanchez Bustamante 1955 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1126, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

While the twin beds are a little small, the rooms are spacious and pretty comfortable. The fittings are all new and the hotel is well kept, clean and efficient. It is very well located, right beside the Alto Palermo snazzy shopping mall, and a cheap cab ride away from Recoleta and Palermo Soho "centers". The fitness center is a joke (machines aren't gym-quality) but the pool is bigger than most for BA hotels. Breakfast was a bit monotonous and the room in which it's served too small, but in general, a good value and very pleasant stay. Internet access was good and location, fantastic. Helpful staff at front desk.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
28
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

My son and I traveled to Buenos Aires this year at Thanksgiving for a week vacation to visit my daughter who was there on a study abroad program. We found this hotel on trip-advisor and hotels.com and read good reviews. It was all that it advertised and more. I corresponded with staff before our trip and their replies where prompt and very helpful. Staff did speak English and we were able to check in early. We loved our room, it was a small apartment on the 8th floor overlooking the neighborhood. We had a balcony and the room was very stylish and clean. We had a wonderful stay! It was quiet at night and the twin beds were very comfortable. There was a refrigerator and dishes and a small cooktop. The price was very reasonable as this was actually a small apartment. We also enjoyed the outdoor pool and there were two computers in the lobby for use. The location was great for us, our daughter was staying 2 blocks away on busy Santa Fe Avenue, which has many shops and cafes. The zoo and botanical gardens are just blocks away as well as the rose garden park. We walked to San Telmo and Recoleta without problems. The only minor problem we had was with the wireless internet in the room that cost extra, one day we could not get on, but they did not charge us for this. There are grocery stores within a couple of blocks to buy snacks and food. It was a wonderful stay and we would recommend this hotel to others and stay again if we return!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Booked the Ayres de Palmero for our last 2 nights in BA. When we arrived at the hotel (late, thank you LAN), 1) there was trash all over the sidewalk outside which was disgusting, and 2) the staff told us that there was problems with the plumbing and moved us to the Libertad. The Libertad was good, but we were peeved as we had really wanted to stay in Palmero for our last two nights in BA. Also, I don't think that there were plumbing problems - I think that they overbooked and sent the last people to arrive elsewhere. So I don't actually know what the Palmero is like...

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our trip booked thru Latin Destinations. I would highly recommend both the hotel and the tour company. Beginning with our phone rep. Gizelle and ending with nice stay here everything was smoothe and efficient. We had booked a standard room and were upgraded to an executive suite with patio near pool and separate bedroom with one and a half baths. The front desk staff helped us with restaurant reservations( La Cabrera- great- get bifede lomo- huge portions),directions, and called driver for return to airport. The Bellman German was helpful and patient and all staff members spoke nice English. We had a late flight out and they let us store our luggage until time to leave. This hotel is farther from city center but we wanted a different experience from our first weekend in BA which we spent at Americas Tower in Recoleta( Would also highly recommend this hotel) By splitting our stays we got a feel for 2 different areas and enjoyed both. As noted in other reviews use only radio taxis and keep belongings close. Check with state department website for cautions about street theft. We were targeted but because our tour rep. who met us airport had warned of this we knew how to react and lost nothing. Have fun in Argentina. It is a beautiful country with kind and helpful people.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions of about 5 nights each either side of our trip to Peru.

At first, we were not sure about the location, but it turned out to be excellent, with the Agüero metro station about a 5 min walk away, the Alto Palermo shopping mall about a 3 min walk away, a Carrefour supermarket about 5 min walk away, and Recoleta Cemetery about 15-20 min walk away.

On both occasions, we had apartment 603, which overlooked the pool, and was extremely modern, spacious and IMMACULATE. It was a "suite" which consisted of a reasonable-sized fully-equipped kitchen (with cutlery, crockery, microwave, fridge, stove, normal oven, tea+coffee maker..), spacious living area, small toilet area with basin which ran off the living area (with sofa bed), a HUGE bedroom with separate ensuite bathroom and walk-in robe, and a LARGE covered balcony with table and chairs.

