We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place and warm staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of cE Hotel de Diseno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added cE Hotel de Diseno to your Saves list
cE Hotel de Diseno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marcelo T de Alvear 1695 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1060AAE, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cool place and warm staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Living up to its name this boutique hotel has style. My room is at the back where it faces walls of other blocks, not so pleasant. Room itself is comfortable with bright-colour. Jacuzzi bath is the best feature! For a good view of the nice park you need to pay more for the apartments facing front street. Rich breakfast with good variety in the comfortable common room/bar area. On the negative side, when I arrived at sometime after noon, I was offered to check-in immediately for extra fee of USD30. That does not sound very welcoming. In this sense they do not yet consider themselves a hotel. Also quite a few stuff in the room price tag : the laundry bag, the bottled water in bathroom, even shampoos and soap liquids! For the latter, of course I guess (as it's written I Spanish) it means if you like it so much you can buy from them. Most hotels have the price tags too but often do it in a more subtle way.

Room Tip: If price is not a concern, book park-facing apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucía P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at cE Hotel de Diseno, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking some time to write about your experience and for sharing it with other travelers.

We are very sorry about your feeling upon check in, it was never our intention. As for the rest of the things with the price tags, we decided to put them to avoid any confusion.

We really hope this didn't interfere in the good experience here. We would be glad to have you back some day soon.

Regards,

Lucia Popovici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    176
    41
    18
    7
See reviews for
61
247
48
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My friend and I booked two nights at the cE Hotel de Diseno and originally, there were some problems, as the room we booked didn't have two beds. After apologizing, the receptionist promptly remedied the situation, bumping us up to a park-facing suite. I liked the hotel so much that I returned a week later, once I returned from Patagonia. Great service, beautiful rooms, and centrally located, the cE Hotel de Diseno was a great option and I will certainly be returning!

The only thing to keep in mind: the square and surrounding neighborhood are a bit seedy at night. If you're going out, I'd highly suggest cabbing it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucía P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at cE Hotel de Diseno, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us! It is a pleasure to realize we made someone's experience worth of comments. We really enjoy when people feels like coming back.

We will be expecting you some day soon.

Regards,

Lucia Popovici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is a gem: a small boutique property in a great location with very friendly staff. The room was minimalist, but spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet offered a delicious range of healthy selections and could be accessed at any time during the day. Dining tables located on a glass floor, below a glass roof, allowed us to view all the action above and below during breakfast! The layout of the entire hotel is designed to surprise and delight its guests.

If I could make one recommendation it would be to offer coffee and tea making facilities in the room. I missed my morning cuppa in bed!

But overall, this is a hotel I'd be happy to recommend highly to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucía P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at cE Hotel de Diseno, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. It is a pleasure for us to read such great things about the travellers experiences!

We work hard every day to make sure we provide the best service and attention, so it is nice to have this feedback. Of course we will take your suggestions in consideration to improve the service.

We hope to have you back some day soon.

Regards,

Lucia Popovici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Friendly staff. Simple, clean, modern feel. Spacious rooms. Love the 24-hour breakfast buffet. Miguel on the breakfast shift is a sweetheart. Great, convenient location (and just adjacent to a 24-hour kiosco).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucía P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at cE Hotel de Diseno, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Chelsea,

It was a pleasure for us having you here that week, and we are also very glad that you took the time to write this review down so others can have the same experience.

Thanks for choosing us, and we will be waiting for you some day soon.

Regards

Lucia Popovici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There were definitely a lot of places I could have stayed. I ended up choosing Hotel de Diseno because it had a cool vibe when I looked into it. Plus so many other places had reviews about how unfriendly their staff was. You won't find that here. This funky hip hotel has the nicest staff and were always so helpful. English is spoken here and with my not so fluent Spanish, we got along fine. Great breakfast and not limited to a few hours in the morning only. The location was perfect to shopping and sight seeing. I loved walking all over Recoleta. Hope to stay here again upon my next visit to Buenos Aires.

