We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living the High Life in Buenos Aires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 5th Floor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 5th Floor
Vidt y Santa Fe, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 243 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Living the High Life in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was my first trip to Buenos Aires and I was travelling on my own so I wanted to stay at a B&B to meet other travellers. The 5th Floor surpassed all of my hopes and actually fast tracked me into the local life. The gracious and informative hosts Miles & Veronica started to share insights into the local scene by suggesting activities and places to see starting from my first email. These insights continued throughout the stay and varied on my energy level. They freely shared invitations they received to a variety of activities from friends gathering to celebrate a birthday, a private social club cocktail party, a hosted wine event at a new bar and even an authentic asado (barbecue in Argentina) with their friends on the huge sunny terrace at The 5th Floor.

The hotel itself is in the perfect location in Palermo Soho. Central with easy access to transit subway, shops, cafes and restaurants. The neighbourhood is very safe, walkable and active with the vibrancy of local residents in this middle class area.

The space is unique and has been fully refurbished back to the art deco style in which it was built. Everything from the round corners of the main entrance to the mirrors in the elevator highlight the art deco style. The main entrance features a marble circular staircase up to the sixth floor where the rooms are located. From the main entrance you see the large living room with soft seating and the adjacent room with a small library and honour bar. Their is a large deck on the front of the building that is nice during the day as it is in the shade. Plus it is high above the local tree lined street and is a nice place to enjoy a late afternoon cool drink.

From the main entrance heading to the back of the building you enter the main dining area and kitchen where breakfast is served. Also cold filter water is readily available at anytime. From the dining area you look onto a huge terrace. This sunny terrace is also a nice place to enjoy your breakfast and plan out your day. Also a great place to have a drink before heading out for the late night activities. Buenos Aires is a city that gets started late and is active and vibrant well into the night.

I highly recommend The 5th Floor. Miles and Veronica made my trip truly exceptional and I have travelled extensively. Just book early because as word spreads they are likely going to be very busy.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a balcony. The balcony face onto a quiet tree lined street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Actually we went to the 5th floor this evening for a concept meal - entitled "Ugly Food" ..... Well the food was not exactly ugly, but as the 5th Floor promised, it was also not presented in an OTT way ... instead, again, exactly as it promised, the food concentrated on flavour rather than presentation. Well done 5th Floor and in particular onwer / chef Mile Lewis ..... the whole meal was wonderfully flavoursome .... especially the Oxtail main dish ... simply delicious. Ever since the 5th floor has opened I have wanted to stay there but have still not found the opportunity to do so, however I finally got the chance to look around and the rooms look amazing and it is only a matter of time before I do now stay there .... and I live in BA! Miles and Veronica has done a great job and this place is one that any resident or traveller to BA would be well advised to stay at! New, enthusiastic, great service, wonderful furniture and just an all round great feeling .... thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Flying from Lima to Buenos Aires for two nights is stressful I can assure you.

It is not thought if you stay in The 5th Floor in Palermo. That is a guarantee. Being welcomed like at home by the charming Lady of the House, Veronica Romano. Stepping into The 5th Floor gives you the impression you are stepping into your dreamed own home. The furniture are cozy, distinguished, stylish and make you feel like better the moment you sit in them. Relaxing in them after a tough week of work your eyes wander around what would be your living-room. An eye-catcher are every single lamp you will discover in the 5th Floor. Art-Deco lamps one more beautiful than the other. The self-service Bar invites you to serve yourself a nice drink to start enjoying your journey in the 5th Floor with Miles Lewis (an incredible cook, who fancy to call his delicious food "ugly" just because the taste is for and Veronica Romano. Don't miss this trip!

The rooms are luxuriously simple and a feast for the eye that likes searching for details. The beds are very comfortable and the fact that in a noisy city like Buenos Aires you do not hear busses or taxis honking gives you the feeling of relaxation and rest that you will need in order to wander around the jungle of Buenos Aires.

The Breakfast can be argentine with "medialunas and dulce de leche" and fruits or you can be served an english breakfast with bacon and eggs. You can enjoy this first meal of your day on the beautiful terrace with lovely mosaics surrounding you and giving you the sensation you are in some hidden backyard of a country house in an italian village.

If you have the chance to enjoy a dinner cooked by Miles Lewis - don't let this opportunity go by, you will miss excellent food, exquisite wine and of course the charming company and always interesting stories and insider-tipps for Buenos Aires of your Host and the Chef of your delicious meal.

Veronica Romano and Miles Lewis created in Buenos Aires a little treasure with THE 5th FLOOR in Palermo - the heart of the city of Buenos Aires. Their capacity of always being present right at the moment when you think that you might like to ask them something and at the same time giving you the perfect space and privacy you need without ever getting the feeling you are alone or a stranger in Buenos Aires. The 5th Floor is YOUR HOME. Couldn't recommend a better place in Buenos Aires to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I heard and read that the couple, Miles and Vero, who run the 5th Floor had put a lot of time, effort and money into turning their space into something special, but we were still surprised at what they managed to achieve. The building the hotel is in is nothing special, but it's terrifically located in Palermo and just off Avenida Santa Fe. Once we got to the 5th floor, though, the space just magically opened up. First of all, it's not just the 5th floor. The hotel is on two floors and the levels are joined by a lovely, sweeping black and white marble staircase. Everyplace in the common areas is appointed in carefully selected furnishings; everything from the seating to the lamps is spot-on.
Our room was finished in the same Art Deco style as the common areas with the exception of a flatscreen smart tv. The large bathroom was finished in elegant marble tile on the floor and walls, and had a large, beautiful tub and shower. The bed was an instant sleeper -- that is to say, when the time came to sleep, we did so instantly.
Breakfast was as special as we came to expect from our hosts. Our full English breakfast (yummy sausages and bacon served with buttery mushrooms and free range eggs) was served on the very splendid terrace that's finished with exquisite Andalusian tiles. I still can't believe I ate the whole breakfast!
We also had the good fortune to enjoy dinner prepared by Miles, as we were invited to join them on the terrace for a dinner party with a few of their friends. The man does know his way around the kitchen!
In short, the hotel is lovely and comfortable, as are the hosts!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hard to beat location, great, friendly little boutique b&b. couldn't ask for more from our stay at the 5th floor. Warm and charming interiors as well as the great and helpful attention from the staff. Recently opened so all lovely and fresh, we were lucky to be there on a tasting menu night...delectable food. Really enjoyable night in buenos aires. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Miles and Veronica have done an amazing job doing this woderful Art Deco apartment. All the rooms are great, but we stayed in one with a terrace which we highly recomend...The cocktal hour tey put on is great fun, they gave us all their local knowledge ( which is plentiful ) and in the mourning the Breakfast was perfect!!

Room Tip: Take a room with a terrace, ... they have more than one..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 5th Floor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5th Floor

Address: Vidt y Santa Fe, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5th Floor is a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, set in recently restored Art Deco premises located in the finest part of Palermo. It offers luxurious accommodation and a generous amount of common space including the dining room leading to the Andalusian terrace, spacious, parquet floored living room and (honesty) bar with separate terrace. It provides a homely experience that will remind you of BA's golden age. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 5th Floor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The 5th Floor to your Saves list