We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good if you want a bit of quiet time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ostinatto Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ostinatto Hostel to your Saves list
Ostinatto Hostel
Calle Chile 680 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina (San Telmo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not good if you want a bit of quiet time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hostel was recommended to us however we moved after one night just to have a bit of peace and quiet. Perhaps it was a one-off but there was loud music blaring from 6pm until midnight (apart from during the one hour for yoga during which it was turned down) and the rooms are built around a vertical space so that the sound was carried up to all floors.
On our floor there was no light in the toilet which my partner reported to the reception but it wasn't fixed during the time that we stayed. Apart from this the hostel is aesthetically pleasing and seems to be quite efficiently run. Our windowless room was nice enough and the breakfast was fine.
Regarding the cost, we moved to a small hotel nearby which was actually cheaper than the hostel and included a private bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi Ally!
As you said we have the bar open from 6pm until 1:30am, but at midnight there's no more music at the hostel and we ask everyone for silence. Here in Argentina we dinner late and we also go to bed late, so we think that midnight is ok to be quiet.
We're really sorry that we couldn't help you with the light, we have a mantenance person during the day, but if something happens after that time we try to fix it, sorry about that problem.
Perhaps what you were looking for since firs moment was a hotel, and we have private rooms but we're a hostel.
We hope you to come back to our hostel and experience a better time.

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
33
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Ostinatto and had an absolutely fabulous time! Our favourite hostel in South America! Great breakfasts, quiet but friendly and spacious common areas, complimentary tango and Spanish classes, Ostinatto just ticked every box. The dorms were comfortable with beds spread amply and the bathrooms were immaculately cleaned throughout the day. Cannot recommend highly enough for those wanting to explore the lovely San Telmo area of BA and be well connected (metro/bus/on foot) with the rest of town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hola Hose!
We loved your comments, thaks! This make us keep going with the good service!
About the conection with the rest of the town, we have at 100mts several bus lines and we're 4 blocks from 2 subway stations, also we're at 800mts from the downtown. But we're not inside of it, we preffer San Telmo, is a nicer neighborhood.
We're waiting for you to come back!

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent nine nights here in May. The staff were brilliant, helping us to have a great time in BA. Located in San Telmo, between the centre of town and San Telmo's main square. Really trendy area with the best value places to eat and drink in town. Rooms were pretty good, stayed in a private double with a private shower and toilet bathroom about 5 meters down the hall (you get a key to keep it locked). We had a week of Spanish lessons at the Portenisima language school there. The school come to the hostel and you can get lessons (there is one free every week if you don't want to pay too) and were really good. The hostel puts something on almost every day too. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hola Martyn!
Thanks for all your comments, we really appreciate and what you saiud is what it is here at Ostinatto.
We hope see you again here.
Best regards!

OSTINATTO HOSTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff is amazingly friendly and are glad to speak to you in English or Spanish. They gave me recommendations for everything I wanted to do. I took advantage of a free Tango lesson, which was a lot of fun, and they organize other things including a free Spanish class. There's information in the lobby updated daily with things to do and see in BA. The kitchen is a good size for cooking and the rooms are cleaned daily. It was a great value and I thought it had a really nice mix of social and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hola Hurston!

We are very glad with your comments, thanks!
We always try to be friendly and help our guests.
And our free serviices are very good as you said, Tango, Yoga, spanish class and also 2 diferent walking tours weekly! So we're happy that you could enjoy of them.
We hope see you around again.

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

After staying at 2 other hostels in BA, it was a blessing to find Ostinatto and it's staff. They all went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful city. Breakfast was plentiful, the cleaners came through the rooms daily and bathrooms and kitchen were tended to regularly. Ben, Vicky and Juli are legends and were what made us stay and cancel our booking at Art Factory, we didn't want to leave...missing you guys already. This is definitely the place to stay in BA, a good balance of social and chill. Close to lots of transport, supermarkets and the wonderful San Telmo Sunday markets.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hola Karen!
Thank you very much! We also miss you here, so we're waiting for you at any time! So, when that's going to be...?? Come on! Come back!! hahaha
Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as a starting point for a 6 month trip. Firstly the staff were very friendly and helpful, secondly the architecture of the building was fantastic.The location of this place is also great, close to great restaurants. Only downfall to the interior architecture is that the noise easily echoes and bounces up the hollow center. We had a double room on level 3 which had no ventilation as the top interior window didnt open and the matress was very hard. This place is great if you are looking to party as there is a great little bar downstairs that does a cracking happy hour. Only downfall is that with the parties starting every night at 1:30 am there is no chance getting sleep if your not either passed out drunk yourself or have incredibly good earplugs to cancel out the noise. I am generally not a light sleeper but even with earplugs in it was hard to get some down time. Even a conversation at ground level seemed to resonate up the walls.
Breakfast was good and strong coffee was welcome. They also do a great laundry for 20 pesos.
So in short great place if you dont mind staying up all night till the wee hours, not so good if your looking for some rest and chill out time after a big trip.
Also the price was substantially higher for a double than other hostels we have been to.

Room Tip: Get as high up in the building as you can get!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hola Josh!
Let me tell you that the bar closes at 1:30am, not more than that, and then at the hostel we shut down the music and ask for silence at midnight. So is not possible to have a party after 1:30 in the morningm we're not a party hostel and we don't want that with all the options of discos that you have in Buenos Aires.
But despite of this we're happy that you like lots of things from our hostel!
We hope see you again here so we can fill up what you think about us.

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

There are loads of great things about this hostel but a couple or irritations, which if they bother you, mean you'd probably get better for your money around the corner. It is amazing old building and the staff are all wonderfully friendly and helpful. I stayed three times across Jan 2012, and kept going back primarily because of the free luggage storage! If you want to be in San Telmo, it's in a good location. It has a decent on-site bar, with a/c, and the breakfast was good. The roof terrrace is lovely, but really the only relaxing area without being in the reception or bar. It is a BIG hostel, so these areas tend to be busy.

The downsides, which may or may not bother you, are that the big central atrium is a stunning feature, but all the dorms are off it and it can make it noisy in the dorms. Worst thing though from my point of view, is that none of the rooms have a/c and many don't even have windows, just above door windows into the atrium. Probably ok for most of the year but in the summer when I was there, the ceiling fans were just inadequate. Bathrooms were also unventilated. Mattresses and pillows a bit old & grubby, but that seems quite normal based on the many places I have now stayed. If you don't mind it being HOT on a hot day, stay here, otherwise you can get a/c other San Telmo hostels for the same money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstinattoHostel, Gerente at Ostinatto Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hola Helen!
Thanks for your good comments! And about the A/C, we have them on some rooms, but not all of them, the thing is that 8 years ago when we opened the hostel, the summer wasn't what it is now and with the funs were more than fone, nowadays we're going to make an invest and install some A/C (which is not something very cheap amd we're just a hostel...).
But we're always trying to improve, thanks for what you said!

Best regards!

OSTINATTO STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ostinatto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostinatto Hostel

Address: Calle Chile 680 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique minimal hostel located in the historic neighborhood of San Telmo. Ostinatto is anything but old, but a recycled XX century building that combines an old structure with a fine minimalistic design. All of our rooms are clean and functional with plenty of locker space and new beds. All in all, Ostinatto offers something for everyone; close enough to be near all the action yet far enough to relax away from the bustle of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Ostinatto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostinatto Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostinatto Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.