We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , service and facilities... A true gem in the buenos aires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vain Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vain Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vain Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Thames 2226/8 | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires C1425FIF, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Online promotion
Ranked #24 of 440 hotels in Buenos Aires
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location , service and facilities... A true gem in the buenos aires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time in this hotel ... From the minute you walk in the hotel, you will feel the warm hospitality of the staff. Pablo was excellent in ensuring that we were well orientated before heading out and looked after our every need. During breakfast, the staff ( forgot her name) was super nice and always had smiles on their face. Besides this, the location was great and a subway ride from everything. The rooms were very clean and had small interesting touches like the daily weather update and fresh flowers.... I highly recommend this hidden gem in the heart of buenos aires

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing us as your home in Buenos Aires city!
We really appreciate your +A review about us and the hotel itself.
It is nice to hear that you noticed those small touches left daily in your room.
We look forward to have you here as our guest again in a future visit.

Best regards,
Vain staff"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    99
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
29
199
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston/Merida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We found a decent web-rate, which brought us to the Vain for a three night stay. On the surface, everything looks nice, but look a little closer, and the furniture is showing significant signs of wear. The contemporary furnishings were reminiscent of Ikea and not well-suited for a commercial setting.

Great water pressure from the shower, but not a good seal on the shower door. The first time we used the shower, water flowed from the tile bathroom onto the wood floor in the bedroom. Not fun to clean up loads of water on vacation...we learned quickly to rig the glass shower door shut by throwing a towel over the seal and letting it drape on both sides. Messy, but problem solved! I liked the toiletries they provided - very cute.

My favorite part of the hotel is the rooftop deck. Bring some mosquito spray and your favorite beverages, and enjoy the serene spot! It was observed that we were up there, and management brought snacks to the lounge - a nice touch. Note, that in the mid-afternoons, you can hear shrill-like screams from the little voices playing in the school yard next door. Other than that, we did not get the wow-factor from the staff that others are raving about. In fact, we were often looking for the front desk person, who all seemed to be over-tasked with duties taking them away from the front counter.

For a great rate, I would stay here again. But I wouldn't pay more that $80USD per night for this place.

Room Tip: I would pick a room right by the outdoor lounge entrance. That area seemed very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing us during your visit to the city!
It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed Palermo as well as our lounge-terrace after a long day. Breakfast time is the busiest time of the day, and the recepcionist needs sometimes to give a hand to kitchen, so really sorry if we were not able to assist you at that moment on Front Desk.
Please next time, feel free to inform us if you have problems with the shower. Maintenance will be more than welcome to help you, solving the problem of the shower blind.
We really look forward to have you here as our guest again soon.
Best regards,
Vain Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great boutique hotel, in a great neighboorhood. Staff is very firendly and the breakfast is delicious with various options.We have been upgraded to the suite, which was a great surprise at our late arrival.Second time in BA, just for a week end in winter time, this was the perfect place. we also recommend the restaurant one block from the hotel (2296 rua thames) : las Pizzaras bistro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking some minutes of your time to write this review!
It is really nice to get a positive feedback about our service, so thank you again.
Yes! Palermo is getting better & better every day -and its restaurants are a must as well as tea time on weekends.
We really look forward to have you here again in a nearby future"
Best regards,
Vain Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to stay in a friendly, clean, extremely reasonable rates, great location and delicious breakfasts this is the place to be. Service was hands down flawless from the moment you walk in those doors. This was our first time in BA and wanted to start our adventure out right. Roberto and Patricio go above and beyond to help you. Whether that is setting you up with cabs, restaurant recommendations, last minute booking to go on a tour to a ranch or getting you into a tango show 30 mins before! Staying here was extremely enjoyable and know I would stay here again on my return to BA! Thank you thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenosAiresVbh, Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review!
It is really nice to hear that your´Vain experience` was nice. It helps us to keep on improving our service as well as growing as team.
We enjoy to read that you were able to attend a Tango show and get in touch with the gaucho lifestyle, a complete experience.
We look forward to have you as our guest on your next visit to Buenos Aires!
Regards,
VAIN Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was listed on Time Out and we are glad we chose it.
We generally try to avoid chain hotels, and this hotel was exactly what we were looking for. They arranged our pick-up from the airport, and as the driver had a big sign with our names, it was very easy to find him.
As we arrived the hotel a little bit before check-in time, we were greeted with a welcome drink (lovely local Wine!) at the beautiful reading room at the top floor.
The room was very nice and comfortable and very clean. The Wi-Fi (free) worked well at the room and in the common Areas. The staff was always willing to help you in a very fluent English. The breakfast was probably the best I ever had, and allowed us to skip lunch every day.
It is located in the heart of Palermo, in a very safe Area, with restaurants and bars, and the subway is at walking distance.
Unfortunately we live quite far... but would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest

