We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #8 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Los Cabos, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Absolutely Perfect !
Flawless from the airport pick up until check out. It was our first trip to Buenos Aires and we were undecided between the Park Hyatt, Four Seasons, Alvear Palace and Faena. We were to be in BA twice during the month of September as we were traveling to South Africa from Mexico and decided to book the Park Hyatt for the first leg of the trip and leave the return open so that we could visit the other hotels while in BA. Two minutes after we checked in I already knew we were staying there again. The place is just stunning, it is actually two buildings, the palace and the new wing joined together by an underground art gallery or on top by a beautiful garden. They have blended the old with the modern in a very sutil and luxurious way. We were up graded through AMEX fine hotels and resorts program to a huge one bedroom suite.The staff are very professional and capable, the concierge was great and recommended the best and trendiest restaurants and clubs (don't miss Casa Cruz, Cluny and La Bourgogne). While in BA we visited our other hotel options and I would recommend the Alvear Palace to anyone over 70 , the Faena to absolutely no one (worst staff I have ever met, a shame really because the property is beautiful) and the Four Seasons to business people who will wake up not knowing at which other FS they are at, nice but lacking character.
We obviously decided on the Park Hyatt for our return 3 weeks late and half the staff still remembered our names.
All in all Buenos Aires is a great destination, like being in Europe but at the half price !
Also try the spa after a 10 hour flight its great

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    115
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
116
429
45
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed in park deluxe king room. The room was very modern and big. The bathroom was also big. The shower and tub are separate and the shower has a rain shower (or you can use the "normal" shower. Every night they left out complimentary water and apples.
All of the employees in the hotel were very attentive and friendly. The hotel was always very clean.
We used the business center in the hotel. It was nice. They had 3 computers. All 3 were never full at the same time.
We never used the workout facilities or the spa but we did take a look at them. They had nice equipment for a hotel gym. The pool was 25 meters. They have complimentary herbal teas and fruit for those who use the gym.
We never ate at any of the hotel's restaurants since we had many recommendations from friends of places to eat at. Bar Uriarte (Palermo Soho) and Casa Cruz (Palermo Soho) are a must. Skip Cabanas Las Lilas in Puerto Madero- average food but very expensive. We also never had a drink on the hotel's bar or wine bar. Also, because we wanted to hit some cheaper and hipper places in the city. One bar that is not too far from the hotel is Milion (Parana 1048). Once you go inside the building, take the stairs up to the 2nd floor. Two bars in Palmero Soho are Sala (Guatemala 4802). This is a martini bar. A bartender named Ariel speaks good English and makes some really good drinks. Go to Mundo Bizarro (on Serrano near Cordoba) if you want to feel like you are in a Quentin Tarratino movie- it's got that Pulp Fiction type feel. They only take cash at this bar. If you can't miss college or professional football on the weekends this fall, go to Shoeless Joe's Alamo Bar (the sign says Alamo Bar very big). It's not too far from the Hyatt (on Uruguay b/t Arenales and Santa Fe). They put the games on through an internet feed so it's not that clear but you can watch the games. Everyone in the bar was American (even the bartender). The drinks are cheap and the food was good (and also cheap). There is one other bar that is not to far from the Hyatt that is also supposed to broadcast football- Casa Bar- but it was closed. They are supposed to have the games on live (not an internet feed). Finally, a recommendation on a lunch place- if you are like me and crave Mexican food about once a week, there is a place in downtown called California Burrito Company (Lavalle 441). It's similar to a Chipolte, but it is Mexican food nonetheless.

I loved the Hyatt and would stay there again. It's very convenient to many restaurants, shopping, and downtown. We walked mostly everywhere- plus we felt like we needed to do some sort of exercise with all that we were eating and drinking. You will need to take a cab to Palmero Soho/Hollywood.

  • Liked — rooms, cleanliness, service, and location
  • Disliked — it is expensive
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Went on business and took the family. We had a lovely suite with an Asian aesthetic and plenty of space. Lobby spaces and restaurants are very attractive and high quality.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

After winning a massive trip extravaganza, Buenos Aires was the first stop on my tour. After the 40 minutes ride from the airport, this hotel was like a beacon in the dark. The room we had was HUGE! Almost too big, perhaps. The mini bar area wonderful and classy. The bathroom killer, with enough room for 5 people ! The shower was awesome after a long day of walking around/getting lost. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel except for sleeping, but its an extremely beautiful building.Beds very comfy.Every accommodation under the sun. The cons:
-tv had about 5 channels of English, could use a little more
( they have a long list of rather outdated English movies to rent for a dollar, but we didn't take advantage)
-the staff collectively didn't speak English as well as liked, leaving us with a huge phone bill after a major miscommunication from the front desk.Also, when it was time to leave, the check out left me felling exhausted and ready to get the bleep outta there.

This hotel is right in the middle of the very rich, snobby, Recoletta District of BA. Be prepared to spend all of your money and then some. My advice, walk about 6 blocks over and eat on the cheap. I spent a total of 400 dollars in 5 days and had the best time ever.
On weekends, go to the huge outdoor market and stroll through the cemetery and crazy church.

  • Liked — The comfy bed
  • Disliked — Could use work on thier communication skills/english
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

The Park Hyatt BA was impressive, the location is in the heart of the most elegant district in town, the decoration of lobby, spa and rooms are impecable and very chique .
The staff are atentive and helpful at all times !
I will be back!

  • Liked — size of rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

This is the most beautiful renovation of a palatial home imaginable and so subtly done that, at the moment, there is no identifying sign out front.

Its problem is that the impeccably dressed staff - and there are dozens of them wandering about - has absolutely no clue about what they are supposed to do.

They smile graciously and then then hide or cluster by themselves determined not to look at the patrons because no one has trained them.

For example, it can take over an hour in the bar to get someone to take your order even though four staff will be in the corner at the cash register looking away from the room. You order a scotch and the bottle is presented some time later for inspection. Please. Then a long wait for the drink. And never for the check.

There is no training and no supervision of anyone, anyone. It is a very strange feeling being there, and beautiful as the hotel may be, you will be frustrated beyond the capability your patience.

Pepys

  • Liked — It is a beautiful property.
  • Disliked — The staff is completely untrained and there is no evidence of management on site.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

This hotel is just stunning. Modern style mixed with the ultimate in luxury. The bathrooms are out of this world and enormous. The service is fantastic, great business center, excellent restaurants and bars. The architecture and design of the hotel are simply stunning--this is one of the most unique prosperities I've ever been to. Highly recommend a drink in the courtyard. Also the breakfast is fantastic. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#11 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.