We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family, beautiful building, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de la Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada de la Luna to your Saves list
Posada de la Luna
Peru 565, San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely family, beautiful building, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were travelling to Buenos Aires to learn Spanish for a month at the start of a 4 month Sth America trip. After some nightmare youth hostels we found the B&B Posada de la Luna. Eli was immediately welcoming when we came to look at the room and we liked her and the place straight away. Eli and her family renovated the building themselves in around 1999 and they have really taken care to keep the old features. It's truly a beautiful building to stay in. As it was winter it was a little chilly in the room at times, but plenty of blankets were provided. The outdoor areas are beautiful, although it was too cold for us to make use of them.

Breakfast was a highlight of our day, fantastic food including freshly made bread and always a friendly face to chat to us and offer advice. We were fortunate to have Eli's daughter, Laura and son-in-law, Max staying for a week at the same time we were there and they (and Eli) speak fantastic English and were very forthcoming with tips and help with our Spanish. Oh, the whole family also speaks French too!

We really felt at home staying at Posada de la Luna. We were in one of the smaller rooms, but the absolutely beautiful Luz de Luna room would be our pick for a shorter trip (with a little more money). The B&B is really excellent value for money and very centrally located for the sights in the centre of town, Puerto Madero and the wonderful antiques market on Sunday in San Telmo. It is also close to both buses and subways to get to other areas of interest such as La Boca and Palermo.

Only thing worth mentioning is that there is a live music venue next door that seems to run on Friday and Saturday nights. You CAN hear it through the walls, but it generally seems to finish at about midnight, but it may be annoying if you're trying to get an early night. I believe there is a room that you can't hear the noise from. It certainly didn't bother us as it seemed to be acoustic music and you'd be hard pressed to find somewhere (other than a luxury hotel) in San Telmo that ISN'T near a music venue or club of some kind.

There is wifi available, but it is based in the breakfast room at one end of the building, so the further away you get the worse the signal. There are lovely little tables on the landing that you can sit at that have a good connection, or the breakfast room is available for use at all times of day.

So, we are planning to return to both Buenos Aires and Posada de la Luna in October. It is really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    2
    3
    10
See reviews for
4
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Eli and her family we more than accomodating, we were in low season and there we few guests, she and her family helped us. Atmoshpere was home-like rooms beautiful for a b & b location perfect. I would recommend this B&B for anyone who wanted to stay in San Telmo as everything is accessable and transport is easy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We had a great time at Posada de la Luna. The House is awesome , the atmosphere is great  and the friendly and warm ownwers (an argentine-french-cuban family) made us feel like home. We had some fun with the tango lessons (my feet won't forget) and met nice people during the breakfast conversation. The room was nice and quiet. And the peaceful patio was a good place to have a rest after long day walking along this huge city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

The Posada de la luna was recommended by our son who had stayed there previously. It wasn't fancy but our room (the circular one) was clean and large. Yes, the bathroom was small, but we didn't mind. We didn't go to Buenos Aires to hang out in our bathroom. The breakfast was adequate and we had a great time chatting with other guests as we ate. Eli was delightful and very helpful. We felt like we were guests in someone's home. It wasn't the greatest part of town, but that's what we wanted. The price was right and that's what was most important to us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

I really do not recommend this b&b: it is next to a club (difficult to see it during the day, it opens after midnight) and as the walls are really thin if you're a "light" dormer you can say goodbye to your beauty sleep.
it is not very clean either, I mean it is an old house, with some suspiciously stained moquettes and dirty walls, it doesnt exactly inspire confort. the photos arent too realistic, not at all in fact.
I must say that it was my worst experience in lovely buenos aires. just for the anecdote, we stay there just one night cause we couldnt bear the noise, but we proposed to pay for two nights, as we'd reserved for four.
after we payed our unpleasant owner the 2 nights fee, we discovered that during the breakfast she sneaked into our room, took off all the sheets and the towels, even the little soaps from the bathroom, in ordrer to prevent us from taking a shower, I imagine.
now that i'm thinking of it, it seeems to me rather ridiculous and surely shows the lack of professionalism of that owner.
the location is really nice, although I think I prefer the centro. anyway, in san telmo there are a lot of good adresses, you dont have to experiment this one.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here. We had the Luz de Luna circular room with a window to the sky - very romantic. Very tastefully and thoughtfully decorated. The area is great as it is walking distance to the metro, the main shopping precinct and the pretty cobblestoned streets and tango halls San Telmo is renowned for. Eli was a fantastic host, just like mum, very helpful - she even helped me with my Spanish homework! Little "Chispa" (the dog) is just the cutest! Breakfast was continental with homemade bread and jam to add to the homely feel. I would love to go back someday - I wonder if Eli will let me move in?

  • Liked — The homely feel
  • Disliked — It was a little expensive
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

We turned up here as we'd made the mistake of booking at Ostinatto Hostel 2 roads away from this B&B as it has come 6th in the world's hostel Oscars - what a flea pit!!!
Went on Time Out guide recommendation...how come NOONE lets you know just how dodgy this area is at night?!

Also, we only realised towards the end of our stay that we could make use of the outside space and spa - noone mentioned this to us. Quite expensive for what you get (breakfast, unless you rush to be there early, is pretty basic).

Beautiful building but their marketing material (leaflet and photos) were obviously done and taken when they cared more about their guests! The cafe/bar area doesn't function as that anymore - it's simply used for breakfasts and a stint on the computer if you're lucky enough to fight off the other guests.

Wouldn't choose here again to stay, even though it did come to our rescue in a time of crisis! Stay in Palmero or Recoleta if you're visiting BA. Oh and it's REALLY polluted too so be warned!!

  • Liked — Building
  • Disliked — Area at night and busy polluted road
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Luna

Address: Peru 565, San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an excellent location, with the convenience of downtown and the charm of the neighborhood of San Telmo to go out.A neighborhood with a unique style that defines the city of Buenos Aires, cobbled streets, tango music, myths and history of bowling and diversity of activities.As part of all this, the Posada de la Luna offers the experience of staying in an old house designated as Heritage of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada de la Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de la Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.