We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Travel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cE Hotel de Diseno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added cE Hotel de Diseno to your Saves list
cE Hotel de Diseno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marcelo T de Alvear 1695 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1060AAE, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Travel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at CE Design Hotel for 5 days during a trip to BA. It was our first trip to the city. The front desk staff was delightful and spoke wonderful English. They arranged taxis and cars and gave us great restaurant advice. The morning crew working the breakfast buffet was also a joy to see every morning.

Our room was spotless. It was the plaza suite they show on the main photo for the trip adivsor site. We had an amazing view of the park filled with lush greenery and these beautiful purple trees that were in full bloom. The room is minimalist but very comfortable. Beds and sofa and eating area were wonderful. We also loved the jacuzzi tub.

The location of the hotel is outstanding! We debated a long time and struggled with finding the perfect location to explore the city. We found it! It was an easy walk to Ricoletta and the northern part of Palermo as well as all of the main downtown attractions. The neighborhood was very safe - we never felt uncofortable, even walking back at 2 am one night. The park across the street does draw visitors - especially the four legged kind, so we did get some street and park noise, but nothing terrible. It's a big city and every hotel has some street noise. There was a protest in the plaza one evening and that did get a little noisey. But we would not have traded our room for anything.

The other thing that we liked about the location was that there were a host of dining and shopping options in close distance. Unlike the Palermo Soho neighborhood or San Telmo that is still under development, this area is well established and had quite a variety of things to offer. Because a lot of people live in the neighborhoods, there was always a lively atmosphere (again, unlike San Telmo and Palermo Soho/Viejo that can feel a little deserted at some times).

All in all, it was an awesome place to stay, especially for us as BA virgins. We can't recommend it more highly. The only thing that I wish they had was a rooftop pool or deck and maybe a little more variety in the breakfast menu. If you were looking for a place to just hang out within the hotel, the bar is nice, but it doesn't substitute for a nice pool/deck setup. They do have a pool, but it is sort of in the basement - one that kids could probably enjoy in a pinch.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    165
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
53
235
43
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We enjoyed everything about our 5 night stay at this very modern, boutique hotel. Great location in Barrio Norte; it was an easy walk to the subway. Rooms were nice-sized, very clean and comfortable. The thing I enjoyed most was the helpful, friendly and hard-working staff, who helped us choose restaurants, reserved a tango show for us, and greeted us with smiles each morning at breakfast.

One caution: smoking is allowed in some of the rooms and on our last night, we could smell cigarette smoke from the room next door, especially when we opening our door. I would have preferred that smoking rooms be farther from the non-smoking room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Interesting boutique hotel that we really liked.
Modern concrete minimalist style that makes it trendy but not exactly cosy or romantic. It's not for honeymooning but perfect if you want to enjoy the city, do sightseeing and be right downtown.
Service and reception was warm, extremely friendly and professionnal.
Good breakfast, free internet everywhere.
We recommend it and would go there again with pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

For those who prefer the bed and breakfast experience, to get to know the city by getting to know the people who run the inn, this is the boutique hotel version. The relatively young staff, well educated, interested and interesting, are what makes this stay so valuable. They actually ENJOY talking to guests, and helping guests with their needs.

If you just want to stay in a nice size, hip design, great view hotel, with interesting contemporary architecture, then this is the hotel also. It costs extra for the views of the park, but these rooms also give you lots of room, and it's a great oasis to flop in the late afternoon after long city walks. I'm one that normally says, "We don't need a fancy room cuz we won't spend much time in the room anyway", but with BA's long hours, ie "What do we do between 5pm and going to dinner at 9:30pm?" it was a nice place to rest.

The location is on the edge of Recoleta, so if you want the fancier neighborhood it's only a couple blocks away. The view of the late 19th century building that faces the park might make you think you're in Paris, but the political graffiti on the side walk reminds you of the spark that can only be BA.

My only hesitation with this hotel is perhaps the location, as I prefer the low rise neighborhood of Palermo, but that's a personal preference. But since I can't move the staff to Palermo, I'll return again. Oh, and the owner/architect is on site almost daily and is a WEALTH of knowledge.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

My wife and I had a great stay in the cE Hotel de Diseno. We loved not only facilities (modern and elegant), but also its staff. All staff is nice, atencious (ready to attend you) and well trained. Location fulfill our expectation, as well (all information in its site is accurate - there is no suprise). In our opinion, it is a very honest deal.

Giovani, Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The hotel was in a great location, close to the subway and Santa Fe street, with lots of great restaurants and shops around. The rooms were pretty spacious for being in the center of the city, and we really liked the jacuzzi tub that we had in the room. There was a pretty nice hotel bar in the basement (fairly quiet), and the breakfast buffet was very nice. We really liked that breakfast was open all day and the checkout time wasn't til noon, so we could sleep in without worrying.

There was also a very cool cafe/bar a block or two away called Clasica y Moderna that is also a very old bookstore.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon - Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Everything in good level. Nice Hotel, in a central place and very good service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to cE Hotel de Diseno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about cE Hotel de Diseno

Address: Marcelo T de Alvear 1695 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1060AAE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#52 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#62 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#84 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — cE Hotel de Diseno 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design cE Hotel de Diseno "A new hospitality culture." Designed by the Architect Ernesto Goransky, applying his concept of total design, offers "a new Culture in hospitality." The name comes from a contemporary idea which allows, beginning with letter "C," many words that give content to this new hospitality space. Begin with "C": culture, communication, confidence, comfort, commodity, creativity, construction, comprehension, curiosity, change, concept, celebration, compromise, conscience, cordiality, clearness... Located in Buenos Aires city in the heart of Barrio Norte, Design cE faces a green space designed by architect Carlos Thays, where we can appreciate Sarmiento Palace's magnitude. Design cE Hotel is an equidistant centre of the most attractive places that make of the city the cultural capital of Latin America. Each of the 28 suites reveals a new standard in what design, technology, and service refers. All equipped with king size beds, LCD TV 23 inches, acclimatization heat/cold, minibar, microwave, crockery set, bathrooms including whirlpool, direct phone line with answering machine, security box with laptop capacity, exclusive amenities line, black out with electronic display, wireless high speed internet and we also count with smoking rooms. The Design Cafe, located on the ground floor, offers a pioneer (and new) way to serve breakfast during the 24 hours. On the lower level, enjoy our Wine Bar and the comfortable living room with an infinite sky by glass ceiling. Here you can taste a great selection of the best Argentinean wines, drinks, tapas, contemporary music and videos. Here our guests receive a welcome drink provided by the hotel and make use of our computer with free access to internet. The public areas of the hotel offer high speed wireless connection. Have The Design cE includes external services currently free of charge, such as a parking lot, one block away from the hotel. Internal services not included in the rate: Dry cleaning and massages for the room. External service not included in the rate: transfer in-out. Design cE Hotel pretends togetherness acting as a cultural embassy for every country. This involves "music, painting, photography, clothing, textile and graphic design, dance, cinematography and literature." Design cE Hotel is a space for communication within peace and culture to host every person of our world looking for others with the same purpose aiming the construction of a global society based in a truth spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your cE Hotel de Diseno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ce Design Buenos Aires
Hotel Ce Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cE Hotel de Diseno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.