We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Recoleta Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Recoleta Plaza to your Saves list
Melia Recoleta Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Posadas 1557, Buenos Aires 1112, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Been here twice in the past 4 years and can still say the service it keeps up its good name. The restaurant had good service though they didn't apologise for the bit of plastic found in the ice cream last night.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Departamento de Calidad, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mr Avito V,

Thank you for your recent post and for your compliments to our service.
Regards your comment about the Restaurant, it has been reported to the Food and Beverage Manager who will take action on this matter.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, once again!

Best Regadrs,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    145
    37
    24
    8
See reviews for
67
155
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel Melia was one of the hotels recommended to us by a lodge that caters to dove hunters in Cordoba knowing that we would have to layover in Buenos Aires. Our group of four enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were nice and prices were reasonable. The staff was nice and very helpful and stowed away our luggage while we were waiting on rooms and taking a tour of the city. I would recommend the hotel to anybody traveling the area. It is a small hotel with a nice bar and restaurant. It is a place that I would go to again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a small group, I would ask to have everybody on the same floor. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Departamento de Calidad, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Jeff W,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our Hotel.
We appreciate your post in Tripadvisor.com, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sp
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Hotel is really old. Small roons. Terrible breakfast. Terrible service.

It was setted late checkout on reservation, when we arrived they said it will be confirmed, at the day of checkout it said that it should be payied for late checkout, that it has a cost even when it was setted before.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Mr Andre B,

Thank you for posting your comment in tripadvisor, your remarks about Service and Breakfast will be submited to the General Manager.
Melia Recoleta Plaza is a historic, emblematic building witness to national events and important political figures, home of Evita Peron between 1942 and 1944.
As per your request, late check outs are subject to availability and have a set cost. Free late check outs are limited to MAS Loyalty Programme clients.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at Melia Recoleta Plaza Boutique Hotel,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very good location, great friendly staff, spotless rooms (quite small and some of them very noisy, as for instance n. 45 ).
They offer good free wi-fi, Standar breakfast, not very regular at all.

Goog choice to Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor & backyard view room. Beaware: ask to see first, some rooms are very noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

One of the besto locations in town close to luxurious Alvear Street. Service is excelentand rooms are very nice. I would certanly stay again here

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Nice Hotel for business and visits to Buenos Aires.
Recoleta is a safe area in the city and you will have no problems to find attractions all around and nice bar or restaurants where to eat.
the restaurant inside the hotel are not at the same level at the hotel, good but nothing that you will remember.
unfortunately no Gym in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Having changed our plans at the last minute and on a ferry heading back to B.A. from Montevideo we suddenly realised we didn't have a hotel booked. The first couple of hotels called were full, another one was unable to accept 'late' arrivals for 'security' reasons and so we called this one not knowing anything about it other than it was in Recoleta. It turned out to be a good choice. A reasonably priced, friendly and comfortable hotel situated on a quiet residential street. There were small bars and restaurants nearby and, as we found out in the morning, it was very well positioned for walking to the Floralis Generica and the Cementerio de la Recoleta and the colourful weekend market surrounding the cemetery. The hotel was built in the 1930's and apparently the area was rather different to the genteel suburb Recoleta is today we read later! Behind reception there is a long, tastefully furnished room leading to the dining area and lifts. A painting of Eva Peron on the wall drew my attention after breakfast....and that is how we discovered that Eva Peron had lived in the building between 1942 and 1944! An historic 'bonus' for overseas visitors staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Recoleta Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Recoleta Plaza

Address: Posadas 1557, Buenos Aires 1112, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#52 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#76 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#91 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Recoleta Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Recoleta Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Recoleta Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Recoleta Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.