We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere different to stay in BA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Piedras 922 / 936 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1070AAT, Argentina (San Telmo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #124 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Somewhere different to stay in BA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's a nice hotel and a bit different from staying at one of the big hotel chains present in BA. As others have said, it is a converted mansion house and tango school and the place has real character and is beautifully decorated in an old style. The staff on the front desk were all absolutely superb - so helpful with maps, tips, calling taxis and making restaurant reservations for us.

We had booked a room with a balcony and on arrival we were told we could have a suite room with a jacuzzi too if we could wait an hour whilst it was cleaned (of course we said yes!). The room was big, furnished in an old fashioned way but in keeping with the place. The bathroom was an okay size and very clean. The jacuzzi was a little odd as it was in the corner of the bedroom rather than the bathroom, but it didn't really matter. We used it once, the bubble jets didn't work but it was nice to have a large bath. The balcony had a table and chairs and looked out over corrugated rooftops.

The rooftop pool was out of action when we were there. The hotel itself is quite old fashioned but I guess it is in keeping with the theme. There are some nice dance murals painted on the walls inside. The breakfast was basic but adequate - bread, croissants, cheese, ham, scrambled egg. Breakfast is served on tiny tables in one of the tango dance studios which seemed odd at first but a sensible use of space and adds to the experience!

It's well located in San Telmo and the staff had plenty of nearby restaurant suggestions, including La Brigada which did an excellent steak. You can walk to Plaza del Mayo in ten minutes, we generally felt safe in the area but we did get cabs after dark if going out of San Telmo. No cab driver knew the hotel and most struggled with the address we gave them, but we got by with showing a map and pointing to the location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansion_Dandi, Director General at Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
LinzofLondo,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel, that is right, the hotel is themed as an old mansion, which used to be. The building itself was declared historical monument by the government. We try that every corner of the building take you on a travel through time.
I hope you were able to enjoy some tango lesson and the milonga while you were here with us.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    62
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
91
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed as a family of four over Xmas and New Years this year. We had a large suite that was actually two rooms. It was perfect for a family of four as it is hard to find large hotel rooms in Buenos Aires and you would normally have to purchase two separate rooms. The hotel is a lovely, clean, majestic former mansion in the heart of "old Buenos Aires" in the San Telmo neighborhood.

The hotel staff is amazing (Daniel, Christian, Marcello were fabulous). Friendly, informative, accommodating, and they speak english perfectly which really helps you navigate the ins and outs of BA.

The hotel included a pleasant breakfast each morning with eggs, breads, pastries, fruit, coffee, tea, juice, and one of our favorites "dulce de leche".

We used the pool (nicely situated on the rooftop), the free computers (there is also WiFi available throughout the hotel), and the many sitting rooms around the hotel.

They also were very helpful in arranging taxis and car service around town and to and from the airport. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansion_Dandi, Director General at Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much, it is really important to us to see that we are improving each day. The staff is one of the best we had in years, they really take care of all our guest. All our facilities are ready to fit all the need of our guest. One more time, thank you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikshavn, Danmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent a week in the hotel september 2013 .We enjoyed the surroundings and the staff is very helpful and friendly. For people interested in tango there is a tangoschool in the basement where you can obtain tangolessons at a very low price.

Should we ever come back to Argentina this is a hotel we would visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansion_Dandi, Director General at Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Google Translation
Tlyng,
Muchas gracias por recomendarnos a otras personas y es muy importante escuchar que la paso muy bien con nosotros. El personal de la Mansión es uno de los mejores que siempre están haciendo todo lo que puedan para hacer su estadía la mejor. Lo esperamos para su próxima visita a Argentina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a week while vacationing in Buenos Aires. The location, rooms and service were terrific. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast service is ample. But best of all I can't say enough about the hotel staff. Daniel, Christan and Marcello were outstanding hosts. They made us feel at home and offered us plenty of kind, patient advice as we explored and enjoyed Buenos Aires. The personal service at the Dandi Royal is like being treated like a valued guest at a small inn.

We were also really happy with our choice of staying in San Telmo. The hotel is walking distance to many great restaurants, the San Telmo market, banks, shopping and the famous Sunday market in San Telmo. When you stay in San Telmo you are staying in a real neighborhood where people live, work, shop and eat, yet it is cental to the metro, and walking distance to the Plaza de Mayo and the Palacio Presidential. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansion_Dandi, General Manager at Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Phil,
Thanks you very much for your coment, I will let the staff know about that, they are really commited. That´s our aim and as we are a petit hotel with only 29 rooms, the services is more personal. One more time, thanks for taking your time and writting about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you want American style luxury with generic decor and furnishings, you might want to check into the Sheraton or Hilton along the river in Microcentro. If, however, you want a charming stay with outstanding service in a beautiful, old building in a real neighborhood, look no further. It is unlike any other place I have stayed in another country. The architecture is gorgeous - and amazingly unmarred by the ubiquitous graffiti covering buildings all over Buenos Aires. The interior is beautiful - not only the woodwork, marble, and wrought iron, but the amazing murals on the soaring walls of the lobby and in each room.

The rooms are a little small, so there's not a lot of space other than to walk around the bed, but they are very clean and comfortable. The bed was nice and firm, thankfully. The pillows were flat, but I found an extra one in the armoir (which was quite hard, but at least it offered support). I was plenty warm enough in bed at night, and the hotel is very quiet, considering it is technically an atrium hotel, open to the third floor - but since in our half of the hotel, there were only five rooms per floor, that probably helps. Also, since the building is narrow and deep, almost all are interior rooms with no windows, so you don't hear a thing from the street (but you also have no clue when morning arrives, which is slightly disorienting). There is a safe inside the armoir which offered great peace of mind in leaving passports and cash and even my big camera at the hotel.

