We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, beautiful features and a fantastic host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de la Luna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Posada de la Luna to your Saves list
Posada de la Luna
Peru 565, San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“Wonderful location, beautiful features and a fantastic host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

A fantastic place to stay, both in terms of its location and the welcome you receive. Ellie was a wonderful host, with nothing being too much trouble. The breakfast of fresh, homemade bread and jam was a delight. The original features still remain (marble staircase, wooden beams, panelled doors) giving you an authentic San Telmo experience. Highly recommended.
Jon Sadler & Claire Wilson

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, great host
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    2
    3
    10
See reviews for
4
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

We went to Buenos Aires with my wife last month. We first thought spending one week in San Telmo and one week in an other B&B in Palermo, but we finally decided not to move... The place is great and really well ubicated (very close from Plaza de Mayo and San Telmo's plaza). The room was comfortable and quiet. They seem to have remodeled the house just like it was originally (ask the owners about the history of the house, it is really fascinating if you are interesting in the history of the city).
The 4 last days we book the large circular room who has a window on the roof just above the bed, my wife loved it...

If you want to share good moments with real and warm people, that's the place. They are very kind, maybe because of the strange mix of this argentinian-cuban-french family...
We had the feeling to share a part of the "argentinian way of life" and this means that nothing can be perfect. But it is warmer than a "300 thousand rooms hotel" and they don't try to sell you the best tango-show of Buenos Aires but instead recommend you some milongas and non so touristic places (go and see La Ideal,one of the good tips they gave to us.)
Making the balance we had to say that we have the feeling that the trip would not have been so interesting and funny without the Posada de la Luna experience.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

My family ( i.e. me, my husband, 16 year old daughter and my 14 year old son) just returned from an incredible week in Buenos Aires. We stayed for 7 nights at the Posada de la Luna and loved it. Eli, the owner, is the most gracious host, the location is perfect and the set up was good for our family. We had the large loft-like room and a smaller room for our kids. The large room was really spacious, quiet, light and airy, with a very high ceiling (the ceilings are bricks supported by wooden beams) and our bed was comfortable. Plus there were two other beds in our room where our kids could lounge. The kids room was small and but had 3 beds (one for their stuff).

Yes, the bathrooms are tiny. Yes, they maybe oversell themselves on their webpage (there is something cultural I think about the overuse of flash animation on all of the BsAs hotels and guest houses). Yes there were some technical issues with the WiFi.

However, I want everyone to understand that I had originally made reservations for a suite at the Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires and realized, after a bad stay in the Four Seasons in San Francisco, that if we were going to fly for 10 hours to South America, I wanted to stay with South Americans (not North Americans).

Then I made reservations at The Cocker. I reserved 3 rooms. Two weeks before our trip, I found out that there had been a communication error and we did not have our reservation (I do not blame the Cocker but rather the hype associated with the photo that appeared in that not-to be-named travel magazine). The Cocker suggested we try Posada de la Luna and I am glad that they did.

We went to places (e.g. Uruguay), met wonderful people that were incredibly interesting, learned about Argentina, ate at great inexpensive non touristy restaurants and I thank Eli and the Posada de la Luna for these wonderful experiences. They were almost all a result of her advice.

SO if you want to visit Bs As and have a trip of a lifetime, please don't go for cable TV, don't check your email too much, get over our American plumbing issues, and try the Posada de la Luna.

PS this is my family in the newpaper during our trip [--]

  • Liked — Host
  • Disliked — technical problems
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed here in March 2007. The hotel is recommended in the Time Out Guide and the hotel's web site pictures look great but it was actually a disappointment and we wonder if Time Out had actually been there! The bathrooms are poky and cheap. The first room we were shown was dark, rather small and very un-inviting and only had a window opening onto the corridor . We opted for a larger room with more light and this was characterful. They forgot to clean our room on two days. For US$80 a night you can get much better value and more friendly service. The San Telmo area in which the hotel is located is however great fun and interesting in a down at heel but up-and-coming way. Argentinian hotels and hostals were in our experience all good value and of high quality at various price ranges but posada de la luna was the exception. Shame!

  • Liked — some antique features and design flair in the rooms
  • Disliked — general lack of interest shown in us, poky bathrooms, failure to clean room, value for money
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Atacama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

I went to this B&B with my wife after see it on the website [--] , but we stayed there just for one night, nevertheless we had made a reserve for 6 days.
At night and during the morning you can hear all, and I really mean all, different noises from others rooms. Also noises of machines when the people in charge of the maintainence started working in the morning or making breakfast, etc.
The bathroom is extremly small and stinking and the TV Cable didn`t work, because the TV control and also the device didn`t have enough buttons to choose channels from.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Luna

Address: Peru 565, San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an excellent location, with the convenience of downtown and the charm of the neighborhood of San Telmo to go out.A neighborhood with a unique style that defines the city of Buenos Aires, cobbled streets, tango music, myths and history of bowling and diversity of activities.As part of all this, the Posada de la Luna offers the experience of staying in an old house designated as Heritage of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada de la Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de la Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.