We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a friends house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Seb Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chez Seb Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Chez Seb Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Lavalle, Buenos Aires C1190AAI, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Like staying at a friends house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lets say your friend had a restored townhouse in Buenos Aires. Wouldn't you want to stay there? We really felt at home in this hotel. Our room was comfortable and interestingly decorated. All the rooms have high ceilings that add to the spaciousness. The housekeeping staff was among the best I have experienced, and as an occasional business traveler, I have stayed at some pretty nice hotels. The rooms here were immaculate.

As for the friends, we felt like we were treated, like friends here, not just hotel guests. Alex and all other staff at the hotel went out of their way to help not just me and my wife, but every other guest. As an American, I loath to expect that everyone speak English in a non English country. Yet, it was most convenient having English speaking staff at the hotel; it really helped get us oriented (and they recommended some GREAT local restaurants).

The only downside (for some) might be the location (you re not in Palermo or Recoleta). For us, being near the mall and subway was a plus. Cabs are always available because of the mall. The subway gets you downtown in 10 minutes for a whopping 50 cents or so.

And the rates are, maybe not as cheap as staying with a friend, but very reasonable.

All in all, I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    33
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
92
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very nice little boutique hotel within walking distance of palermo districts. The day staff are extremely helpful with offering suggestions and helping you get your bearings of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We rolled up into the neighborhood and were immediately apprehensive..."gritty" is putting it gently. But in the midst of a crumbling, garbage strewn street is Soco BA. Entering in through the frosted glass doors you feel a sense of sanctuary/respite from this crazy megalopolis. Friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, generous breakfast, and as it turned out, a great central location for exploring Palermo, Recoleta, and Congresso neighborhoods. There's even a city bus around the corner that runs to La Boca.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Las Pampas"...it had a King sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 days, then returned to stay again. Helpful at the desk, in English, with great suggestions for local (no Americanos) restaurants. Very friendly staff. Rooms well decorated and comfortable. Neighborhood of Tango shops, lessons, and Tango shows. We will recommend for our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The taxi from the airport even had trouble finding this hotel as it is away from the 'normal' run of hotels in BA. However it is situated infront of a new Shopping Mall in an old vegetable market.
Once inside the glass doors you enter a charming and modern hotel, where the staff are absolutely fantastic. They have a wealth of knowledge and oodles of patience.
Definately a place I would recommend to anyone, young or old!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved it!
Clean & spacious rooms, tastefully decorated.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Walking distance from subway and busses.

Breakfast is a little dull.
Rooms are in slight disrepair.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I´ve been to SOCO again (with my wife and mother in law) in new year´s time and I have no more to add... The hotel is clean, beautiful, in a very good location, near to Shopping Abasto and the Subway station Carlos Gardel... The staff are still the best in BsAs, helping on everything... I was really happy they keep improving all quests... This is my argentinean home for sure... Hope to be back again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Seb Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Seb Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Lavalle, Buenos Aires C1190AAI, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Seb Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a large 1920s in the Tango area of Buenos Aires, transformed and refurbished to provide a modern and comfortable accommodation in a lovely setting. With spacious and welcoming atmosphere, Chez Seb provide to the guests, exceptional service and permanent personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chez Seb Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soco Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Seb Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.