The continental breakfast is exactly the same each morning. There are croissants and toast, some bite-sized pastries, fruit, coffee (regular only), tea, orange and grapefruit juices, and (runny) yogurt.

There is a tango school on the street level, and both group and private lessons are available through the front desk. (Not sure about the cost.) You can see them if you are walking on the sidewalk in the evening. (If they see you, they will smile and try to get you to come in and join them!)

There is a pool and sitting area on the roof (which I forget to check out). The pool is only open during the summer. It was 80 degrees when I was there, but since it was spring, the pool was still closed.

Yes, the water in the shower is sometimes pretty cool and/or takes forever to get warm - but having experienced very cold showers in Europe, it was not a big deal to me and struck me as quirky rather than annoying. (If you can stand under the water, that to me does not qualify as "cold.")

The neighborhood is called San Telmo, and to me, it is the most interesting, bohemian, REAL neighborhood in Buenos Aires; that is, there are some expensive boutique shops along Defensa (four blocks away), and there are some not-so-great places to be on a few streets, but it is where real people live and work, some well-off and some pretty poor - and that is the kind of experience I look for, not an area where all I see are rich (relative to the rest of the world) Americans, British, and French in giant luxury chain hotels. In San Telmo you've got countless restaurants, from the super cheap takeaway empanada slots in the wall, to cafes, to authentic parillas (Argentine steakhouses). You've got endless shops along Defensa and around the Plaza Dorrego, plus a lot of great antique shops at all levels. All this within walking distance. (Bring good walking shoes to navigate the broken sidewalks and cobblestones.) And from this hotel, you are only about three blocks from the Independencia stop of the Subte (subway).

Note: over an Argentine holiday weekend, the garbage may not get picked up, and it can be pretty gross - but after it's over, the streets are cleaned up pretty nicely.

I felt perfectly safe in San Telmo, at all times. I felt less safe in the nicer areas of the city in broad daylight, because tourists are such easy targets.

The best part about this property is easily the service, which is outstanding. You are welcomed from the minute you step in, and you feel cared for during your entire stay. Cristian, Marcelo, and Daniel at the front desk are all eager to provide information, suggestions, recommendations, and help with Spanish! I really felt they bent over backwards to be as helpful as possible and were motivated to ensure a pleasant, positive experience, not only in the hotel but in Buenos Aires. They not only send you out with good wishes each day but are interested in hearing about your day when you return - which really made it feel like home, something that is important to me when staying for a week or longer. Marcelo is an American, so if you are nervous about your Spanish ability, he will really put you at ease. Cristian is fluent in English and is a true porteno, born in Buenos Aires, so he can offer you a real BA perspective.

I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansion_Dandi, General Manager at Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Martimbe,
I was a pleasure to read you review of our hotel, the staff the buildeng, everything. I want to thank you for shaering you experience with the rest of people that could be interest in our hotel or the neighborhood, it has an authentic style San Telmo, as the hotel itself, as an historical monument of San Telmo. I will be a pleasure to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here during a trip around South America and this was the best hotel we stayed in throughout the whole trip. From the first minute we walked in we felt welcomed and were shown to our fantastic room. The bed was huge and very very comfortable. The room was spotless and the hotel was very clean in general. The hotel had a very nice family run feel to it while also maintaining an extremely professional standard.

We took tango lessons in the hotel and attended the hotel's famous tango show dinners, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The location was decent with the metro a short walk away and close proximity to some nice restaurants/bars.

The best part of the hotel was the staff who were extremely helpful. George was an absolute gentleman and was always willing to help. Special thanks to Marcelo for the late night chats and top notch recommendations! A great experience, would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansion_Dandi, Director General at Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Jeci100,
I feel extremely happy when I read this kind of things, as with the bad review you get what we need to change, with your review we find that we are doing things right. The staff we find, worth your weight in gold, they are really helpfull in all your needs and really friendly. We try our best to keep it fresh and shine this historicla building of San Telmo. Thank you very much for your time and we will really glad to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is just so different... it is a tradtional old style building in San Telmo and the last writer was correct... cabbies don't really know where this place is. But it is certainly worth staying here in this old quarter of Buenos Aires - safe and atmospheric with lots of places to eat and explore.
The hotel itself has large painted tango-themed murals adorning many of its walls, spiraling staircases, clean rooms with high ceilings and comfy beds. The staff are helpful and friendly (see Carlos run up the stairs with 2 suitcases!) and the service is thoughtful and generous. The only week points are that the hot water took forever to get to our room (but then, I guess it is an old building with old plumbing) and the breakfast was a little lack-lustre by the third morning. But all said and done, I would return to this delighful, unusual hotel. It made a great start to our holiday... but next time, I would go the whole hog and take tango lessons!
I

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the spa bath... if you have all day to wait for it to fill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansion_Dandi, Director General at Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear UkLizzie-Lou,
We will be waiting for you on your return to take tango lesson. Thanks for your review, I am really glad to hear that you have sucha a wonderfull tiem with us. Our staff is one of the most important thing we have here, they are really nice and important. About the hot water is as you mention, specially on winter time, but if you leave the water run for a minutes it will be really hot. Thanks for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal

Address: Piedras 922 / 936 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1070AAT, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion Dandi Royal was designed for your comfort and to fulfill all your requirements; each of our rooms has its own characteristic style; we offer to all our guests the opportunity to lodge in an exclusive mansion of 30 rooms with all the atmosphere of XX century beginnings Tango. Mansion Dandi Royal Tango residential academy, first in its class, wait for you with the comfort, warm attention and originality that you deserve to enjoy in your stay at Buenos Aires city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Dandi Royal Hotel
Mansion Dandi Royal Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mansion Dandi Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.