We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms OK location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina (Montserrat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great rooms OK location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel Moreno had the best room we stayed in in Argentina. We stayed in their extra large room (their second smallest) and we couldn't believe the size - it was huge like a suite with our own kitchen and living area. Absolutely fantastic. Lovely looking hotel with old fashioned lift. The location is good if you are exploring the central part of the city as it is only a 10 minute walk from the main square. It is also near the bohemian area of San Telmo, which although we knew to be one of the most interesting areas we found to be a bit dead with many bars closed (don't know if that is because it was during the week?). It also didn't feel that safe an area. That said the hotel was fantastic and the price is reflected by the fact it is not in Palermo.

Room Tip: The extra large room is great value for the price. I think we had room 55 or 53.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    335
    78
    28
    7
See reviews for
71
473
66
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varna, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

good location for sightseeng, but the neighborhood is very old and dirty. All over in BA is not very clean; hudge rooms; very old and dirty carpeted floor in the corridor; veri nice and polite staff on the reception; poor breakfast; very noisy all the day and night;

Room Tip: rooms not over the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed 3 different occasions total of 4 nights between February and March. We chose the cheapest option of "Large Room" but all the rooms we had were extraordinary big. For twice, we had a beautiful view of the church. The room is very clean, very spacious, even had mini-bar sink, writing desk, big comfy bed, free reliable Wifi, in-room safe, fridge, everything we needed were there. Minibar is pricy so we bought drinks from the shop just arond the corner. They stored our suitcases while we were away. We also asked laundry while we were away. Although laundry is extraordinary expensive (from Australian standard, so it is expensive) but it was the highest standard laundry we did in South America.

Although rooms are all modern, the hotel is a beautiful older building and has two old style elevators. It was fun opening the door twice to get in and do the same when we get off. Although old, they are very fast elevator and very reliable.

Before we went, we worried about the review "okay during the day but dodgy at night". We worried about going out for dinner at night. Reception staff recommended us some restaurants 5 or 6 blocks away on Defensa St (20 minutes walk). We found walking at night was just okay. Not many people walking at night near the hotel but didn't feel threatened at all. We just put money and camera in the pocket and walked without carrying anything.

We first came on Saturday afternoon. On Sunday we enjoyed Sunday market all day walking up and down Defensa St. As soon as we walk out of the hotel, market is right there. We felt the place so convenient for the Sunday market. We enjoyed fully the atmosphere, people and the high quality products sold at the market. Also from the hotel, Plaza de Mayo is just 5 minutes walk and then you can walk to Obelisque or Florida St, very conveniently situated.

I liked continental breakfast of the hotel, the best we had in Argentina. We appreciated to have less sweet bread/pastry/cakes. Breakfast is served on 7th floor. Outside has a beautiful view.

We had 2 big suitcases and a sports bag. They were all heavy. My husband has a limitation to carry them due to his back problem. The hotel security person at the basement always helped our suitcases in a very professional manner that we really appreciated. One time he puts us and 3 big bags into the elevator and then he himself run up the stairs to the reception to receive us and 3 big bags from the elevator. Thank you!

We are happy and very satisfied we chose and stayed in Moreho Hotel and recommend everyone. If we ever go back to Buenos Aires, we will stay here without a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife and I along with two college-age sons stayed at the Moreno Hotel for five days over New Year’s Eve. We enjoyed our stay. The folks at the desk were very helpful in making arrangements. We got to the hotel early in the morning. One of our two rooms was not occupied the prior night so they let check-in and gave us breakfast tickets. Our sons went to sleep and my wife and I enjoyed a relaxing breakfast on the roof balcony. The hotel seemed safe. No problems. It is close to several attractions and restaurant. We spent New Year’s Eve on the balcony and had a great view of the fireworks that seemed to last for an hour. We booked early with a non-refundable rate and got a great value. The only negative is that the free wireless internet service was a bit weak in the rooms. It was strong on the 7th floor balcony.

Room Tip: The higher the floor -- the better. There is traffic on the street, but with the window closed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Wonderfull location, nice and clear rooms!!! Definitely we'll come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My friend and I returned to BA with an evening to spend before heading home. His flight left for the UK early the next morning and mine late at night for the US. My original plan had been to leave my bags and spend the day wandering. I came down with a south american sized head cold and could barely get out of bed. I was able to change my reservation and get a room where I could have a very late check out before my flight. The room was huge with an art deco feel, and the view from one window amazing. The staff was kind and helpful, and the morning breakfast from the top floor very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Moreno in February 2012 and found the hotel to be delightful, the location great and the staff incredibly helpful. The hotel is a renovated art deco building with all the quirks and charm of an older building. The rooms are spacious and interesting with their contemporary design. The staff was especially helpful in recommending local restaurants, helping with reservations and other arrangements. The rooftop terrace is a delightful spot for a glass of wine after a day of touring and before heading out to dinner. The location of the hotel in San Telmo is a huge asset. It's close to great restaurants and the spectacular Sunday street fair. This hotel is a true gem.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel. If you are willing to make a non-refundable reservation, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremiasMeinardi, Gerente at Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires I would like to thank you very much for your kind words about us.

We agree that the building is a gem, Architectural Heritage of the City by the local Goverment, so we care so much about it.

Very happy to know that your stay here was completely enjoyable.

Thank you once again for choosing us!

Best Regards.

Jeremías Meinardi.
General Manager.
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#42 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#71 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires is located in the bohemian neighborhood of San Telmo, surrounded by art galleries, antique fairs, museums, historical buildings and tango lounges. Besides, it is a few blocks away from the famous Flea Market of Dorrego Square.The Hotel stands in an Art Deco building, which was declared part of Buenos Aires City Heritage. Public areas and Hotel suites are decorated with authentic art pieces of Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreno Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Moreno Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.