We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Around Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
Niceto Vega 4629, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 255 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All Around Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We just got back from Buenos Aires and absolutely loved our stay at this B&B.

There is no sign out front (which I love) but the address is prominently displayed - just look for the green door and ring the bell. After you check in you get your own key so you can come and go as you please.

When you walk into the building you enter a lovely, small open air courtyard with pretty plants, a couple of chairs and a table. The rooms are situated around this courtyard with a common room in front. The look and feel is funky and eclectic with modern touches such as concrete floors, exposed brick and original art, mixed with antique pieces.

Our room had a lofty feel with tall ceilings, simple furnishings and a very, very comfortable bed - all decorated with fun orange accents. The room was very clean and served us well for 6 nights. We liked the mini fridge for storing our drinking water and leftover pizza.

The staff was very attentive and it seemed as soon as we emerged from our room in the morning the coffee was there - the best coffee we had anywhere in BA by the way! In the US we are big breakfast eaters but found this breakfast to be more than adequate after eating so late at night as is common in BA. There was always fresh squeezed orange juice (yum) fresh fruit, yogurt, breads and jam, butter and dulce de leche.

There is also a computer in the common room where we were able to quickly check email each morning - no need to seek out an internet cafe unless you want to spend a bunch of time online.

The owner Ariel speaks excellent English and was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, he completely arranged two tours for us (both fantastic) and also was a great resource for general things such as the time there was a bank holiday and we couldn't figure out why the ATMs were all empty! If Ariel isn't there, there was always someone from his staff there to help if needed.

We thought this was a very good location. Just around the corner there were a couple of ATMs, a supermarket for snacks and bottled water and within a very short walk there were lots of restaurants, boutiques and a bustling outdoor plaza with casual cafes for coffee or beer breaks.

We are big subway riders in other cities but found ourselves taking cabs all of the time here because they were so easy and cheap. If you want to take the subway a lot this may not be the best place as I think it may be 10 or so blocks to the subway.

I noticed a couple of reviewers complained about the the traffic noise. Remember, this is in a city neighborhood and it's a residential building at street level. It's not in a hotel with fancy sound-proof windows. If you insist on absolute silence don't stay here. If you don't mind the occasional bus chugging down the street it's no big deal. It's certainly not constant honking, club music or anything like that.

I would say believe all of the positive reviews here - they are true!

  • Liked — The great decor and comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — We liked everything.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    41
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
115
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

The Bed and Breakfast was one of the best lodging experiences I had while my partner and I were on our honeymoon. The owner was knowledgeable and helpful in arranging transportation to and from locations and the rooms were clean and had all the essential amenities you could want. The only negative is that the location is far from public transportation, but that only gives you more time to explore an area full of great shops and restaurants. I highly recommend for anyone looking for a bargain.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, decent breakfast, and great value
  • Disliked — The bathroom didn't have very good ventilation
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois - Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

I loved this B&B. We stayed at three different places in Buenos Aires in our two-weeks journey around the city and this place was beyond the average for a B&B.
The service is very good, much more than we had expected. The relation price-service is worth.
It’s very clean, the rooms are comfortable. Not too big, not too small. We decided to stay in one of the standard we had previously booked. Ariel showed us the lofty room and the master, both new in the house and much bigger for only a little difference in the price.
What impressed me most was how the staff is aware of the needs of guests. They noticed I had brought an apple for my breakfast, and although they serve fresh fruit, they made sure there were apples for me every morning.
We had an early flight our last day, so they left a table set with a small breakfast. It’s better if you advice the day before, or just when you check in.

  • Liked — Everything in Palermo Viejo Bed&Breakfast!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

We just got back home from our trip to Argentina and have to say that Palermo Viejo B&B was one of the best places I’ve been.
First of all, Ariel arranged for us a football game before our arrival. We had tried many agents before but all said there was a problem with the club to get the tickets.
When we arrived, early in the morning we could relax until our room was ready. And it was before check in time. At 2pm a car was waiting outside to take us for a private tour we had asked Ariel to book for us by email for our first day in Buenos Aires.
The place is very unique. Each room is different and decorated with taste. We could see Ariel’s eye in every corner. He is an architect. Also we loved the paintings in every corner of the house.
What I liked the most is to have had my own key of the house. That made me feel like being part of this town, not bothering anybody when we arrived home late at night.
It’s a real house of Buenos Aires. The smell of the garden at night is overwhelming.
And to finish, the possibility of being able to have breakfast any time until late midday was perfect after a late night in the city.

