We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building and worth the tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo)

Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo)
Avenida De Mayo 1370, Buenos Aires, Argentina (El Centro)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 303 attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Architectural Buildings
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great building and worth the tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Enjoyed this building and the insights into the architecture provided by our knowledgeable tour guide (when I could hear what he was saying). Such cool details and I loved the elevators, staircase, and views from the top. The one negative about the tour is that our group was too large-especially for those cramped spaces toward the top. They should consider capping the group at 8 people...or have more runnings.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    200
    43
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stumbled upon this building on accident about a year ago and saw that they did a tour and wine tasting at night, so we went before a tango show. It was a really fun tour - learned a lot and the guides were fantastic. We had to skip the wine tasting because we were on the way to the show, but even just the tour and the views from the top were spectacular! Well worth it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decatur,al
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Though we were unable to go into the building our exterior tour and our guides narrative revealed the architect's link with Dante's Inferno.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Definitely worth visiting, you can only look around inside (other than the entrance hall) with a guided tour which are on the hour from 4 to 7 (more or less) and it cost 50 pesos argentinos. The tour was great and in spanish and english. The last bit of the tour was a bit worrying though, in the lighthouse right at the top not good if you don't like heights!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Quirky Palace with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great italianate palazzo. The tour takes you right to the top of the Palacio, with some good historical context. Its a great building and story, the guide and his family members have been doing this tour from its inception. I liked the view from the top, all the way to Uruguay in the North. However the "lighthouse" is hot and not well maintained. This isn't suitable for people who are disabled, with high blood pressure, large sized, or with acrophobia.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo) also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo) to your Saves list