We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired, but does the job” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esplendor Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Esplendor Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Esplendor Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Martin 780, Buenos Aires C1004AAP, Argentina (San Nicolas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Cumbria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A little tired, but does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel would have looked quite trendy a few years ago but now looks just a bit strange. The room was a bit spartan and the bathroom had a rather unpleasant odour with the light switch on the wrong side of the door etc, etc. We stayed two nights and found the place clean enough and the breakfast o.k. The front desk staff were good and helpful, the pool table and free to use computers on the mezzanine floor were a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your commentary. Your opinion is very useful for us.
We are working everyday to make every guest expirience unforgettable.

We hope to receive again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Maria Ripoll.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    155
    52
    30
    15
See reviews for
56
185
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Esplendor Buenos Aires is in a great location, near the major sights, the busy pedestrian walkway Florida, and upscale Plaza San Martin. It's part of a big shopping mall with a food court, which is convenient. The rooms are tasteful and clean and the dining room and the complimentary breakfast are very nice. My only complaint was that the people at the front desk kept giving us the wrong information. We'd ask if some place was open, and after they assured us it was, we'd go to find out it was closed (for example, the Casa Rosada). Most of the staff didn't speak English, but that's not unusual in South America.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your opinion and suggestions.Your feedback is very important for us in order to continue improving our services and quality of our attention.

We hope to have you with us again

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

BEST Aspects of Hotel:
Super trendy, hip art in renovated, restored building with modern design
Good Location--though as a visitor to BA there are other better locations
Starbucks around the corner
Rooms (we were in two different rooms, both adequate to large) have cool, hip decor
Rooms were quiet

WHY I WON'T GO BACK:
Tiny bath in big room, no counter space, no hand towels (only bath and wash clothes) of lower quality
Very few outlets in the rooms-challenge to plug-in any electronics
Room furnishings are worn and somewhat shabby
Room lighting inexpensive and too minimal
Air conditioning in both rooms did not work--we could not cool the room below (78F or 25C) despite a visit by maintenance staff--it could not be changed--making it hard to sleep comfortably
Breakfast area is run down and shabby
Breakfast food offerings minimal and not attractively presented (minimal fruit, protien, bread options)
Lobby area is cool looking but furniture is worn

The very cool design and decor of this hotel is completly undermined by negative issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments that you have left at Trip Advisor. It was very kind of you to have taken the time to write us, we really appreciate it.
Your feedback is very important for us in order to continue improving our services. Constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality.

We hope you notice the difference next time you come to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on two separate occasions during a two week trip to Argentina. The staff were friendly and cheerful, especially Claudio on reception. Also, the staff were very helpful with booking taxis for us.

The rooms that we were given on both occasions were large, bright and clean, however the decor was simple and starting to look a little worn. We found the rooms to be quiet and we had an excellent night's sleep during both visits, however friends staying in a different room overlooking Cordoba Ave did mention that their room was very noisy.

Breakfast was basic but OK. There are lots of options for lunch and dinner nearby. The hotel is next to Galerias Pacifico shopping centre and a two minute walk from the Florida pedestrian shopping street. The location is a good base for exploring BA.

As a previous reviewer has mentioned, we were offered a late check-out but were not informed about the charge until it can time to pay our bill, which we thought was a little bit deceiving. We used the hotel's laundry service, which was expensive however the laundry was turned around in four hours.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr Russammie

We appreciate your motivating comments, thank you for sharing them on TripAdvisor. You have highlighted many aspects of which we are proud of: Warm service, convenient location, comfortable rooms and good breakfast.

Is very nice to hear that you have a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to have you with us again

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed on 3 separate occasions during a 3 week trip to Argentina when using BA as a base. Rooms fantastic, very large and well appointed, location good and cleanliness standards high. Breakfast choice adequate. Reception staff in particular Claudio extremely helpful. Negatives are that we had issues on checkin and checkout and with laundry. On checkin, I had booked a suite but hotel system was showing standard but once I had presented paper confirmation of booking, everything was sorted immediately. A piece of my laundry never came back from housekeeping even though it could not have been anywhere other than my room or housekeeping and with the hotel refusing to acknowledge they had received it, I was unable to claim on my insurance. We had enquired about a late checkout the night before departure and were told to ask again in the morning which we did. We were told we could have it. However, on checkout we were asked to pay the late checkout charge and the management would not budge even though we told them we should have been told when we were granted it that it was not complimentary and that we would have to charge (as happens every other time I have requested a late checkout in any hotel). So after paying, we were then asked for 7 pesos for some water we had consumed from the mini-bar, which I found very unprofessional) bearing. They tried to tell us that the tour company we had used refused to pay for late checkout. It was actually nothing to do with the tour company as the final two nights were reservations made for when the rest of the group had departed. Well I guess I have learnt 2 things from this hotel, even after years and years of travelling the world - get someone from housekeeping to double check the items in a laundry bag as you hand them over and when granted a late checkout, ask whether there is a charge. Don't let this put you off using this hotel but be forewarned and forearmed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Mrs Louise H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. Thak you very much for highlighting our rooms and our location. Actually, our location is one of the highlighted features of our property and our guests truly enjoy it. For its proximity to Florida Street, Madero Port, and Galerías Pacifico Shopping Center, the hotel is perfect to know everything about the city of Buenos Aires and it is also ideal for business travelers.
We are very sorry that our laundry service did not meet your expectations. Our Hotel values all of our guest and any feedback that is provided. We will keep working on it, to improve day by day.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Esplendor Buenos Aires Hotel in your next trip to Buenos Aires

Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Esplendor Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, great value and reasonable breakfast. I would prefer a greater variety of meats and bread at breakfast but there was plenty. Staff friendly and helpful, managed to sort all our restaurant reservations with ease.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are glad to know that you liked our rooms and hotel in general and that you enjoyed the stay at Esplendor Buenos Aires.

It was a pleasure for us having you here and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Maria Ripoll
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice place.

Here for 3 nights. Close to all the relevant sights in the city. Not too much in the evening for food close by.

Road noise not a problem..."part of the big city experience".

Rooms clean. Trendy. Simple.

Would come back. But i also would try another area of BA. Maybe San Telmo or Recoleta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplendor Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Buenos Aires

Address: San Martin 780, Buenos Aires C1004AAP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#122 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Buenos Aires combines a restored Neo-Renaissance facade with avant-garde interiors. Its strategic location, next to the prestigious Galerías Pacífico mall and meters away from Florida Street, make it the ideal place for those who want to discover this incredible city. Although in the heart of downtown Buenos Aires, it is possible to enjoy the serenity of its spacious rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Esplendor Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Esplendor Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Esplendor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.