We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite a nice place... bad security..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Limehouse Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Limehouse Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Limehouse Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Lima 11, Buenos Aires C1073AAA, Argentina (Montserrat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quite a nice place... bad security..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Quite a nice place, good location... stayed in a 12 person dorm for 45pesos a night which is cheap for BA. 6 bed dorms at reception are noisy and you wont get sleep.
our friends stayed in a 4 person room and they woke up one morning to find their locks had been broken off their lockers and all their stuff robbed... (cheap place to stay if you dont mind getting all your stuff robbed....thats all i have to say...)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limehousehostel, Director de Recepción at Limehouse Youth Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Backpacker,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment .We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
We are very sorry for what happened to your belongings. Unfortunately we could not anticipate the robbery, but we will be taking strict measures in order to insure the backpackers safety within the hostel.

We send you our best regards.

Limehouse staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    15
    5
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
15
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Been there back in 2003 (yeah!!! 10 years ago - how the time fly!!!) when it was opened not long ago and it was amazing excperience. In total, i've spent there over a month, and it was the best place to meet people from all over and the stuff were amazing and real friendly. I made some really good friends there with whom i'm in touch to this day. Recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limehousehostel, Director de Recepción at Limehouse Youth Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Backpacker,

We thank you for choosing limehouse hostel, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
Hope to see you soon,

Best regards,

Limehouse staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We only stayed one night at this hostel, which has a good location in the centre of Buenos aires.

It is a small hostel which seems to get most of its business from travellers who cannot get into Millhouse round the corner.

Our six bed dorm was comfortable, clean and had decent lockers. The fan was broken but a free standing one was given when we asked for it. Breakfast included is measured but fine.

A major drawback is that the bar (which is smoking) is in the reception area so anyone wanting to go to sleep before 2am is unlikely to get any shut eye.

Staff not overly helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I sleep in this hostel twice. and enjoy sleep there.
The hostel have a good breakfast , and big kitech.
The rooms are big , and you have a big locker.
The staff was very friendly, and help me to know buenos arries .
The location is perfect in the center.
And in the hostel you have a nice bar.
In this place I meet nice people, I think if you travel alone its good place to meet people.
The price its little high for backpackers , but is Buenos arries, this city are expensive, so the price is fare

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Terrible place to stay! The building is decrepit and falling down in places. The staff had no interest in helping us or other travellers and were downright rude at times. Smoking is allowed in the hostel which means it is in a constant haze of smoke which filtered into our room.Our private room had dirty walls, floor and bathroom. The floor was uneven wooden floor boards, one of which gave way if you stood on it. Music is played in the bar area until the early hours of the morning. We would not recommend this hostel at all - it really impacted on our time in Bs As. Apparentely this is a great place to meet people but this was the the case for us at all, unless you want to share your packet of cigarettes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

rooms clean, nicew staff and a cool central area. A bit noisy but generally a nice place

Room Tip: a small dorm rather than a big one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Good hostel for backpackers! There's a bar so its easy to meet people, also a pool table.
There's good wifi, a travel agency and PC's if you dont travel with a laptop.

It is a little smokey in the main lounge/bar room when its busy but my room was right off this room and never found it bad in my room. (I'm a non-smoker)

The staff here are really friendly, and the location was great for me.

Rooms and facilities are just your normal cheap hostel/backpacker type, but are clean and everything works!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limehouse Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limehouse Youth Hostel

Address: Lima 11, Buenos Aires C1073AAA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Limehouse Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIME HOUSE YOUTH HOSTEL is situated in the city center with view on the famous Obelisk monument. We offer to our guests:-24 hour check-in-Free breakfast-Housekeeping -Lockers-Emergency assistance 24hs-Phone, fax and internet-Rest and reading room-TV Room and cable-Hot water 24hs-24hs security-Tours and services-Bar -Equipped kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Limehouse Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limehouse Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.