We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that's it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Milhouse Hipo!

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Milhouse Hipo! to your Saves list
Milhouse Hipo!
Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location but that's it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Location is prime, with a 10 mins walk to congress or casa rosado. This hostel is really for youth or younger generations to party as they have happy hour and drink session every day. If you want o meet ppl or share bunk that's fine. If you are looking for decent sleep DO NOT COME HERE ... YOU WILL NOT GET ANY. For eg during my stay there were some freshman coming back from party at 5am. Kept talking and shouting. The sound doesn't filter though the walls and wooden tile either. The street the hostel is in is also the party scene of some local underaged hip hop parties. You won't like walking around past mid night.

The staff attitude were ok but I think it's the way they learnt to speak and pronounce English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    150
    52
    8
    26
See reviews for
9
50
132
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My first stop in S.America was B.Aires.
We heard about this hostel from a friend back home and we were glad we listend.
The hostel is located in central B.Aires and its a great location. close to alot of main things in B.Aires. The hostel it self has Great Vibes and atmosphere, great service from the workers, the rooms are fine as well. We enjoyed the bar in the hostel and the orginization of going out to a diffrent club everynight and other activities as well. (Going to soccer matches, bike rides,,,)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spent there a few nights with friends, after hearing some good reviews from others.
The hostel is well located, full of beautiful people and is trying to give you a good experince.
If you want to go there- you probably heard about the great social life of the hostel. Every night there's a small party in one of Milhouse hostels that leads to a bigger one, in a different part of Buenos each night. It's true- it's really cool to meet people like this and definitely there are tons of beautiful girls there.
That said- the conditions are not that good.. you have to carry your stuff up 3 flights of stairs sometimes, there is no AC, bathrooms are OK at best, it's a bit overpriced for Buenos and you get the feeling somebody is watching you like you got back to high school (no drinks, only people from the hostel allowed to come in).
If you are alone and looking to meet some people- go there, if not- you can do better in Buenos
Aires.

Room Tip: If you take a large dorm- don't be surprised to wake up when people get back from parties, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I met two friends in Milhouse, both 18year old Aussies who had consented to travel with a 26 year old British girl. Milhouse is big sure and has good facilities (the big hostels tend to as they have more income), breakfast is included and is a good selection of cereals and bread with some fruit, the bar is cheap and the staff are helpful if a little busy and therefore maybe slightly indifferent but the atmosphEre was one of high school, little clicks of people who band together and there is not a lot of soul. Even the aforementioned 18year olds didn't particularly like it. The party is relentless, which if you like it is fine. You can't hear the noise to be fair at all as you go into the rooms but it is a pretty depressing sight every night and morning. I'm not saying I didn't party but it wasn't on my agenda every day. It was almost like a black hole, you get sucked in because drink and food are cheap but you almost never see the light of day again! Stay if you want to meet people who you don't remember in the morning and are content to party all the time. Don't stay if you want to meet people in a sober state.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have finally returned from my three months in South America, and just over two weeks staying in Milhouse Hipo. I've got to say what an incredible experience I had at Hipo, you have truly set up the best hostel that have been to in South America, and what tops it off, is you're unbelievably friendly staff. I went to so many incredible hostels, that were all let down by staff being a little miserable, and not sociable. Florencia, Mariel and Sabrina in particular were so so friendly and kind, and I couldn't have wished for any more from them. I have kept in touch with them ever since I left the hostel.

I hope you guys continue with your success as a hostel, and I am already planning my trip back to BA with a couple of mates late next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wish there was a button for good, but there is only one for either Very Good, which this hostel isn't, or Average, which this hostel isn't either. As everybody has mentioned, this is the place to party - Milhouse is renowned for late nights, loud music and craziness. If you not into this then I don't suggest you stay here. We were looking for somewhere with a party atmosphere as we enjoy meeting people and having a good time. However, compared to other places we have stayed where the "vibe" is the same, Milhouse is VERY young. We like to think of ourselves as a young thirty something couple but this place made us feel old as most the people are between 18-23 years old. The kitchen is tiny for the amount of people the hostel accommodates and there is barely anything in the way of utensils, pots,pans etc to cook with which is frustrating. The city tours are over priced for what you get and you can do these on your own for way cheaper.

BUT: I have to say, the double room we had was beautiful, the bathroom clean with a good shower and the hostel in general is spotless, which makes for a nice change. The staff are all very friendly and knowledgable.

Take it as you will, we won't stay here again but if you younger I'd definitely give it bash

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good location, really close to the subway station, but I'd recommend staying in a different neighborhood, since the city center can be quite creepy at night. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although it would be nice if there was a tv in the room. Breakfast is good, although it's pretty basic.

The heating in the rooms did not work at all times (there was a night when they only turned on the heating at 5.a.m., and the nights can be really cold in Buenos Aires). Only a few members of the staff were actually helpful. It was too noisy at night (drunk people screaming).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milhouse Hipo!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hipo!

Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Milhouse Hipo! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milhouse Hipo!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.