We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View from the top” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo)

Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo)
Avenida De Mayo 1370, Buenos Aires, Argentina (El Centro)
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #20 of 295 attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Architectural Buildings
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great View from the top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The building is impressive and it has a great view from the top. you go up to the 14th floor and then up a narrow spiral stairway up to the top. If you are claustrophobic, you may not like it getting closer to the top. However the view of the city from the top is great. The guide was informative but serious. I enjoyed the visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    180
    38
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Views, Horrible Rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ok, so here's the deal: We loved being able to go up on top of a building to see the 365 view of Buenos Aires and I must say, it is amazing! However, it was totally crazy that our tour was so short and we barely got to take pictures. The history is interesting in terms of how the Palacio Barolo was crafted and the meaning behind it, but we could barely understand the guide even though our tour was in English. Here's where it gets even more disappointing. My husband and I met a couple who also wanted to photograph from the top of the building. When our tour was ending we asked our guide if we could have a few more moments to take pictures and he informed us that if we wanted to take photos of the sunset then we would have to pay full-price to do the tour again even though we had just paid. Now call me crazy or feel what I am saying, but I think that it is totally ridiculous that he charged us again (although he finally discounted the price by $20.00 pesos) just to take a few more photos on the 19th or 21st floor. If you can find a tall building to visit for free in Buenos Aires, then definitely go that route because this tour is totally not worth it for the 5 minutes they offer you. That is of course if your reasoning for going to visit this place is to take pictures. Otherwise, enjoy your tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
162 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Impressive 360 views from top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Superbly detailed ornate architecture on the outside and in lobby. The view of the city and the congress building are incredible from the top! Two minutes walk from congress building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pretty Building with Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were able to get tickets for this tour within 15 minutes of the tour. The tour lasts about an hour, and is in Spanish and English. The outside of the building, the lobby, and the views are gorgeous. The tour of the other floors of the building is pretty lackluster (unless you're big into architecture, but even then- not anything special on the inside to the average tourist), but it's worth sitting through it for the 360 views at the top. There are tiny balconies at the top that you can step outside to take pictures, and they take you to the very top and turn on the light house. Definitely worth an hour of your time for the views. There are quite a few very narrow stairs to get to the top, so note that if you can't walk up a lot of stairs it may be difficult. They do have an elevator at the top, but it only takes one person at a time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
625 reviews 625 reviews
455 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
“The story around it is better than the reality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you are afraid of heights - DO NOT GO! The ARG50 was pretty steep considering that the tour started late, was less than an hour and the English explanation was only just understandable. You don't have to know Dante's Divine Comedy but a basic understanding does make you in awe of the maths relating to the structure of the building in relation to the breakdown of the poem. Also amazing that the entire building was financed and erected on the premise that Italy was doomed and that Dantes ashes would be brought to Argentina for safe keeping. Once inside, the interior is sadly disappointing - even the eagle, under which Dantes ashes were supposed to rest, is a replica & unimposing. The first part was by lift but then it was really difficult when our party of 16 started to make the climb up the torre - tower. Narrow, tiny, winding staircase up from "Purgatory" into Heaven where we could step out onto small balconies for a view of the city. Then up again into the actual lighthouse. For those with a fear of heights this is where it really broke down as our guide maneuvered us to sit on the metal struts (Not The Glass!) surrounding of the light mechanism. Risk a peek down for that sheer 100m drop!! Back down to the 5th floor for a look at a replica of an office as per the 1920's. Absolutely loved the story of the building - the inside reality was disappointing. Today not so prestigious to have an office there - no one likes having to share the toilets!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo) also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Barolo (Palazzo Barolo), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.