  • Liked — The owner and staff.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

The B&B is unique and the rooms are very original but would not be to everyone's taste. I think it is more for the young design conscious trendy person. Think more NYC loft, minimalistic, retro furniture and concrete floors.

There is nothing on the outside to show that this is a B&B which does make it hard to find there is only the number on the door. It took 3 calls to the B &B by our taxi driver to locate it.

The staff were lovely and helpful and breakfast was typical of the kind you will find in Argentina. We had no issues with it. The B&B recommended a fantastic Lebanese restaurant round the corner called Yusef - can highly recommend it for those who want a break from all the meat fest or want something light late in the evening.

The only gripe we had was with the owner of the B& B who wasn't very welcoming when we first arrived. On our first meeting he made us feel as if our stay was an inconvenience and that we should be grateful that he had let us pay for the privilege of staying at his B&B. This came a something of shock when the other people who work there are so friendly and helpful and the reviews are very flattering. The owner may have being having an off day as he was more pleasant the next time we met him.

The B&B is a bit pricey and we stayed in very large loft room in a beautiful art deco hotel in a fun part of Buenos Aires for the same price. Bottom line is it really depends what you are looking for.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

would'nt stay here again,didnt find it as friendly and homely as reviews had described, rooms are small and not very attractive, breakfast was basic,its very noisy, due to traffic from the street and noise from within the premises, location could be better, yes it is near some good shops, but is a long walk from the subway. much preferred recoleta area, which is within walking distance of the city centre and recoleta itself has some great shops and places to eat. didn't think that Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast was worth the price we paid for it, stayed in a lovely hotel on recoleta for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalermoViejoBB, owner at Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2008
Thanks for the review. We will take it as always to improve, but if in 35 reviews, there are two not that nice, this is a good average.
Not every people are the same. Not everybody is extroverted. We respect all kinds of characters and try not to invade when people don’t get related easily. I have to say, here in Palermo Viejo B&B, we like to talk and help everybody here, but when people is shy and even never talk with other guests, it’s not easy to start.
As far as breakfast is concerned, we serve coffee, tea, different kinds of homemade breads, croissant, fresh seasonal fruit, fresh orange juice made in the very moment, yoghurt, cereal, all kinds of marmalades and cheese and eggs upon request. Everything, with no limit.
Also there are many quieter places and neighborhoods in the city, but it’s a choice you make of where you want to be. The standard rooms are at least 15 square meters and ceilings of 5 meters height which is more than average Bed & Breakfasts could offer. Ensuite bathrooms that are big enough with a good and strong hot shower. We also have mini fridges in the rooms, just for the use of guests.
And for the price, for a B&B in Palermo area we try to keep our rates as low as possible.
Anyway, it’s impossible to please the 100% or the people.
Reviews talk for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

there is no better location, value or hospitality in BA. you will feel at home -- only, better than at at home, for you are able to walk to hundreds of fabulous shops and restaurants within blocks. it was similar to staying in the west village in nyc.

already i am missing my afternoon naps in my blanco y rojo rooms [i loved both], and i will miss sleeping late and waking up to green tea and lovely fruit for breakfast.

everyone who is on staff was so helpful. in short, i was able to relax all week, which is exactly why i came to BA.

  • Liked — the owner and the staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast

Address: Niceto Vega 4629, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B&B in the heart of Palermo Viejo/Soho. The house is located in a 1901 building, traditional of those days in Buenos Aires neighborhoods. The Casa Chorizo has been renewed keeping its original style. High ceilings, brick and thick walls are one of the details to mention. As a narrow landmark the rooms are organized in a row, facing the side patio/garden full of green where hanging out after a long day is a must. All the rooms have private en-suite bathroom and two of them are big enough with a double level to accommodate more than two people, perfect for 3 or 4. The art work of different artists is found everywhere in the property which gives it a Bohemian atmosphere. The decor is simple, where each item was found in flea markets and auctions to make the B&B a warm and a perfect place to feel at home away of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palermo Viejo Hotel Buenos Aires
Palermo Viejo Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.