We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Buenos Aires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Gotan

Save Saved
You added Posada Gotan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Gotan
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sanchez de Loria 1618, Buenos Aires 1241, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 243 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Real Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

If you want to experience the real Buenos Aires stay in Posada Gotan -- if you want to experience the visitor's Buenos Aires stay anywhere else. Posada Gotan in the Boedo District is the hub of the real Buenos Aires with Palermo, Recolleta, Centro and San Telmo and the other guidebook districts all around. Thibaud Marigny recommended what we think was the most original tango hall and most wonderful local restaurants jammed with Argentinians. And during the day we went to Palermo, Recolleta, Centro and San Telmo.

Reserve the large room if you can.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
31
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights. Thibaud is a caring host and provides good advice for guests on aspects of Buenos Aires such as, means of transport, restaurants (including the size of meals), sights, safety, shopping and so the list goes on. If you want information and service just ask. Hotel is in a quiet residential area away from the tourist centres but within easy and cheap travelling distance of any where in the city. We felt safe walking in the area day and night. People are friendly.
The rooms are clean and well serviced, breakfast and meeting with fellow guests is interesting aspect of your stay. The breads, pastries and coffee at breakfast are fresh and plentiful.
In the evening share the courtyard and philosophy with Valentine who maintains a host presence overnight. We three solved many problems of the world.
We combined our stay in Argentina with Paradores Draghi, friends of Thibaud in San Anotio de Areco. This resulted in a very enjoyable and interesting stay and we learnt so much of the culture and people.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights in this excellent bed & breakfast and really enjoyed the experience. I had contacted Thibaud prior to the visit and he arranged pick-up from the airport for me which was great as this was my 1st time in Argentina. On arrival I was given a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room; the bed was really comfortable and the breakfasts were great ... what more can you expect from a B&B? Well ... I also got some great advice on where & what to visit, eat and the best transport options etc. The location is in a pleasant residential neighbourhood outside the central areas but this was a positive for me. The area was not unseemly or threatening as alluded to by other reviewers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Lovely breakfasts, fantastic service in every sense, and a wonderfully warm reception at all times of day and night. Thibaud is incredibly personable and cares deeply about guests' experiences. He knows the city extremely well and is eager to share his knowledge with those who take the time to ask. An atypical experience for a large city: a very safe (I, a young female traveling alone, walked comfortably late at night) and quiet (if I can sleep there, anyone can) residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I very much enjoyed my stay at Posada Gotan. The house, built in the 1890’s was carefully and beautifully restored by its owners, Thibaud and Gabriela. The warmth and hospitality provided in this lovely B&B make one feel right at home. Posada Gotan offers excellent value for the money, what with its amenities, service, comfort and truly pleasant ambiance. The bedrooms are attractive and simple with very comfortable beds and luxuriant quilts; each room has its own bathroom (with bath-tub). It was as if I was in Paris and Buenos Aires at the same time during my stay, for there is a charming mix of both countries in the ambiance and furnishings of this fine “auberge”. The breakfasts were splendid -- more than ‘continental’-- with fresh real French croissants, homemade jams of kumquats or raspberries, fresh orange juice, French bread, fruit, yogurt and really good coffee. Thibaud is an excellent host and he was most helpful with suggestions for restaurants and other requests, and is happy to share his knowledge and love of this mysterious and marvelous city, Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We found the posada on the internet and we liked the way the B&F was presented. The reality surpassed our expectations. The posada is very nice and is located in a very charming and non tourist-packed neighbourhood. The atmosphere is extremely friendly and we found the breakfast excellent. The owner gave us a number of quite good suggestions that helped us to appreciate a real taste of Buenos Aires. The posada is located a bit outside the city centre but it is well connected with all the main tourist areas

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We have travelled quite a bit in central and south America and visited Buenos Aires before so we liked what we read about the Posada Gotan on the website and in travelers comments. We also wanted to stay somewhere where we might be able to experience something different from staying in a central tourist location. The good things to say about this guesthouse are that it is clean and it has a nice patio area. The rooms are small and a bit dark and the breakfast is adequate, if not quite as advertised on the website! BUT ….

The posada Gotan does NOT have 24 hour security or reception as advertised. It is situated in a dodgy area. Not too bad during the day for the 5 or so blocks to walk to the subway [part of it uphill & broken pavements] but at night it really gets ugly with drunks and all sorts in the street and infront of the place. We wanted to go out a lot more to dance-halls and bars and really see the real Buenos Aires but we couldn´t do as much as we wanted because there was no-one there at night to order taxis from and the dark streets and local nightlife made us feel like it was in no way safe to go outside and try to catch one. We felt ripped-off by the comments about the security on the website because when we stayed there were no staff at all after about 11 at night and what with the street noises and music coming from around the place all night we could not enjoy our stay.

We love Buenos Aires and we don´t want this review to give a bad impression of the city as a whole. But we think it is only fair to alert other travelers to the realities of this guesthouse as we found it. In the past we have been lucky choosing places by recommendations and reviews but this time the R & Rs didn´t reflect the reality.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotan, Owner at Posada Gotan, responded to this review, April 30, 2009
Dear Rosa,

You staid at Posada Gotan for 5 nights in February and it is true that on Saturday the 21st, nobody was at the reception between 10:30 pm and 2 am. Our Receptionist had to leave the place urgently but was replaced by Valentin 3 hours after. I perfectly remember because you told me your problem on Sunday morning . The following days, Valentin or I were present.

On Tuesday night, I was at the B&B and I personally gave you the suggestion to go to Pan y Teatro, 7 blocs from Posada Gotan. Your comment on this restaurant shows that you loved it and that you had no problem to walk until there.

We are sorry if nobody could call a taxi for you on that day (specially on Saturday night) and we understand if you got afraid by drunk men in the street. Our neighborhood is usually safe and calm, this specific day don’t reflect the reality of our Bed and Breakfast.

I hope Tripadvisor readers will understand and will not generalize the situation.

Best regards,
Thibaud Marigny
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Gotan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Gotan

Address: Sanchez de Loria 1618, Buenos Aires 1241, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Gotan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Posada Gotan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Gotan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.