We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #8 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Memphis
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I thought the Park Hyatt Sydney was as good as it gets, but the Park Hyatt Buenos Aires gives it a run for it's money.

The hotel layout is somewhat confusing. There is an old section and a new section that back up to each other. In between is a beautiful courtyard and terrace. Both front different streets. So there are 2 separate check in areas, etc. You can get from one to the other by the beautiful courtyard or the underground tunnel which is an art gallery. Both had breakfast rooms, and you could eat in either. My only complaint was trying to tell the cab driver which address to take us to, and which lobby to meet the guide in. A little confusing, but that's really nit picking.

I requested the old section, which only has 24 rooms, and we got it. Our room and bath were just beautiful. The view was of the courtyard. Fabulous.
We had planned to eat one night in the hotel, but ended up going to a Tango Show instead. So we ate at the Vinoteca and just had wines and cheeses. So much fun.

But I saved the best for last. Service. I've never experienced such incredible service. It was my husband's birthday, and they were constantly wishing him a happy birthday. The concierge desk was fabulous.

Loved every second at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires and for your thoughtful feedback.

It is my pleasure to find out you appreciated the service provided by our Staff, that each day honors the art of authentic hospitality. It is an honor to discover you “loved every second” of you stay.

We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    115
    27
    13
    9
See reviews for
116
429
45
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It was my third visit to Buenos Aires and the first one staying at the Palace Duhau. I was very disappointed, the room was very small, noisy and not up to standards for a 5 star hotel.
The service overall wasn't good either, some of the staff members have a really bad attitude, probably due to a young lady who serves as a manager and who was completely rude with them in from of us and other guests. It's a shame, the location is great and the building is stunning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires during your recent visit to Buenos Aires. We appreciate your attentive feedback.

We will share your observations in order to improve our service.

Thank you again and looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This old palace has been converted to a hotel. Service is great and so is location. If you're looking for a high end hotel in Buenos Aires this among the top 2-3. Not your typical modern building, rather the building is a historic one with beautiful architecture. Rooms are nice but design wise they're nothing special or particularly local/authentic. The hotel is a five minute walk from the Four Seasons and a 5 minute walk to a nice shopping mall. The area is mostly residential with embassies and consulates, making it quite safe and clean. Walking around the hotel area is very pleasant. Their wine tasting is a bit disappointing - but other than that was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires during your recent visit to our city. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

As we continue to improve our hotel and service, comments like yours provide us with a valuable feedback in identifying areas that concern our guests. Thank you for your remarks.

We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel and while it is a beautiful property and well located, unfortunately the service they offer is not even close to in line with the nightly rate. The hotel staff is less than friendly and you can sense that something just isn't quite right. This is probably the result of less than satisfactory management, as in my contact with senior employees, I found them to be both smug and unhelpful. Going to a hotel of this category is not only about luxury accommodations and good location, but a whole experience. Unfortunately, I found this experience to be lacking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate you taking the time in providing us with your thoughtful feedback of your stay at Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires.

Your comments are very much appreciated. We take note of your observations so as to be able to provide a better service to all of our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of the few hotels where pretty much everything is just right.
The suites in the old palais are stunningly beautiful, the restaurant delicious, the garden a true oasis in the middle of bustling Buenos Aires, the Bar with a very fine selection of wines and they even have their own walk in cheese cabinet. Service is also top. For sure one of the best places I ever been to.

Room Tip: try to catch a room in the palacio building, or not at least facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

It is my pleasure to discover that you had a memorable stay while you enjoyed the features of our property

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

great location, great service, expensive for Argentine Standards but Ok for the rest of the world The mansion is a dream , the service at the garden-patio is a stay -forever hidden cove in the noisy city I love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires and for sharing your comments with us.

We are very pleased to find out that you had a memorable stay and that you appreciated the service provided by our Staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's hard to believe that there are 10-13 other Buenos Aires hotels that outrank the Park Hyatt. We stayed with my 1.5 year old daughter on a Hyatt Award stay (18,000 points/night) and had Diamond Status. I was upgraded to a small suite which was very posh and modern, albeit laid out in a unique way. The service was top notch though we didn't get to use the property amenities (spa, pool) as much as we'd have liked.

When we checked in, they had one of their staff show us around the property and escort us all the way to our room. It's a beautifully designed place that you'll fall in love with.

Our room was a corner 1 bedroom suite with a small but comfortable livingroom. The layout of the room was like a doughnut so that you could go from the hallway to the livingroom to the closet to the bathroom and back to the hallway. The bedroom was off the "intersection" of the walk in closet and the livingroom. Yes, I know I'm not describing it well, but perhaps the photos will be more illustrative.

The bathroom was massive, with a dual sinks then another room with a spa like bathtub and separate shower. You really felt like you were in your own world.

The corner bedroom overlooked the street and the massive windows provided exceptional sunlight.

We had complimentary breakfast from our Diamond status and it was excellent. The spread had everything you could ask for and you also were given the choice of 1 hot dish. Everything we had over the 2 days was phenomenal, though not cheap (if we had to pay for it).

More than anything, the service was exceptional. We were on a delayed honeymoon so when the hotel found out, they tried their best to sneak into our room when we were away to surprise us with a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. My wife was overjoyed at such a nice surprise.

Location is great, right in the heart of the posh neighborhood and 2 blocks away from a DISCO supermarket as well as a very tasty empanadas restaurant (dine in/take out) called Sanjuanino.

And when we checked out, we called downstairs and they procured us a regular taxi to take us to EZE Airport and even negotiated a fair rate (200 Argentine pesos) for us. We'll definitely be back and never stay anywhere else in BA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDParkHyattBA, General Manager at Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palacio Duhau – Park Hyatt Buenos Aires and for your thoughtful feedback.

It is a pleasure to find out you appreciated the service provided by our Staff, that each day honors the art of detail. It is my pleasure to discover you define our service as “top notch” and that you specially enjoyed the room set up for your honeymoon.

We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Mr. Antonio Alvarez Campillo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#11 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.