We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves much to be desired.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Crillon

Save Saved
You added NH Crillon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Crillon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Santa Fe 796, Buenos Aires C1059AB0, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Leaves much to be desired.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I picked this hotel because of the central location and a decent rate. It is next to a subway stop and good restaurants, sights and greenspace are all nearby. But the hotel itself was disappointing. I never heard of the NH chain before, so I don't know how this property compares to their other locations. The walls are so thin, I felt my neighbors were in bed with me. And the rooms are a little small. And yes, the breakfast buffet has the worst coffee in the world and the eggs have brown streaks in them. I had to stay an extra night because of a cancelled flight, so the full rack rate was charged. I was astounded at the rate and felt taken advantage of. So, don't pay a 4 star rate for a 3 star (at best) hotel. Oh, and the wi-fi.....sloooooooooow.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    293
    79
    19
    6
See reviews for
116
223
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The good: Decent location. WIFI works as expected. The rooms are well-appointed (but in a dark theme NH often uses), but a little bit on the small side (to be expected in an older building).

The meh: The breakfast is "okay" -- but, the coffee is among the worst I've ever had.

The bad: Good luck flagging somebody down from the reception desk if you'd like a drink from the hotel bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here in a room (bit crowded, but thats family life) a few years back with a year old and a six year old a week in december.We booked this hotel chain because they gave us a good deal and location was really good. Its more of a one night stop than other thing. We had a large bed and the kids a settee. Overall a great stay and didnt really spend much time in the room or at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel seemed like a good option for a business trip.

On the positive side, the reception and staff were very nice, and helphelp, the building itself is also very nice.

The rooms are tiny. My magnetic key did not work appropriately, so I had to give it a few goes before being able to go into the room. The dials on the phone did not work, and I had to go to reception to ask for the actual number so I could call room service. The toilet was difficult to flush, having to do special maneuvers to flush.
Breakfast is good with many options of juices, and fresh bread which is great. The location is superb.

Will not be staying there again, although the staff was very nice about the problems I had, the room was so tiny, I rather look for another hotel in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Get the highest you can! Constant noise and cigarrette smell are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel. The rooms are very small and very dark. The bathrooms are tiny and lack privacy, as other reviewers have already states. The rooms are not well appointed. (I believe they must have had to knock out a wall to take some of the photos on the hotel's webpage!) It is in a good location but there are many very good hotels here. I travel on business most of the time so, for me, the objective was not to save money but to have a center for activities such as meetings and to do some work at the desk (tiny, had to request converter which fell out of sockets frequently, small dim lamp).
Inexcusable items: my room phone did not work; eggshells and dark streaks in the scrambled eggs at breakfast; elevators sometimes not available (was on 7th floor).
All in all, I would never stay here again.
Thanks.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the exterior. Rooms on interior overlook a very ugly residential building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Certainly not a 4 stars hotel. Furniture broken, towels in tatters, curtains, walls and ceiling maculated, etc. A shame for an NH hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel is super. The only thing that I found was a little problem was the bathroom. It is very modern but very tiny. But its an excellent hotel, has excellent location and very friendly employees. The breakfast buffet is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Crillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Crillon

Address: Avda. Santa Fe 796, Buenos Aires C1059AB0, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#50 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Crillon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Crillon hotel is opposite a lovely green park in the exclusive Retiro area of Buenos Aires City. It's just a few blocks from the famous 9 de Julio Avenue and the waterfront Puerto Madero Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your NH Crillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Crillon Hotel Buenos Aires
Nh Crillon Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Crillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.