We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and wait!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pani

Pani
Vicente Lopez 2056, Recoleta- Ciudad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina
(011) 4804-3210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 2,516 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinean, Bakery, Café, Gastropub, Tea Room, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
BsAs
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Relax and wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Pani is a very popular restaurant so it is usually packed, you need to be pagient and relax till you are served but when it does happpen the food is very good and huge helpings, consider sharing!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    72
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best desserts in Recoleta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have been in this place a few times, always just for coffee and dessert and we really enjoy it. The ambiance is so quaint, with so much to take in visually, and the staff are wonderful. They are very proud of their restaurant and do not mind if you ask to take photos. Make sure you don't miss the restrooms, as the paintings in there are just as interesting as they are in the restaurant itself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambiance, awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The places looks beautiful from outside, it invites you to go in and enjoy! However, once you request whatever you are having, be prepared to waaaaaaaait. Their excuse? it's a new restaurant and they are not yet organized (???). We ordered two burgers. We waited 65 minutes.
I will go back, but just for coffee or a juice, since the place is so nicely decorated and close to home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awful Awful Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I cannot express in words how horrific our experience of Pani in Recoleta was, if only there was an option for minus stars, I would have kindly donated -5 to it's cause.

Firstly, I want to state that we are not fussy or snobbish about our food and Pani came highly recommended by some fellow travellers. In a nut shell, the service is awful, bordering abhorrent. Having given our order, the waiter tried to give us other people's food x3 times... the signs were ominous! They then brought our food, my waffle sandwich looked nothing like it's photo on the menu compounded by the fact that one waffle was hot, the middle waffle was cold and the top waffle seemed like it had been for quick swim pre-plating up and dabbed dry so not to arouse suspicion. My wife had a hamburger. She hadn't ordered a hamburger. When sending it back, the waitress (our original waiter had probably gone home due to the stress of the day thus far) totally unapologetically took the plate away. We then waited for over an hour for her correct dish, the aptly named 'Pani Date Sandwich'. It was disgusting. She valiantly ploughed on as it was the lunch she had been waiting for but 1/4 of the way through, had done all she could with it.

3hrs later, she has food poisoning and I am writing this whilst shuttling water to and from our bathroom. I'm about to go and buy some dioralyte.

So, there you have it. As I said, we're really not fussy and this place had come well recommended but we had a truly unsuccessful time here. -5 stars from me as I bed in for an evening of riveting rehydration mixing. Ironic that my iPhone wants to autocorrect Pani with Pain!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrollton, tx
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Visually Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was told that I had to try this place from a fellow traveler from Brazil. I wasn't expecting much, but when my husband and I walked through the door I felt so happy. This place was decorated nice yet funky. You can choose to sit inside or outside, we chose inside since it was so hot outside. They have free Wi-Fi for you foreign travelers.

I love tea so I got the frozen fruit tea & it was awesome. Not too sweet. I ordered the breaded beef (chicken fried steak) with mashed potatoes for lunch. It was good, but a bit bland for the American taste. All of their dishes comes out with fresh flowers for garnish. It was super cute.

I would definitely come back if I visit Buenos Aires again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pani also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Pani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.