We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, great hotel, wonderful service, one of the top hotels in the world!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #11 of 449 Hotels in Buenos Aires
BERKELEY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wow, great hotel, wonderful service, one of the top hotels in the world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Palacio Duhau at the beginning and end of our 3 week Argentina trip and everything was wonderful. For the first 4 nights we had a 1 bedroom suite in the new tower and we enjoyed looking out onto the adjacent green space. The lighting system in the unit was very complicated, we never figured it out, and trying to turn the lights out at night often was comical. The breakfast buffets and service in the hotel were excellent. Even though we don't look like high end travelers (we were using hyatt points), we were always treated with respect and everyone was friendly & professional. At the end of our trip we stayed in the older, quainter side of the hotel but we had to look at the new tower, which is not attractive. I suggest staying in the new tower with a view of the older palace, or the greenspace. We hated to leave the hotel, it was quiet and comfortable, they even had free dvds for the suites and we enjoyed watching movies after a day of touristing. There were many great places to eat in the Recoleta neighborhood (empenadas, small cafes) and we had no problem walking to other parts of the city--Palermo, Plaza de Mayo, etc. The spa including pool & jacuzzi are really nice, as is the workout room.
Love this hotel, highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: stay in the new tower for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmaXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I stayed at the Palacio Duhau for 8 days in May. The service is amazing, the rooms are beautiful, the housekeeping and staff are greatly attentive. Great gym and indoor pool, beautiful outdoor patio area between the modern side and Palace side. It's great. It's right near the cemetery, and not far from Palermo (where popular restaurants and bars are). If you want a luxury hotel in BA, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dewey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Depending on which wing you stay in, you can be in a super-modern, hip, trendy, minimialist hotel or you can be in an ambience of old-fashioned graciousness but with the very latest in high tech facilities and bathroom fixtures. Rooms in the "Palacio" are old fashioned in a beautiful way and rooms in the Tower are super modern. Either way, service is absolutely super in this hotel. World class great. Usually I go for modern and high floor, but the Palacio rooms are so beautifully redone, that I prefer those. Staff are uniformly superb. Food is generally excellent in the restaurants. The cook at the Duhau couldn't get my steak right to save his life (shocking in Buenos Aires - ordered medium rare and got well done plus TWICE!) but their breaded veal chop Milanese rivals the best in Milan. Excellent breakfast buffet and egg dishes in the Italian restaurant in the Tower. Small but nice gym and sauna area, lovely lap pool, very good spa treatments. Awesome location for shopping, eating, running (series of parks nearby), museum visiting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mgpaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for a week in March. Our room was in the Palace side and was beautiful. It looked into the gardens below was spacious, light and nicely decorated. The service was excellent, the staff are all very nice and very helpful. A friend of mine was staying in the other part of the hotel which is the newer addition. Her room was much smaller than mine and didn't feel quite as special, more of a typical hotel room.

We ate in 2 of 3 restaurants there- both very good, located on the terrace and in the garden- which is lovely if the weather is good.

They have a pool/gym which are both great, although the weather was beautiful so it was a shame the pool was inside.

The location is good, it feels very safe and lots of taxis passing to jump into. It's near the cemetery which is incredible to walk around in.

So an excellent stay at the Park Hyatt, I would love to return!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Virtually faultless. Maginficent rooms, location and public areas. I liked the understated elegance of the modern extension where we were housed in an exceptionally large room. The aesthetic contrast was the superbly restored baroque 19th century palace which contained the public rooms. My only criticism isthat some of the wait staff and bell staff are just lazy. This is in contrast to the very helpful house staff. But thsi is a small criticism; overall we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

absolutely beautiful hotel and amazing service. first time in buenos aires and this was the perfect location. loved the juxtaposition of the exterior with the modern interior. only possible critique is service at breakfast was at times a little slow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missinglondon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I travel over 100 night per year in primarily 5 star hotels. I'm picky, demanding and not easily impressed. The Park Hyatt Buenos Aires was impressive in terms of service and facilities. An excellent hotel!

The Best:

1.) The "Palacio" historic wing of the hotel is a beautiful Belle Epoque mansion. I believe there are only 26 rooms and suites in the Palace section. REQUEST one if you enjoy historical architecture flawlessly blended with modern decor. The Palacio has an amazing lobby and dining venues. Impeccable. Tasteful. Stylish!

2.) The modern tower is also very nice. If you prefer purely modern sleek accommodations then the Tower section is for you. The hotel is filled with quality art and decor lending a sophisticatedly elegant yet comfortable feeling to the hotel.

3.) Rooms and suites - we had an executive suite and a standard room in the Palace wing. Both were spacious and nicely decorated. Request a GARDEN VIEW for the quiet and aesthetic beauty of the front lawn of the Palacion mansion. It's really special. Room and suites did not have a coffee maker which I found a bit irritating. A Nespresso machine would have been a nice luxury in-rooom amenity. Area rugs in the suite needed a good scrub. After complaining they were immediately cleaned.

Suite ceilings were high and decor was modern sophisticated. The bed was comfortable with excellent linens.

Bathroom amenities were ordinary. Aqua di Parma or at least Bulgari would be expected in a suite costing over $800 USD per night.

The standard room in the palace Wing was very spacious and well decorated. Huge bathrooms. Very high quality rooms and suites excellently maintained and beautifully decorated and furnished.

4.) Service - impeccable. The staff is highly trained. Difficult requests were met with efficiency. Genuinely friendly staff. Excellent concierge and front desk personnel. Butlers are top notch and always available. Food & beverage staff spoke English well and were highly efficient.

This is the type of 5 star service people rave about. The Park Hyatt has an excellent team of employees making this very special property shine like a diamond.

The okay:

1.) The spa facility is beautiful. The treatment rooms are huge and very well appointed decorated in a pale travertine. Very nice treatment rooms. The indoor swimming pool is adequate for laps. However the locker room, sauna and jacuzzi area are too small and cramped. The jacuzzi barely circulated water. This is an area of the hotel that needs renovated and re-planned.

Massage therapists were okay - not great. Genuine Deep Tissue massage in Latin America is almost impossible to find. It may be on the menu - as it is at the Park Hyatt - but the therapists are not strong enough and/or not properly trained in deep tissue massage procedures. All three of us took deep tissue massage and it was a waste of time and money.

2.) Breakfast on the terrace of the Palacio was a stunning start to the day. However cooked menu items need a bit more attention. The food was acceptable but not wonderful. It should be delicious and very special - especially at these prices!

Overall this hotel is close to faultless. If you're going to Buenos Aires and considering between the Park Hyatt, Four Seasons or Alvear Palace - don't even give it another second of though. The Park Hyatt is by miles the best of these three properties! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#2 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#8 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Faena Hotel
Faena Hotel
#19 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#7 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#25 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires

Address: 1661 Alvear Avenue, Buenos Aires C1014AAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful gardens, surrounded by the elegant architecture of the Palace, create a magnificent atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Hyatt Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing