We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, price, bad smell from bathroom.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina (Montserrat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quillota, Chile
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good location, price, bad smell from bathroom.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very good location in a beautiful old building. Nice elevator, nice breakfest, nice receptionist, reasonable price. The thing that was really negative was the smell coming from the bathroom. We complained twice about it and each time the maid came and dumped bleach down the drain. The smell came back. Also some nights the noise from the streets was a minor annoyance. Nice hotel, but could have been better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    335
    78
    28
    7
See reviews for
71
472
66
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What attracted me to the Moreno were both the very spacious rooms, as well as knowing that it would be quiet enough to be able to get a good night's rest (many parts of BA can get rather noisy at night). I was doing a lot of travelling, arriving from Europe and then heading off to Brazil and Peru in a whirlwind trip, and needed to be fresh.

The Moreno is on a quiet residential street in San Telmo. It is a little distance from the main action in Buenos Aires, though it is not a long walk to Plaza del Mayo and Calle Florida. The staff at the Moreno were extremely friendly, and safely watched my bags. The room itself was very comfortable, with a large bed and plenty of power points. The antique lift took a little to get used to, but worked well. The breakfast was nothing spectacular, though with so much great food around it was only a minor nit. I would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

For this location in a capital city, at this price, the hotel is very good value. The reception staff were all very helpful. The hotel is looking a little tired though, and breakfast is definitely not a high point. We also got 'bird poo' scammed, not one but twice, in the neighbourhood (there is more detailed advice on this scam elsewhere on trip advisor); beware the corner of Moreno and Defensa. Otherwise a great location - just around the corner from Plaza de Mayor and close to several subway lines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked the moreno by after hearing about the place through fellow travelers in brazil. The rooms as advertised are very spacious, enough for even another bed although the matrimonials that they have are comfortable clean and well maintained. The location is good, central and seemed to be rather safe throughout our stay. The breakfast was our one point of contention, a little bit shabby for the otherwise beautiful and well staffed hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a large room, with high ceilings and comfy bed. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good with plenty of variety. Very close to San telmo market and the plaza de mayo. Brilliant wine bar next door and a fab terrace. Only negative is that we couldn't check in early.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Pulling up at the Moreno Hotel, we weren't sure that we had the right place; it was just a doorway (albeit an attractive one) without a sign. But a guard in the small lobby directed us, via a lovely antique lift, up to the reception on the first floor where we were warmly welcomed.

The Moreno proved to be an unexpected gem. Its location was excellent, a few blocks south of Plaza de Mayo and its subway stations, and just north of the San Telmo neighbourhood, with fascinating streets, shops, markets, bars and restaurants. The hotel is in an old building with wonderful stained glass in the stairwell, but it’s been modernised in the current trendy brown way. Our room, which cost about $120, was large, modern and beautifully appointed. And despite being in the heart of a big and active city, it was quiet at night and we slept soundly. Next time I’d prefer a front room looking onto the street as it’s full of old buildings and has a nice outlook.

Breakfast was included, in the dining room on the top floor of the hotel. The interesting view helped take our minds off the truly awful coffee and pretty ordinary fare. But that was the only negative for us - otherwise a great stay and terrific value for money. And the restaurant next door was excellent too - not cheap, but good food and a stunning wine list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed with a friend at Moreno for 13 nights in March, April 2013.
The hotel is in lively San Telmo and close to Microcentro, extremely convenient and close to many good restaurants,bars and tango places. It is a classy but unpretentious hotel with huge beautiful rooms and extremely helpful staff. ( and very reasonable price).
The reception desk staff was extraordinary and helped us many times in various ways making us feel at home. Breakfast could be enriched ,but breakfast staff was also extraordinary.I would definitely go back as it was one of the reasons I enjoyed the city so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#42 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires is located in the bohemian neighborhood of San Telmo, surrounded by art galleries, antique fairs, museums, historical buildings and tango lounges. Besides, it is a few blocks away from the famous Flea Market of Dorrego Square.The Hotel stands in an Art Deco building, which was declared part of Buenos Aires City Heritage. Public areas and Hotel suites are decorated with authentic art pieces of Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreno Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Moreno Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.