We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel very close to centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina (Montserrat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel very close to centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It doesn't look much from the outside but our rom was very huge and very comfortable. Helpful reception, reasonable breakfasts on the top floor and amazing old lifts with manual gates. The only slight problem was some noise from the lifts at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    335
    78
    28
    7
See reviews for
71
472
66
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful place in 5min walking distance of San Telmo and Playa de Mayo
Fabulous roof terrace for breakfast (hint: Restaurant on ground floor will serve red wine there in the evening)
Very spacious rooms of 43+ sq mtrs. Loved the vintage deco style of lift and hallways.
Staff was most helpful, friendly and welcoming throughout our stay.

Slight downside:
- our bathroom door did not close.
- lift is a little noisy so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper

Paid around 90,-EUR/115,-USD per night - great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

From the outside, the Moreno does not look like a hotel - just an entrance-way in a block of brick buildings. The turquoise-tiled hallway leads to a quaint wire cage elevator and desk for the doorman. There are beautiful stained-glass windows lining the staircase. The lobby is on the second floor. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted. The front office staff spoke good English. When we arrived in the early afternoon, our room was not yet ready but they were happy to store our luggage while we went out for a cup of tea. The Moreno Hotel is located within walking distance of Calle Florida where the shopping is and close to near-by restaurants. We felt safe walking on Defensa Street, even at night because it was so well-lit.

Our room was very large with a high ceiling, king-sized bed and interesting decor. Our room was located away from the noise of the street and was very quiet. We had a good internet connection. The wash-basin sits on a counter and it was difficult to keep from splashing the mirror, floor and surrounding counters with water. The bathroom had a toilet, bidet and shower. The shower had only a 1/2 glass wall which allowed water to soak the floor when showering. There was lots of storage space in the closet and dresser. We had a small kitchen sink and fridge. The bed was comfortable and had high quality linens.

We discovered in our travels that hotels in South America generally do not provide Kleenex, alarm clocks, washcloths or coffee makers. We mentioned this in our evaluation. Upon our return to the hotel after several days in Iguazu Falls, we found an alarm clock in our new room! When we phoned the front desk to report that our air-conditioner did not seem to be working, a person came to the door within minutes and fixed it. We emailed the hotel from Iguazu Falls to arrange for a tango show and the arrangements were all made by the time we returned to the hotel later that day. Staff at the desk were good about giving directions to nearby attractions. They loaned us an electrical adaptor to use during our stay.

Breakfast was fairly basic but adequate. We enjoyed the nice bright breakfast area and views of the city.

We ate at Aldo's on our first night. The food was good. There was a nice atmosphere with a small jazz ensemble playing music. We were so tired from our over-night flight and walking tour of Buenos Aires, that it is difficult to rate our experience here.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I happy to encounter a renovated hotel, with that old feeling.
Staff was very helpful in guiding you to the historical area, where to eat, etc.
Breakfast was great.
Security was good.
Location is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Moreno hotel is beautifull on the website but in real complete different! No coffeemaker in the room, no badrobes and slippers. OK if you ask, you wil get it but it had nothing to do with service! A lot of leaking in the rooms and mould in the bathroom! Just a bad hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

When I entered the Moreno Hotel, I thought I had found my dream lodging: an exquisite art deco building with period cage elevators, beautiful stained glass in the stairwells, huge high-ceiling rooms and a convenient location just a few blocks from Plaza de Mayo. However, by the first evening of my 3-day stay, my opinion changed.

I booked the higher-priced Loft room specifically because of its whirlpool bath. I squeezed in this business trip just before having knee-replacement surgery, so I thought having reliable hydrotherapy during my stay in Buenos Aires would make my stay less painful. After being dazzled by my large room (#41), I soon noticed that the large whirlpool bath was missing one of its faucet handles. Furthermore, when I turned the remaining handle only the slightest trickle of water came from the faucet. So I went down to the first floor lobby and reported the problem.

Within minutes, a gentleman appeared at my door to examine the bathtub. He concluded that something was wrong and said that it would be repaired quickly. When I returned from dinner that evening, ready for my whirlpool bath, nothing had changed. So I went back to the front desk, where I was told that it would be repaired in the morning, and I should let the desk know when I was going out for the day, which I did. I was also assured that I would get a partial refund for the first night. Still, by the next evening nothing had changed. The bottom line is that nothing was repaired and no refund was granted. Adding insult to injury, when I checked out the desk clerk still insisted I pay for the bottled water from the mini-bar.

Now let me detail the other issues. It appears that the building was renovated in the 80s, and wear is beginning to show--noticeable nicks on the furniture and walls, reading lamps that appear to have been broken off from the bed's headboard, etc. Most annoying was the fact that there is no lighting on one half of the enormous room... and the side that includes the sofa and thermostat--so unless you travel with a torch, you will not be able to read on the sofa or adjust the heating/cooling in the evenings (assuming you can figure out how to adjust the thermostat at all).

If you are a light sleeper you will be awakened by the constant rattle of the elevator and it's metal doors that are just outside the room, as well as by the late-night comings and goings of other guests. On a positive note, there is a very nice top-floor breakfast room with views of the city and an adequate assortment of breads, cereals, fruit, yogurt and juices. The only problem is that the elevator does not reach the top floor, so for people with leg injuries like me, it means climbing a steep flight of stairs. Also, Aldo's, the Italian restaurant on the ground floor, is very good.

I travel internationally a great deal for work and pleasure (as my Trip Advisor reviews attest), and this is one of the worst service experiences I've had in years. I will be returning to BA later in the year, but I won't be staying at the Moreno.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and one where you can actually use the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

very conveniently located it offers VERY large rooms nicely furnished for a very reasonable price.
Do not be put off by the small street entrance: the reception is at the first floor.
Breakfast on the terrace (if the weather allows) a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor since the traffic noisefrom the street might be a little annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#42 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires is located in the bohemian neighborhood of San Telmo, surrounded by art galleries, antique fairs, museums, historical buildings and tango lounges. Besides, it is a few blocks away from the famous Flea Market of Dorrego Square.The Hotel stands in an Art Deco building, which was declared part of Buenos Aires City Heritage. Public areas and Hotel suites are decorated with authentic art pieces of Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreno Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Moreno Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.