We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to love???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Save Saved
You added Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Raleigh NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What's not to love???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the first three nights of our weeklong trip to Argentina and absolutely LOVED this hotel. Our room (#48) was huge with a very nice layout including a sitting area with a small sofa where our college aged son who is studying in Buenos Aires napped comfortably. Honor bar with an extra sink and a small fridge were nice touches...lovely hardwood floors and a smashing bathroom with a spa-like shower...main sink was outside the shower/toilet area which made getting ready in the morning more convenient. Wonderfully comfy bed with nice linens. Furnishings are sleek and modern. The view from our window was of a cathedral and, with the window open it was noisy but no worse than what you would expect in any big city. We never heard noise from other guests or from the elevator.

For getting to Puerto Madero, Centro, and the subway, this is an awesome location. Granted, the street is not exactly picturesque but it was not horrible. Cabs are so cheap that you can get anywhere for just a few dollars but we walked to the Centro area and to Puerto Madero during the day.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating, arranging transportation from the airport, making dinner reservations (Defensa was a charming and delicious dinner recommendation from the staff!), calling taxis, and connecting us with a delighful private driver for our trip to an estancia. The computer in the lobby made keeping in touch with friends and family easy and we enjoyed the intimate restaurant/bar for drinks and the complimentary breakfast (nothing fancy but very nice and perfectly adequate).

The rooftop terrace was by far the nicest surprise...one night we hosted a small party there with friends...picked up beer, wine and snacks at a local Carrefours and enjoyed a very pleasant evening on the rooftop. We did not use the adjacent hot tub but that, too, is a nice touch!

With the advance pre-paid rate, you cannot beat this hotel for space, location, comfort, service, and charm. For our last two nights in Buenos Aires, we stayed at a boutique hotel in Palermo Soho and, while it too was quite comfortable and the street scene a little more attractive, we had a tiny room that cost more than our huge room at Hotel Moreno.

We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    244
    65
    23
    6
See reviews for
60
374
54
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pigo_piga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This was our second visit to the Moreno and we have decided to stay here on every trip to Buenos Aires from now on. The rooms are beyond OK; it’s the first time that we see that the pictures show the real thing. The rooms are spacious, the decor is superb and we just love the peace that we had. The hotel was fully booked the first time I stayed there during summer and this time, even though the hotel was full as well, we weren´t disturbed either by other guests. The historical building is exquisite German art deco, the ceramics, the vitraux and even the original lift is still there. A lot of people here said it’s noisy but I had stayed in a large room and then I stayed in an extra extra large and didn’t hear anything at all!



The restaurant and bar are more than perfect, loved the food and ambiance, and when I came back with my wife she loved it too. The staff was friendly and helpful at anytime, especially the front desk that helped us a lot. We were lucky enough to be there during the weekend, so we went to the antiques flee market only six blocks away. The subway was also a 2-minute walk.



The Moreno Hotel is definitely my choice to stay in BA!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed at Moreno Hotel for 03 nights. The decoration of it is very peculiar and different. The first impression when we get in is a very bleak, but after that first impression we found out a very nice, fashionable design, kind of quirky.
We first stayed at a Extra extra large room ( 47m²) but this room was at 3° floor and the Windows were at the side of street and in the morning was very noisy because of the car’s horn, and it bothered us a lot, so we asked them to change and they offered us an upgrade for a bigger room Loft (56m²) at the 5° floor. This one have a better view , although both rooms have a good size and the decoration of them are very beautiful with modern and confortable furnitures. The bathrooms are also big and very nice/ modern.
We found the location of hotel wasn´t good because although its in San Telmo which is nearby some touristic points, it is far from a lot of other interesting places. The streets around it are ugly despite it has a lot of history value. In a next time I would rather to stay in a better location a little more modern.
The hotel staff was very thoughtful and handy. The breakfast is very good, “elegant” and modern, and even the buffet was simple, everything of it was very tasty, fresh ….we can´t forget about the “medialunas” , so good….. ☺

In the end for the US$450,00 for 3 nights it did worth because the rooms are wide, very modern and new.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

My name is Richard and I have spent 4 nights at Moreno Buenos Aires a few weeks ago. The city is amazing, there are great restaurants nearby (Puerto Madero is only a 5 minute walk), Tango Clubs within walking distance and the hotel is only two blocks away from the celebrated Plaza de mayo. The location of this hotel is definitely one of the best, in the heart of San Telmo district. Here you can find the traditional Flea & Antique market every weekend. The rooms are huge and modern. The on-site restaurant (recently opened) is the new hot spot in BA and the food & drinks are fantastic. The hotel staff cannot be more friendly. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

I've stayed at many hotels in Buenos Aires, and for a first-time visitor to the city, I can't recommend this hotel any more highly. The location is PRIME for many of the must-see tourist destinations; Casa Rosada, Avenida Florida, the San Telmo street fair are all within easy walking distance. The rooms are truly huge, modern, and well-appointed, and the streets are blissfully quiet in the evenings (which is not true in many other neighborhoods). *EVERYONE* I know feels very safe in that area, even at night. There's really nothing to worry about there. The staff speak excellent english, they're warm, friendly, and well-informed, and had top-notch recommendations at the ready for restaurants, sightseeing, etc. Strong, speedy Wi-Fi, and they've got a computer / printer in the lobby, too. I loved the classic open-air elevator... very cool touch. Perfect bed with great sheets, fantastic fixtures in the restrooms (flood showerhead!), and the breakfast is simple, yet classy. (I had croissants, yogurt, fresh OJ, and delicious coffee each morning). When their restaurant opens later this year, it will make a great hotel even that much greater. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Checking in at the Moreno Hotel has been one of the biggest pleasant surprises I had:
Friendly staff and superb rooms!!!
The sundeck invitest to enjoy breakfast and relax.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

This hotel is a good value- We had a Large room (the cheapest type available), and it was very big, with a King-size bed, plenty of storage and a good shower. Our room was on the 4th floor and very quiet- I specifically requested a quiet room when booking.

There is a beautiful roof deck with a view of the neighborhood. I wish they did a happy hour in the evening...

The staff is young, speaks good English and is very helpful and friendly.

On the downside, the location leaves a bit to be desired, as it's a good 10 minute walk to the center of San Telmo. At night the area is deserted, and there's nowhere to go for a drink in the immediate vicinity. In addition, they really need to work on their breakfast: the pastries were stale, the coffee was bad, etc. This is unacceptable , and would be very simple to fix as there are many great panaderias in the city. Finally, the gym is really lame- the machines are cheap and don't really work.

The hotel needs to work a bit on the details, otherwise it's a good place to stay if you don't mind being slightly away from the action.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — location, breakfast
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#35 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#40 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#52 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#58 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires is located in the bohemian neighborhood of San Telmo, surrounded by art galleries, antique fairs, museums, historical buildings and tango lounges. Besides, it is a few blocks away from the famous Flea Market of Dorrego Square.The Hotel stands in an Art Deco building, which was declared part of Buenos Aires City Heritage. Public areas and Hotel suites are decorated with authentic art pieces of Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreno Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Moreno Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.