We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a the coolest neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BoBo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BoBo Hotel to your Saves list
BoBo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guatemala 4870 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great stay in a the coolest neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The BoBo is a charming hotel in Palermo Soho, which in our opinion is the best area to stay in Buenos Aires. The area is full of great restaurants and bars as well as interesting shopping. The general vibe is the coolest you can get in BA.

We stayed in the Argentina room on the top floor. The room has a nice terrace and a jacuzzi. We certainly enjoyed both. The room was very pleasant overall.

The hotel has a nice boutiquey feel to it. The building is old and very stylish. The interior is well designed. The place felt like a elegant oasis after a long day of exploring the city. We definitely recommend BoBo.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    101
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
277
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I'm so happy I found this place. The hotel is wonderful and the staff is so nice. They were so accommodating. If you like hip bars and chic shopping - Palermo is great. It's a bit of a distance to other tourist spots - but luckily cabs are cheap and gives you an opportunity to see the city.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Rooms were very clean. Staff were very helpful with recommendations on what to do around the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed here for four nights at the end of two weeks in Brazil and Argentina and it was quite a dissapointment after the other amazing places we had stayed. It was also quite expensive for what it is. There are certianly far nicer places, in far better locations for the same price.

The hotel itself seemed quite souless to us. This may just be our personal taste, it may have been the time of year (arrived 30 Dec, left 3 Jan). The staff were polite, but we suspected with it being New Year, younger, less experienced staff were on the front desk. There was also a lack of overall management. On New Years eve we asked the front desk to book us a table at a hotel for supper. It was late notice so we had to take what we could get, but we were told by the girl on the desk that the restaurant she had booked for us was within walking distance and she showed us were it was on the map. When we came to leave in the evening, luckily there was someone else on the front desk and we asked them to just confirm where the restaurant was on the map. They told us it was in a completely place and that it was not safe to walk in that area after dark. We therefore stayed at the hotel for NYE and did have a very good meal in the restuarant in the hotel.

On another occassion we asked the same girl on the front desk to book us another table at a different restaurant. We asked her to do this at about 9am, we then had breakfast, went back to our room and left the hotel at about 11.30. We hadn't heard anything to the contrary so we assumed the booking had been made. When we got back to the hotel in the evening, about an hour and half before we were due to eat, we were told that the restaurant was full. We wanted to eat in Puerto Maderia as we hadn't been to this part of the city and we had been recommended it by some people we had met. We therefore asked the front desk if they could recommend any other restarants in Puerto Maderia, to which they replied we probably wouldn't get a table as it was sunday night and they would all be closed. They said they could however book us a table in the vicinity fof the hotel without a problem. We were a bit miffed by this given Puerto Maderia is the newest area of the city and the streets are lined with restaurants. So we told the front desk we would go down there anyway and take our chance. On arriving at restaurant we had initally asked Bobo to book for us we were told that they were full, but they operate a buzzer system and we could wait for a table. We had to wait about 20mins and we then had the best steak we have ever eaten (Las Lelas). We were so glad we stuck to our plans. We felt it was almost as though the Bobo hotel were trying to keep us in the Palmero area. They should have information about avaliabilty to hand, and i would have been very surprised if the restaurant hadn't passed the information regarding the buzzer to the receptionist.

We stayed in 'Chic'. It is labelled a suite, but it is really just an average sized room with a balcony and a desk. There is no seperate sitting area. The bathroom was fine, but nothing special and the bath leaked along the join between the bathroom and the bedroom soaking the bedroom floor. The maid service was not great. Towels were not always replaced when requested, empty tissue boxes etc were not replaced, not major things but they all added up to taint our view of the hotel and their service. Our room was not turned down once, which i would expect in an 'elite' hotel. The water in the room was 18 pesos a bottle and it wasn't even refridgerated. The was no mini bar in the room, there wasn't even a long rail to hang long dresses from. The balcony was not swept once during our four day stay and i'm not entirely sure that the floor in our room was swept either.