First of all, we want to say thank you for your review. It really help us to keep on working every day.
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our all you can eat menu breakfast.
Long distances, but we would like to have you here as our guest again on your next visit to the city!

Best regards,
Vain Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We found this hotel through Tripadvisor, and we had a great experience.
The service is excellent and the breakfast is delicious.
The room could be small for American standards but it is very reasonable comparing what we have in Europe, and it was very comfortable and clean. There is a great common area at the top floor, with a very nice terrace.
The hotel is a gorgeous refurbished old house, with a mixture of old and new deco, and the size gives you the feeling of being hosted by friends.
The location is great, at walking distance to the subway, and in a very safe area with plenty of restaurants and bars.
We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenosAiresVbh, Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Mrs Katrina,
We would like to thank you for your nice review about us, the hotel and our lively district!
Looking forward to have you here in a nearby future as our guest again.
Best regards,
Vain Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This looked like a nice little hotel, very cozy and modern, here is what i have to say about it:

Pros:
-The place looks nice at first sight.
-The hotel staff is very attentive
-The lounge area is very nice and so is the outside patio
-Bed is firm
-Good pressure in the shower
-A good minibar
-There is a safe on every room
-Many pillows in the bed
-Its location is very convenient for all kind of activities and great restaurants
-You cant hear noise from the streets, that is a plus since buenos aires is really noisy as any big city.

Cons:
-A bit pricey, 780 pesos for one night for the most basic room
-No spa or jacuzzi or swimming pool but thats logical given the space. But they could have an outside jacuzzi.
-The halls are VERY noissy, all that separates you from the noise is a mostly glass door.
-Once you spend some time in the place you start noticing the dirty spots, i dont care for them in general but when they are in the bed or in the walls i dont like it.
-It is a bit hard to find.
-They advertise free baked goods at the lounge area in the second floor. But none were offered.

Its an ok option, i would go back but only if i can get an internet offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenosAiresVbh, Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your review and those nice pictures taken of the hotel!
Your message is really important to us.
The deck have litters and towells that are on disposal to relax before the sun goes down, but yes, you are right, no swimming pool. Sorry, but there is no space on our terrace to add it.
We still offer complimentary hot drinks & something sweet like cake on our deck during the afternoon (selfservice) . If there are few rooms occupied is offered on our bar. Please, next time feel free to ask for this to Front Desk.
The halls are opened to keep that italian house style and get natural light into rooms & all rooms have door gaskets to avoid outside sounds. We are really sorry to hear that you still find it noisy, we are not able to avoid noisy guests.
Please, feel free to contact Reservations Dept when you know the future dates of your next visit in Buenos Aires. They will offer you, the special discount promo non refundable . You will be to find it on our website too.
Best regards,
Vain Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vain Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vain Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
Vain Boutique Buenos Aires
Hotel Vain Boutique
Address: Thames 2226/8 | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires C1425FIF, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#53 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#58 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vain Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of "Palermo Viejo" neighborhood, only 15 minutes away from the main tourist attractions, VAIN gives the guest the possibility of having another alternative to the noisy BA downtown.It preserves the "Porteño" neighborhood feeling, combined with a bohemian and avant-garde mixture that can be sensed in the variety of stores, from fashion designers, antique and design furniture to coffee shops, fashion restaurants and bars, along with the traditional ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Escapio, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Vain Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vain Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.