The lobby is small but functional. There is a pleasant reading area and internet (free of charge) area with two computers just behind the lifts. There are only 2 lifts, and they are TINY, but very quick. There is also a staircase as an alternative!

The breakfast room requires you to walk up quite a steep outdoor staircase at the back of the building, and cross the pool area. This is fine for those who are fit, and also when it is fine weather. But I'm not sure how this would work for those who are unable to climb stairs, and also when it is raining. It rained on our last day there and it was quite a pain having to walk out in the rain to get to breakfast.

The breakfast itself is very good and plentiful. There is no hot food (although scrambled eggs can be ordered for USD 5), but lots of toast, cereals, ham, cheese, juice, pastries, jams, tea and coffee, yoghurt etc. and these are all replenished constantly. The hours are very liberal, from 7am to 11am - so it is possible to lie in! The room itself is small and can be quite crowded at times. However, it is very light and bright with a nice view of the building and pool. The lady who works there, Graciela, is a delight, and goes out of her way to help you, although she doesn't speak English!

The other reception staff are also great and very efficient. We dealt mainly with Mariano and German. They gave us a great restaurant recommendation (La Payuca on Santa Fe, about a 10 minute walk), and also organised taxi transfers to the airport.

Would definitely recommend this place for those wanting a clean, modern, spacious, reasonably-priced apartment in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I had high hopes for this hotel from the pics posted on various sites and I was not disappointed at all. We had 2 dif rooms, an Exec Suite and a Reg Suite. The difference betw the 2 rooms was a pull-out couch in a living/sitting area, a full kitchen and a balcony and a much larger room. If you are deciding betw the 2, spend the extra $20 for the Exec Suite. Rooms were modern, clean and very spacious. The bathroom was nice and the shower was FANTASTIC.. There are 2 small elevators but the hotel isn't that big so waiting wasn't a big problem. There are also 2 public computers for guests to use which are conveniently located next to the elevators. The breakfast was good - toast, croissant rolls, sweetbreads, cereal, fruit, meat and cheese and the coffee was delicious with the hot milk. We never ordered the cooked eggs nor did anyone else during the times we were eatng, so I can't comment on that.

I thought I would mind that the hotel was not on a main street, but I actually loved that it wasn't. It's a short 1-1/2 blocks from Santa Fe (the main street) where there were plenty of shops and banks. There's also a grocery store on Santa Fe where I bought a bunch of dulce de leche to bring back as gifts. So much cheaper than buying it at the airport and a great selection. I found our rooms were much quieter bec we weren't on the main drag which made sleeping so much better.

The staff changes around the clock but each and every staff member we encountered was very helpful and accommodating. They gave us great restaurant recommendations, called taxi's for us and even helped us book bus and ferry transportation to Tandil and Montevideo.

I will most definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

The Ayres de Palermo is a wonderful boutique style hotel hidden on a quiet side street off of busy Sante Fe Avenue. While the property is not in "Palermo" per se, it is about equidistant between Palermo Soho and Recoleta. We were easily able to walk to both in about 15-20 minutes or so.

We had a standard room on the 6th floor facing Sanchez de Bustamante - at first, I was worried about the noise from traffic below, but we never heard a thing. The room itself was really big and very well appointed. The bed was super-comfy and the AC worked very well - which was very important since it was 90+ outside! Oh - and I must mention - there were plenty of tv channels to choose from - many in English. The breakfast was very good, with a nice selection. The breakfast staff were very attentive and were very quick to replenish items on the buffet. We loved the pool area and spent lazy mornings lounging in the sun before heading out to explore. There is a great little supermarket across the street where you can find some decent wines and of course, a liter if Quillmes for less than 3 pesos!

We loved BA and everything about the city. I so hated leaving and would love to return. Overall, the Ayres de Palermo is a fantastic hotel for exploring BA and it's absolutely wonderful neighborhoods. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayres de Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres de Palermo

Address: Sanchez Bustamante 1955 | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1126, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres de Palermo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Ayres de Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres De Palermo Hotel Buenos Aires
Ayres De Palermo Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres de Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.