The breakfast was basic and the pastries were clearly not freshly cooked, or even warm. On the first two mornings i had to ask three times before we got any coffee. They did do cooked breakfasts however.

The bar and restaurant we shut all day and night on NY Day. We couldn't get room service or even a drink. We felt that as a hotel with guests in the usual serives should be provided, they certainly hadn't discounted the rooms to compensate for the reduced services! I eventually went down and spoke to the receptionist who did very kindly go and get two bottles of beer and water from the bar for us.

We were also dissapointed with the location of the hotel, purely for our own reasons. We would have prefered to be more central in Buenos Aires. Bobo is a good 10min taxi ride from Recoletta, which is the nearest major site to the hotel. It is not really walking distance from any of the major sights (we do a lot of walking and probably walked about 4-6miles every day we were in BA).

We were very dissapointed with this hotel. We may just have caught them on a bad weekend with it being NY and perhaps their regular staff were on holiday. But we really didn't feel we received the service we would expect, or that described by the other reivews on trip advisor.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed at the BoBo for one night at the end of our trip to Patagonia. We were allocated the Racionalista room, which is one of the cheaper ones at USD165 per night rack rate (but I admit I hadn't really researched room options before I booked otherwise I might have chosen something a bit more interesting!).
The hotel is in a great central location in Palermo, close to lots of restaurants and sights.
The room was not huge, but adequate for two people. The bed looked really comfortable but didn't live up to that promise, largely because all of the sheets and duvet came loose in the night. Disappointing. The bathroom/wet room was big, and the shower was great although it (as is often the case) leaked all over the floor. The room was difficult to get to a comfortable temperature - it was a warm day, and the aircon very efficient so we were either too hot or too cold. The room had free wifi and also a flatscreen TV.
Unfortunately, the most annoying thing was "the buzzer". We have no idea what the buzzer was but it seemed to go off every few minutes throughout the time we were there - front hotel door? reception? lift? who knows what it was but it was very annoying.
Breakfast was fantastic - the best we had in three weeks with freshly cooked bacon and eggs available as well as the usual continental selection (fab granola too).
The staff were fantastic - they even managed to get us a table that night at La Cabrera!
Overall, yes this is a lovely hotel (buzzer disregarded) with fantastic staff and great location but the room was disappointing for the price and I preferred the Art Hotel in Recoleta of the two hotels we stayed in BA.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and it suited us very well. Not close to the city centre, but we did not want that. It is situated in Palermon Soho, an older part of the city but very up and coming. Easy walk to shops, bars, restaurants and coffees shops. Oh and great ice cream store!

Be careful to ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel, as the old rooms seemed a bit run down. It will cost more, but we felt it was worth it. Staff speak good English, were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Dining room menu limited (only one veggie choice when we were there) and basic breakfast. Excellent wine list.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the BoBo Hotel for a week while visiting our kids in Buenos Aires. Regardless of our needs, the staff could not have been more helpful with suggestions for restaurants or activities like Tango lessons or bike rentals. They always had a smile and a big welcome when we returned "home". Our room was clean and cozy. A small breakfast buffet was included and they would always offer to make eggs for you. The neighborhood was charming with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The only negative is that it is about 45 minutes (an hour in traffic) from the international airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BoBo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BoBo Hotel

Address: Guatemala 4870 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#32 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#83 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BoBo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BoBo Hotel & Restaurant is located in the heart of Palermo Soho, an upscale district of Bueno Aires. This self- described "Bourgeois Bohemian" hotel is just that- with a touch of class. The BoBo is an old town house that recently was refurbished to include modern, elegant decor while maintaining the structure and charm of the 1927'house.At the entrance of the Hotel is the BoBo Restaurant, a place of demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BoBo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bobo Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Bobo Buenos Aires
Bobo Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BoBo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.