We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place to stay in B.A.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mundo Bolivar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mundo Bolivar to your Saves list
Mundo Bolivar
Bolivar 1701, Buenos Aires 1143, Argentina (Formerly Casa Bolivar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very cool place to stay in B.A.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed in the industrial loft and it was excellent. Clean and funky, with a nice little kitchen and two small verandas looking out at a gloriously derelict old mansion over the street. San Telmo is wonderful - a little rough around the edges perhaps - but filled with great antiques and cool little boutiques. Breakfast was pretty standard, but a nice start to the day and in a great setting. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    31
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
62
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

This is a fantastic property which has been refurbished to the highest standards. However, the first night we were there the roof leaked in heavy rain. Obviously when your coming in at 2am from a tango club the last thing you need is to find that the roof has been leaking all night while you were out. Being a B+B there are of course no night staff so we had to make the best of a bad situation. This resulted in me carrying the mattress down from the mezzanine level, turning it over and sleeping on the floor with the spare bedding that was in the wardrobe. Hardly ideal. To be fair it could well have been a new problem and the roof might not of leaked in that spot before. The following morning however they were reluctant to move me to another room despite having a leaking roof! Then on checking out they did not want to give me any disount for the inconvenience. Eventually they did give a small amount of compensation. We all know that sometimes problems happen but this property did not seem like they wanted to resolve the problem at all. I would not go back myself and would say to anyone who does go to keep your fingers crossed that nothing goes wrong.

Apart from this the property is very high up on Bolivar street and there is not much happening around the area with a particularly run down building opposite.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, IL
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We enjoyed our one week stay in the elegant Loft Baroque. The main room is large and comfortable with a high ceiling, table, chairs, sofabed. The small kitchen had everything we needed. The bathroom is a good size, and we always had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The internet worked fine every day. The bed and pillows were comfy and there was plenty of space for clothing to be hung and folded. The only real problem is the street noise. Bolivar is a busy street, and we were directly on the busy corner. Busses stream downhill day and night and we really could not enjoy opening up to the beautiful balconies due to the noise. Thank goodness the air conditioning works well and provides some relief from the outside traffic. Unless you request a room in the back, you will hear lots of vehicle noise. Our sheets were not changed and the bathroom tub was never scrubbed out during the week. Towels were changed daily. The breakfasts are very good, but the same every morning; breads, yogurt, fresh fruit, ham and cheese, good coffee and fresh juice. That did get a little boring after a week. The breakfast room is large and bright, but a couple of mornings, people had to wait for seats. The staff is somewhat helpful with local information. It is a bit of a walk to the center of San Telmo, but in just about 15 minutes you can be at many restaurants, the plazas, the subway and clubs. There are 2 nice restaurants on Caseros just 2 blocks from the hotel, we loved both. If you are a foodie, you MUST have the degustation at La Vineria, Bolivar 865. Make a reservation a few days ahead. The staff reserved a table at Tango Palace for us as well, a Vegas style production of great dancing, and a pretty good meal, we enjoyed it. Buenos Aires is an amazing city to see on foot. We used the underground quite a bit, no problems. Be sure to enjoy every neighborhood, but gritty, noisy San Telmo was the right place for us to stay. And don't miss the local Sunday fair.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

You would never know what is inside the stately building at the corner of Bolivar and Finochieto in the San Telmo barrio. There are no signs, just beautiful wooden doors and a beautiful building. Once inside, however, there is a well appointed small hotel, with lofts and studios that have large living areas and courtyards. The rooms are very large, and the lofts have a separate living room area, along with small kitchen area with fridge, small stove and coffee/tea pot.

The breakfasts are mainly freshly baked pastries and cereals and fresh fruit, but quite good. There is wifi, and large courtyards with chairs and tables to relax.

The staff was unfailingly cooperative and polite, and they can arrange laundering and spa experiences as well.

The San Telmo neighborhood is authentic Buenos Aires, close to La Boca and Puerto Madero. Within five to ten blocks are dozens of fabulous restaurants near Plaza Dorrego. While we would not recommend wandering around at night on side streets in San Telmo, we walked every night down Bolivar straight to the Plaza Dorrego. The hotel is only two blocks from Parque Lezama, where the National Historical Museum is located, and which borders a beautiful century old Russian Orthodox Church. There is a great Parilla on the park's border, called Parilla Lezama, along with one of the top bars in the are, Bar Britannia.

A fine hotel, and with prices far less than $100 per night, it was was quite the bargain.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

The house and appartments are nice but it looks more like a hotel than a casa (house) due to the number of people who can stay there (25-30) and the fact that there is no garden. Apartments and breakfast room are quite dark, not very charming. For 100USD, we found better places in Buenos Aires, mainly in Palermo (beautiful houses with garden and swimming pool just for you).
Regarding the location, it is true that it is not in the heart of San Telmo, but this is not bad as San Telmo-Dorrego is a real tourist trap. Nice to go there once on Sunday (for the feria) but uninteresting for the rest of the week.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Casa Bolivar is a restored 19th century mansion in a residential area about 10 minutes walk south from the center of San Telmo. Each suite is decorated in a different style - belle epoque, mid-century modern, etc. While many of the suites are contemporary in design, the steep marble staircases, high ceilings and airy courtyard conjure an ambiance of days gone by. Overall, Casa Bolivar is a delightful guest house; charming and quirky, but not without its problems.

Our initial impression was not entirely positive after encountering a few service-related issues. The staff were friendly enough but we had the sense there was a lack of communication and no follow-up. The manager resolved these issues quickly, and after that we had a very enjoyable stay.

The breakfasts were substantial, the internet free, and the company pleasant. We especially loved the atmosphere - listening to the sounds of the house and melancholic tango while taking a siesta on a sultry afternoon. Sweet bliss in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKenzie Bridge, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Casa Bolivar is a bed-and-breakfast in a historical building, in the San Telmo district of Buenos Aires. Each room or suite has its own theme and decor; we stayed in Estudio Oriental. Rooms are around a central courtyard, which offers a quiet place outdoors while still within the hotel. Staff were multilingual (Spanish-English, also Spanish-French), and helpful. Breakfast included delicious pastries, along with the ham-and-cheese slices that seem ubiquitous in South American bed-and-breakfasts. Location is across the street from a city park that has a Sunday crafts fair, and walking distance from the main Sunday street fair and antiques fair in San Telmo.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mundo Bolivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Bolivar

Address: Bolivar 1701, Buenos Aires 1143, Argentina (Formerly Casa Bolivar)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Bolivar is a lively and friendly Apart hotel & Guesthouse with a warm and personal atmosphere. Welcome to travelers, tango dancers, students, artist and good people from all over the world.Designed in a classic family house mansion we are located in a lovely corner of the historic part of San Telmo. Tranquility and independence in 14 Loft & Studios with modern comfort is combined with the possibility of shared moments in our pleasant café, courtyard and club of culture.Every Lofts & Studios have their private entrance, kitchen, bathroom and access to balconies or courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mundo Bolivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bolivar Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundo Bolivar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.