We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and well designed hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cE Hotel de Diseno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added cE Hotel de Diseno to your Saves list
cE Hotel de Diseno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marcelo T de Alvear 1695 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1060AAE, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
new hampshire
1 review
“A clean and well designed hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. It is well situated and on a smaller street which kept the nights of sleeping peaceful. The temperature in B.A. reached 100 degrees and the air conditioning worked well and quietly. We received excellent advice on restaurants nearby and were very impressed by the friendly staff. We had considered more expensive and better known hotels, but would choose this again if we return to B.A. The owner/designer of this hotel is justified in being proud of his creation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    164
    37
    15
    3
See reviews for
53
231
41
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

The bedrooms were nice, with great view to the park, and great designs. The sevrice was great and helped us find tour options.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotel is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. It was more than a hotel room, it felt like your own private apartment with fresh flowers and a small kitchen, plus the design was very modern but comfortable. The staff were amazingly friendly and young and made great suggestions for shopping, day trips outside BA, and New Years Eve plans. When I arrived in BA I was booked in another hotel and immediately switched to cE Design, they had just had a cancellation and was able to provide my room for a discount and although check-in was 3 PM, they allowed us to move from our hotel to cE in under an hour at 11:30 AM! For all my future visits to Buenos Aires I will always stay in the cE Design Hotel.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed at the cE Design hotel our last night in Buenos Aires. We would have come there sooner, had we known how great it was. Cutting-edge design, central location and fantastic value. The staff was attentive and incredibly friendly. We would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

This was my first trip to Buenos Aires, but my fiancee's second and upon the advice of a friend of hers who had stayed at cE Design Hotel (Hotel de Diseno), we booked there for two 3 night stints either side of a trip to Iguazu.
The hotel is very nouveau in its architecture which was appealing to us, but the hotel's friendly and helpful staff are its main asset. Although my fiancee is fluent in Spanish, the staff were willing to indulge in my Spanglish or converse in English and were so helpful in every facet. Paola at the front desk recommended and booked us a trip to the Tango show and a day trip to Colonia, Uruguay with minimal fuss, while Miguel, Deborah, Andres, Juan and the other staff were keen to let us know where tourists should go and where they shouldn't and this allowed us to maximize our limited stay.
The location is also first class on the border of Barrio Norte, Recoleta & Microcentro which allowed us to walk to all the major tourist attractions in BA. The price was very competitive and we were extremely pleased with this hotel for our stay

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The only thing worse than a fine old hotel growing dingy is a cutting edge design hotel growing dingy. The once cool rug next to the bed has become so grotty that I stepped over it. It was yucky. Unfortunately it was glued down, so it couldn't be moved.
The shelves in the bath have been knocked loose, so they are tilting. The shade in the bath was broken and couldn't be raised, so the window couldn't be opened. That was bad because the bath smelled of sewer gas, especially in the morning.
And closet space is practically nil, but we worked through that ok. And it was a small room, but that was ok too.
The staff was fantastic. Absolutely charming helpful and wonderful. Gave great advice.
The breakfast was fine. Loved having a toaster for every two people. Good food.
The basement bar was, well, a basement bar, but so what. Nice staff.
Location is really good. A walk to nearly everything, but a healthy walk to the cemetery.
I just wish the owner would take some time and visit each of the rooms to do a "Leona" on them. He'd be surprised at how much work, at least our room, I believe it was 503, is needed to make it 'cutting edge' design again.
I'm going to say that I would not recommend it, but really I'd have someone check to see if the rooms have been spruced up. Fresh again, it would be unbeatable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed in the hotel for seven days, location is very central and near to many tourist attractions and the rooms are great especially the suites. Breakfast is nice and internet and WIFI is available. The staff are so friendly and so helpfull and most of them speak english we indeed enjoyed ur stay and the staff we met especially Andrea, Maiten and Paula at reception also Andres and Miguel and actually all the others serving breakfast they made us feel at home. We wuld nt hesitate to recommend the Design hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to cE Hotel de Diseno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about cE Hotel de Diseno

Address: Marcelo T de Alvear 1695 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1060AAE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#58 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#81 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — cE Hotel de Diseno 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design cE Hotel de Diseno "A new hospitality culture." Designed by the Architect Ernesto Goransky, applying his concept of total design, offers "a new Culture in hospitality." The name comes from a contemporary idea which allows, beginning with letter "C," many words that give content to this new hospitality space. Begin with "C": culture, communication, confidence, comfort, commodity, creativity, construction, comprehension, curiosity, change, concept, celebration, compromise, conscience, cordiality, clearness… Located in Buenos Aires city in the heart of Barrio Norte, Design cE faces a green space designed by architect Carlos Thays, where we can appreciate Sarmiento Palace’s magnitude. Design cE Hotel is an equidistant centre of the most attractive places that make of the city the cultural capital of Latin America. Each of the 28 suites reveals a new standard in what design, technology, and service refers. All equipped with king size beds, LCD TV 23 inches, acclimatization heat/cold, minibar, microwave, crockery set, bathrooms including whirlpool, direct phone line with answering machine, security box with laptop capacity, exclusive amenities line, black out with electronic display, wireless high speed internet and we also count with smoking rooms. The Design Cafe, located on the ground floor, offers a pioneer (and new) way to serve breakfast during the 24 hours. On the lower level, enjoy our Wine Bar and the comfortable living room with an infinite sky by glass ceiling. Here you can taste a great selection of the best Argentinean wines, drinks, tapas, contemporary music and videos. Here our guests receive a welcome drink provided by the hotel and make use of our computer with free access to internet. The public areas of the hotel offer high speed wireless connection. Have The Design cE includes external services currently free of charge, such as a parking lot, one block away from the hotel. Internal services not included in the rate: Dry cleaning and massages for the room. External service not included in the rate: transfer in-out. Design cE Hotel pretends togetherness acting as a cultural embassy for every country. This involves "music, painting, photography, clothing, textile and graphic design, dance, cinematography and literature." Design cE Hotel is a space for communication within peace and culture to host every person of our world looking for others with the same purpose aiming the construction of a global society based in a truth spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your cE Hotel de Diseno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ce Design Buenos Aires
Hotel Ce Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cE Hotel de Diseno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.