We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Awaken at the Park
Ranked #9 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for my company's reward trip so it was free but I would come back and pay anything for it. We traveled with our 1 year old and they treat us all like we were royality. The staff is helpful, accomidating, and some of the nicest people I have ever met. This is a beautiful hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    92
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
96
353
42
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spacious and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff make this hotel worth the stay. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful but the bar is quiet pricey (£15 for a cocktail - £12.00 for spirits). There are two entrances, the old and the new, we stayed in the new part which was well appointed though I suspect that the old part is more luxurious. The hotel is located in Recoleta which is a wealthy suburb within walking distance of good restaurants and the famous cemetery where Eva Peron is buried. There are a couple of shopping malls nearby, the nearest (across the road) is the most upmarket. If you are looking for cheap leather goods you will not be lucky though there is a decent craft market by the Cemetery that has some interesting gifts.

Room Tip: If you want something special book a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broad Town, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in July 2013, a double room on 12th floor. We were part of a large group on a corporate visit.
The location, in the Recoletta district, is good, just a few minutes from the cemetery. The breakfasts were the usual sort of thing, fresh fruit, breads, hot breakfast...and waiters very attentive with juice and hot drinks.
There were a few irritations with the room though. The teas and coffees hadn't been restocked when we arrived...and we were totally unable to get english breakfast tea bags. They would only provide fruit teas. We asked several times...and on one occasion they delivered a pot of tea (so they HAD tea!...but loose, I think), which they tried to charge us for although we'd only asked for tea bags.
The other annoyance was the lights...too clever for their own good, and they certainly had us confused. They had some sort of fancy dimming system, with each switch being multifunctional...I think! It was easy to plunge the room into darkness, or find you were raising the blinds when simply tring to turn on a bedside lamp. We never did quite get the hang of them.
There was also very little hanging space in our room - only a rail about 14 inches long, between 2 of us. We had to be very selective about what clothes we hung up.

The room was hot, even with the air conditioning on. The only way to cool it was to open the large windows (one of which had a broken hinge, so hung off one hinge when open - not ideal on 12th floor, with only a bar to stop a child from falling out).

The bar service was slow on 2 occasions.

So overall, I'm giving only an "average" rating - it's clean, the food is good, the location is good, and the public areas are attractive...but it could do a lot better with some simple tweaks here and there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was sold on The Palacio Duhau-Park Hyatt after reading many complimentary reviews on Trip Advisor, so thank you to all who posted their comments. It was a perfect fit for us - high end without being “snooty”. When we travel, we dress extremely casually. We weren’t prepared for the chilly weather, so we added layers of sweat shirts as we had no winter clothes. We were treated the same as their more well dressed clientele - that’s what I mean about it being a perfect fit! We stayed in the standard room, but we had a lovely, quiet corner room, garden view on a high floor in the new wing as requested. The hotel is tres chic and ultra-modern - the only problem we encountered was the push button computer-like lighting in our room which was a challenge at times! The location is extremely convenient and close to an upscale mall (opened at 10 a.m.) where we were able to go to Starbucks for our morning coffee as my husband didn’t like the smaller cups the local coffee was served in (we didn’t learn until it was time to leave that he should have asked for a “double” coffee!!!). We spent our first night at the hotel’s Duhau Restaurante & Vinoteca learning about local cheeses from Althea and Malbec wine from Melina and Debora. The concierges (Jimena, Constanza & Valeria) and front desk staff (Victoria et. al.) were wonderfully helpful. They gave us great information/recommendations and made dinner reservations for us which were always confirmed with a note in our room. (Be sure to go to Sotto Voce Italian restaurant within walking distance). We checked out for an overnight in Iguazu Falls and stored one bag at the hotel. When we returned to the Park Hyatt the next day, we were greeted like family! Our bag was already waiting in our room. It felt like “home”. We heard from a lovely local that the hotel’s Sunday buffet brunch is outstanding, but we opted to go to San Telmo on Sunday instead. For those of you who’ve taken the time to read my comments in full, you know that I can’t say enough good things about the Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at this beautiful hotel on a number of occasions and it is without doubt one of my favourite hotels worldwide - the contrast between old & new , the beautiful gardens, the terrace of the old Palace overlooking the new area, the cheese and wine cellar, the OAK bar , the undergound gallery joining the 2 buildings. It is a gem !!! Add on a well trained team and you understand why this hotel is always ranked among the best !! Bravo !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My stay here was in April 2013 & it was absolutely perfect! Hotel is just beautiful, with lovely tranquil garden between the 2 buildings. Rooms & suites are simply stunning & very comfortable. Service at every level was seamless perfection. Excellent dining options. Location can't be beat.
Love this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed on three different occasions in Dec and Jan using the Park Hyatt Buenos Aires as a base for various tablet trips out to Salta, Patagonia and Igasscu Falls. This worked very well. The Park Hyatt is a short cab ride via a freeway to the domestic airport. The Hyatt will store your luggage and have your laundry waiting for you on return.
It was a luxurious hotel. with beautiful spaces particularly in the old palais section. The garden is a sanctuary from the bustle and was a great place for breakfast. The staff were fine but slow. This will always be our base in BA . (It was also an elegant and pleasureable place to see the New Year in.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#4 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#13 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.