We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other reviews are unfair, it doesn't live up to its name, but nevertheless is ok!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Hotel Splendid
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Av Rivadavia 950 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1002AAU, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Thionville, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Other reviews are unfair, it doesn't live up to its name, but nevertheless is ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We had images of this hotel being a nightmare after looking at the reviews on here. We had a night here included in our trip and had booked alternative accommodation for after. But on arrival we were pleasantly surprised. I wouldn't call it a romantic, classy or anything special hotel, just a normal, nothing special but clean well positioned sleeping place in the thriving BsAs. A bit noisy, but you're nr a busy street!

If you pay cash you even get a 25% discount, making it 30€ a night. Bargain for something this central.....Same can be said for breakfast, ok nothing special but included!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
7
13
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Very basic, the rooms are not very clean. But its centrally located. Talking to other people. You can find much better accomodation in the area at a similar price. So give it a miss.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

I can only agree with the other reviews and found my experiences similar; I also stayed here because it was recommended by GAP Adventures... they really need to change hotels.

- The lift was broken most of the time and had the feeling you were going to get stuck with it did work (weird scraping noises!)
- The electricity was "cut off to the whole block" even though miraculously the ground floor where reception was and the other buildings in the street seemed to have electricity
- The rooms were just plain average and noisy

- and the best part was that the pillows were so diseased I picked up a viral eye infection on the first night that stayed with me for my whole holiday! I've just been in hospital for 5 hours and have been told the virus is so bad its given me scratches on my eye balls which may take a month to heal .... not a great way to start your trip!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I stayed in this hotel because it was the starting hotel for my tour group. It was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. The beds are small and uncomfortable, the airconditioners are noisy and the rooms are really small. Feels like a bit of a firetrap. Its only positive is that its very centrally located, just a few blocks from Florida street and the presidential palace. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Having read the reviews on trip advisor about a week before going to BA, I almost booked myself in elsewhere, but decided against it as it was already paid for as part of a GAP tour. The location is good, and fortunately the lift was working when I arrived (though broke soon after, I get the impression this happens a lot) but that's where my positive description ends. The lady at the reception desk was rude and unhelpful even by Argentinian standards, and the shower had someone else's hair in still. When returning to the city at the end of my tour, I promptly checked out, refusing to pay +200 pesos for another night, and instead checked myself into a clean and bright hostel on the touristy Florida street (search for Hostel Suites Florida), with a nice double bed and fresh towels for only 150 pesos (it would've been less than 40 pesos had I been prepared to share with five others). There are so many nicer, cheaper places, it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

Great budget option in Buenos Aires. Clean, safe, comfortable and close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed here as part of a tour involving stays at some 7 budget hotels across South America - this was by far the worst. The hotel receptionist on arrival was rude and unhelpful beyond belief - our tour leader had to spend considerable time arguing with her since she had made a mistake in her rooms division. The rooms are small, cramped and generally nasty. The shower did not drain so had water presumably from the last guests still in the basin thing. The beds were uncomfortable and the hotel was noisy at night. There was very little inspiring about this hotel an awful experience - made worse by the lift breaking down whilst I was in it on my way to check out

  • Liked — Finding a taxi conveniently available outside to drive me away as fast as possible
  • Disliked — Trying to sleep
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Av Rivadavia 950 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires C1002AAU, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.