We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #8 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Greenville, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Classic Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel during a recent vacation, and I was certainly impressed. We had a suite in the original building overlooking Av. Alvear. The furnishings were excellent, and the room had an abundance of character. The bathroom was absolutely colossal, which was great. Wi-fi worked great, and housekeeping was exceptional during our stay.

The public areas of the hotel cover the spectrum. There are two lobbies off different streets, which did create a bit of confusion when some friends were meeting us, but if you know this on the front end, it shouldn't be a problem. The original building is separated from the newer building by the gardens, which are lovely. You can also move between buildings via an underground corridor.

Although the fantastic restaurants of BA kept us from having lunch or dinner in the hotel, we did enjoy multiple breakfasts at the Piano Nobile Salon. Fantastic food and service (and the best coffee I had on my trip!).

The Spa area was wonderful. We actually arrived extremely early (coming from the overnight flight from Atlanta), so our room wasn't ready. But the hotel was great to set us up in the spa so we could freshen up. They made available any toiletries that we might need so that we wouldn't have to dig through our luggage.

The location is outstanding. It's within walking distance of some great shopping and tourist sites. It's very centrally located, and it's not far by taxi from any part of BA. Really, though, I don't feel the need to get out of the area too much - I just love strolling the neighborhood.

As noted by many, the service is fantastic. It's a bit formal, but that's not unusual for a hotel of this sort that caters to a mix of tourist and business travelers. Definitely no complaints on my end.

Overall, it's a fantastic place, and it's certainly one to which I will return.

Room Tip: There are two towers - one traditional and one more contemporary. The original that fronts Alvear is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time in providing us your detailed feedback about your stay at Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires with this 5-star review!

Please, be sure I will let the staff know your wonderful comments about your experience and the service they provided you during your recent stay.

It is my pleasure to find out you were impressed by the hotel and that you enjoyed all of our features.

Hoping to receiving and serving you in a near future!

Best regards,

Philippe Frey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    115
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
116
430
45
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in a ninth floor suite through American Express platinum where we received a night free and breakfast included. I highly recommend a room facing the garden as it's quiet and peaceful. The property is immaculately maintained, beautifully designed and of exceptional quality. What is most noticeable is the world-class concierge service. Their team made incredible preparations for us, and were flexible and making adjustments and additions for us during our stay. We had developed such a great service relationship with their team that the lead concierge we worked with gave us a hug goodbye as we entered the taxi upon our departure. We also found the workout facility and spa to be excellent for our needs.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

We are truly appreciative as your words help to promote the hotel, both locally and internationally. I am sure the concierge staff will be more than honored to know you considered they as a “world class concierge service”. I am pleased to know you developed such a beautiful bond with our team, who work for providing authentic hospitality to all the guests.

We look forward to receiving you very soon.

Your sincerely,

Pilar Pose
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Every request we asked of staff was answered with "Of course!" Their extremely helpful responses made our stay a true experience of excellent service. From folding and organizing our clothes to free bikes for touring Buenos Aires, we were spoiled.

Thank you for taking such good care of us, we did not want to leave.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback on your stay with us.

We will share your comments with our team, devoted to the fine art of authentic hospitality.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, to have the chance to "spoil" you again!

With Best Regards,

Pilar Pose
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Not only is the Park Hyatt Buenos well located in Recoleta, it has the best staff and service ever encountered in a large urban hotel. He both got bad colds and the concierge really went to at for us securing the best cold medication I have ever taken. She kept calling us to make sure we were healing. The space is beautiful and serene, combining a modern tower and a former palace so it's the best of two worlds. Afternoon tea was elegantly served in the Palacio and was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was nicely served in the modern section of the hotel next to the gorgeouos original gardens of the palacio. Well worth the $$$

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guest ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

We are thrilled to hear that you considered us the “best staff and service ever encountered in a large urban hotel”. I feel so proud of our team! I will share your praise with them and I am certain that they will be more than pleased to know you appreciated so much their help when you got ill.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Philippe Frey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Chic modern ambience with an old world charm. Located close to Ricoletta which is a great area to walk around, with lovely shopping. Close to all the attractions, you can walk or take a short cab ride! The restaurant is very good, but service is rather slow. We stayed at the "new" wing of the hotel and visited the old portion which seems a lot more luxurious. Love the art and the chandeliers in the old portion. The rooms are a bit "confusing" with mirrors that can be difficult to navigate if you are a bit inebriated, otherwise all good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

It is our pleasure to find out that you appreciated the art and the architecture at our “Belle Époque” Palace.

I personally take note of your observation about the service at the restaurant in order to work with our team to improve and provide a better service to all of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Frey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This Hyatt is beautiful. The "palace" part of the hotel has an excellent restaurant and bar/wine cellar. The history of the building and beautiful artifacts are well displayed, it feels "palatial". The gardens are lovely, perfect place to lounge around and enjoy the fine wines of Argentina. The modern tower rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. Service is extremely professional and smooth. The location is perfect, walking distance to other excellent restaurants and sights. Feels like the 1st ar in Paris, and looks like it too.

Room Tip: I doubt there are poor rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this positive comments with us!

It is my pleasure to find out you appreciated the service provided by our staff, that each day honors the art of authentic hospitality.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our spacious rooms in the contemporary building. We feel honoured to be compared with one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

Look forward to serving you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Pilar Pose
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in January. Fantastic hotel with the old palace as a backdrop. Location was great, nice area, and close enough, walking distance, to all tourist spots.
Hotel itself (New part) is modern & rooms are spacious. Service is five star standard. A highlight was sitting on the palace balcony with cheese & wines. Certainly a hotel I would stay at again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires and for taking the time to provide us your feedback.

It was a pleasure to receive your positive comments and to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to know you experienced the wine & cheese tasting, a wonderful experience at the Palace.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Best regards,

Pilar Pose
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#11 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.