We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy party hostel. Know what you're getting yourself in for and you'll definitely have a sweet time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milhouse Hipo!

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Milhouse Hipo! to your Saves list
Milhouse Hipo!
Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crazy party hostel. Know what you're getting yourself in for and you'll definitely have a sweet time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay if you want to meet heaps of other young travellers and party hard (every night if you have the will and stamina!). The staff are vibrant, friendly and speak great English. There's heaps of tours they can organise for you and they arrange outings to bars and clubs every night of the week. The rooms are really, really cool. High ceilings and a good spread between the bunks. En-suite bathrooms are clean and the showers are good. Be careful staying at Milhouse if you want to get things done during the day, it's too easy to stay out till early morning when you go out partying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    150
    52
    8
    26
See reviews for
9
50
132
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hostel has a great energy and atmosphere. The staff was really nice and there was almost always something to do. They have parties and bbqs most days and organize people to go to bars and clubs most nights. They offer some nice walking tours of the neighborhoods as well. However be aware, this place is loud and can sometimes be obnoxious. It's only quiet from about 8-10am. If you like to get a good nights sleep or even want a break from partying this is not your hostel. If you are looking to meet people to hang out and drink with and are young and don't care too much about the frills- this place is perfect for you.

I'm 28 and tend to like something closer to the middle of craziness and quiet, i stayed here three nights and this place wasn't for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was supposed stay here for 6 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks. It's a real party oriented atmosphere. I met so many people and had Si much fun BA just sucked me in.
The place (avenue) is immaculate. The staff was super friendly, helpful and cool. One of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a party hostel. If you're not up for a party stay elsewhere, but if you like to party and want to meet other people, you can't miss it. Great spot. Spent a week there and didn't want to leave, met fantastic people. Decent rooms, a/c only comes on at night but rooms were cool enough not to be an issue. Wifi wasn't great when busy. Will stay here again

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancora, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

As made very clear by other reviews, this is very much a party hostel. Nightly events, trips to clubs etc are all put on by the hostel. Staff are very helpful, location is good, 1 block from de Majo. Recommend for those wanting to go and have some fun in BA

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Milhouse was a great hostel for meeting other travellers - within a few hours of arriving I had met loads of people who I then spent the next few days exploring BA with, and who I´ve stayed in touch with after. The location was great and there was lots going on. The city tours however were overpriced. The parties were good, but if you´re looking for somewhere quiet where you can get an early night this is not the hostel for you. On the whole though this was a great hostel which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location is perfect, the included breakfast is good and the dorm rooms are clean and I did not have problems with bed bugs, but heard complaints about this from several other travellers. I liked the big patio and the rooftop terrace and the party program they have every night.

What I think could be improved is the computer area, which is very limited (4 computers) regarding the amount of people staying there; and the noise-level during the daytime, which I think is not necessary, not even in a party hostel. People like to sit down and read or work on their laptops and don't need pumping club music all day. Also, I could not get used to the fact that there's no daylight in the common area downstairs, which is why I preferred the patio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milhouse Hipo!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hipo!

Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Milhouse Hipo! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milhouse Hipo!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.