Alex A. USA

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucía P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at cE Hotel de Diseno, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Alex,

First of all it was a pleasure to have you staying with us, we really enjoy the fact that you found that "cool vibe" you thought we might have.

Thank you for taking some time to write this great exeprience you had with us, we really hope to have you back some day to offer, once again, a great stay.

Regards,

Lucia Popovici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Convinient location, safe neighborhood, clean and big room equiped with a AC and private elevator, pleasant view, friendly & helpful staff, 24 hour breakfast included. Must go to Ka Conchita Parrilla Restaurant two blocks away. Take a hike to Recoleta Cemitery in the morning ... Its just 10 blocks away (20 mins walking)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucía P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at cE Hotel de Diseno, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you very much for the review, it was a pleasure to have you in the hotel.

We are very glad that you could enjoy the great location of the hotel and that you liked La Cholita! I can guarantee you it never fails!!!

Hope to see you back here some day soon.

Regards,

Lucía Popovici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Nothing was overlooked in the design of this hotel. Large plaza suite, overlooking the park over the road, great restaurant recommendations from staff, many in easy walking distance. A very central location from which to explore BA. Breakfast was lovely, one of the best continental breakfasts we've had. Free wifi in each area of the hotel with modems on each floor so speed was good. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucía P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at cE Hotel de Diseno, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Victoria,

First of all thank you very much for taking some time to write a review here so that everyone can hear your experience!

It was our plasure to have you here and you were very kind with everyone, we appreciatte you mentioning the staff, since it is one of our assets to be proud of. Also we are very happy you enjoyed all of our recomendations!!

We hope to have you back in the hotel some day soon.

Regards,

Lucía Popovici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to cE Hotel de Diseno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about cE Hotel de Diseno

Address: Marcelo T de Alvear 1695 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1060AAE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#75 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#97 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — cE Hotel de Diseno 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design cE Hotel de Diseno "A new hospitality culture." Designed by the Architect Ernesto Goransky, applying his concept of total design, offers "a new Culture in hospitality." The name comes from a contemporary idea which allows, beginning with letter "C," many words that give content to this new hospitality space. Begin with "C": culture, communication, confidence, comfort, commodity, creativity, construction, comprehension, curiosity, change, concept, celebration, compromise, conscience, cordiality, clearness... Located in Buenos Aires city in the heart of Barrio Norte, Design cE faces a green space designed by architect Carlos Thays, where we can appreciate Sarmiento Palace's magnitude. Design cE Hotel is an equidistant centre of the most attractive places that make of the city the cultural capital of Latin America. Each of the 28 suites reveals a new standard in what design, technology, and service refers. All equipped with king size beds, LCD TV 23 inches, acclimatization heat/cold, minibar, microwave, crockery set, bathrooms including whirlpool, direct phone line with answering machine, security box with laptop capacity, exclusive amenities line, black out with electronic display, wireless high speed internet and we also count with smoking rooms. The Design Cafe, located on the ground floor, offers a pioneer (and new) way to serve breakfast during the 24 hours. On the lower level, enjoy our Wine Bar and the comfortable living room with an infinite sky by glass ceiling. Here you can taste a great selection of the best Argentinean wines, drinks, tapas, contemporary music and videos. Here our guests receive a welcome drink provided by the hotel and make use of our computer with free access to internet. The public areas of the hotel offer high speed wireless connection. Have The Design cE includes external services currently free of charge, such as a parking lot, one block away from the hotel. Internal services not included in the rate: Dry cleaning and massages for the room. External service not included in the rate: transfer in-out. Design cE Hotel pretends togetherness acting as a cultural embassy for every country. This involves "music, painting, photography, clothing, textile and graphic design, dance, cinematography and literature." Design cE Hotel is a space for communication within peace and culture to host every person of our world looking for others with the same purpose aiming the construction of a global society based in a truth spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your cE Hotel de Diseno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ce Design Buenos Aires
Hotel Ce Design

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cE Hotel de Diseno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.