We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Defensa 1521 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1413, Argentina (San Telmo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I feel so lucky to have found Gurda Tango on Trip Advisor last year, before our trip to BA in November 2011.

Originally our plan was to stay in San Telmo a couple nights, head off to Iguazu, stay in a different neighborhood in BA when we returned, head off to Patagonia, and then stay in another neighborhood. We thought that way we could get a feel of several areas of the ginormous city of Buenos Aires.

Well, it didn't happen that way. We fell in love with this tiny boutique hotel and it's staff, and after every excursion, returned back to our BA home.

The rooms: We stayed in 2 different rooms in our time there. One was the Tango (room with jacuzzi) and the other was the San Telmo. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The Tango was bigger and the "nicer" of the two, although if you are on a budget, you are not missing much by taking a smaller room. It is not as if you are going to be sitting around your room all day, so I would recommend either, depending on your budget and if you want to get all romantic in the tub.

The staff: Can't say enough good things here. Karina and Caro were our rocks, always full of advice, smiles, and eager to hear our stories from our adventures. Karina must have sat down with me at the front desk each time we returned back to the hotel from another part of Argentina to go over the map of BA with me AGAIN to make sure I knew which buses to take, how much they cost, where they would take us, and so on. They held bags for us as we explored other parts of the country, which was a huge help to us as well.

Also, my boyfriend and I got engaged while in Ushuaia, and when were returned to BA and told Karina & Caro the news (they were like our best friends at this point) they were shrieking with joy as if we were life long friends, and when we returned from the park that day, they had surprised us with a bottle of champagne. Above and beyond. We were so lucky to have them.

The neighborhood: Great walking neighborhood. Plenty of fantastic restaurants, shops, bakeries, etc, all in this little hood. I felt like the San Telmo neighborhood had such soul. We enjoyed the other hoods we bused too, and while I recommend visiting those areas as well, you just don't get the same feeling from the hip restaurants and chic shopping areas as you do in the old town.

I hope Gurda Tango will always be there. I dream of returning there one day.

Stay here.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    40
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
113
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a lovely hotel that's near to many things. There were police patrols in the neighborhood so it felt safe enough. Loved the decor in the room. Wi-fi is reliable. We asked if there was a computer for public use as we needed to do some things that could not be done on our iPhones, and Mariano (not sure if his name is spelt correctly) kindly offered his personal laptop for us to use. He was also really helpful with a ton of other things!
He also tried to get us the name of the place where we could buy leather jackets at local prices but unfortunately we didn't stay long enough in BA to go there. In the end, i bought a great, affordable leather jacket from Murillo :)) Get there by the subte, many shops, wide variety.
Another staff on the morning shift (Karina) was also very helpful. All in all, this hotel has really nice and genuinely warm staff who want to make u feel welcome and at ease in Buenos Aires. It certainly deserves the great ratings that it has received!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our room, Malbec, was large, cool and quiet. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast great, the room overlooked the local park . Within walking distance of the centre and La Boca.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The best of the hotel is the staff, friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice, the location very good!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The room was small but clean and nicely decorated. The staff were wonderful. They helped to arrange tours and gave great information and directions. They let us stay late as we had an evening flight out. The location was good as it provides easy access to the San Telmo shopping markets on the weekends. In short it's a very good place but the staff make it great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Gurda Tango in February 2012 - we had a lovely stay. They upgraded us to their junior suite - one of 7 rooms in this old San Telmo mansion. The room was large by Buenos Aires standards - with a relatively large closet and bathroom. A little sparsely decorated, but very clean and well air conditioned. The location was excellent - at the corner of the large park in the neighborhood. It was a few blocks from the Dorrego Plaza - perfect for the Sunday morning antiques fair. Also, the staff was fantastic - helpful, friendly, and flexible!

Our only issue was a very weak internet connection in our room, but we could easily get it in the lobby!

Thank you Gurda Tango!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Karina Mecca (general manager) and her colleagues Norma, Caroline & Rosia showed my wife & me terrific hospitality and warmth during our stay. They single-handedly turned what started out as a potentially disastrous stay in Buenos Aires into a simply wonderful few days. We had reserved at another B&B, but unbeknownst to us a few days before our arrival water pipes burst and made our accommodations unusable (the B&B emailed us, but we were on a cruise and had poor access to email). That B&B (Juan, Jose & Marcela at Home San Telmo) was very helpful in assisting us in securing alternate accommodations. We could not have asked for a more welcoming and helpful set of hosts at Gurda Tango. And when our flight home was unexpectedly canceled, requiring us to stay an extra day for a late-evening flight the following day (and miss Thanksgiving back home), they were exceptionally kind to allow us to stay in the room into the evening on that last extended day without charging us an extra fee for a (very) late checkout.

We just loved walking through the park outside the hotel. It was always filled with many different people and activities, and the weather was beautiful with its warm breezes. A local bus route has a stop right outside the hotel.

Karina will refer you to good area restaurants - we had a wonderful late lunch at 1880 Restaurant the afternoon of our last day. Our steaks - and everything else - were terrific. Lots of good wine - and very inexpensive compared to the US! The car that Karina arranged to pick us up for our trip to the airport also worked out very well.

The Gurda is not a luxury property, but it is clean & comfortable, well-priced, well-located, and above all has great hosts in Karina & her colleagues.

The hop-on/hop-off bus is very good, gives you a nice tour of the city.

We found Buenos Aires to be a lovely city and have told all our friends & family they should visit - and stay with Karina! Other than nasty traffic (worse than Boston!), everything was great. We especially loved all the parks and green space there.

Room Tip: Karina will take care of you. Beds are comfortable, showers very good (we stayed in 2 different roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#61 of 445 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#13 of 445 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Montserrat
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#249 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Patios de San Telmo
Patios de San Telmo
#51 of 445 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 445 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 445 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel

Address: Defensa 1521 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1413, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gurda Tango Boutique
Gurda Tango Boutique Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurda Tango Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.