We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a disapointment...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BoBo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BoBo Hotel to your Saves list
BoBo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guatemala 4870 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such a disapointment...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We reserved this hotel based of course in reviews and pics, the pictures I have to say are so far away from the reality, the senior suite is more like a basic room of another normal hotel, with the difference that in the middle of the bathroom there is this none usefull jacuzzi that give you the feeling to be in an 1 hour hotel...the food is terrible, we were so tired the first night that we asked a club sandwich and a cesar salad very difficult to go wrong with, and the three lettuce plus 2 pieces of chicken for 72 pesos is a robbery.
I read in the reviews that the new part of the hotel was nicer, guys is like being in soviet republic in 1974 or a hospital not nice at all,service of course is a desaster too the trace of food of the first night was outside of the room until the next day around 5 oclock in the afternoon.
we don't recomend it at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoBo H, Propietario at BoBo Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
We understand the difficult situation you had in the immigration department for your arrival to Argentina and how difficult was for your family to change the dates of the reservation in the airport the same day. We apologize for that, the hotel was full and we were not able to change your dates. Unfortunately we have strict cancelation policy that specifies that we are not able to cancel and refund your 50% of deposit in BAR rates unless you do it 15 days in advance.
We do our best to make your stay an exceptional experience in Buenos Aires. If we did t success we promise we will keep on working to give our best service and for your next trip we will be pleased to invite you to have a dinner in our restaurant.

Sincerely
Mariano Gimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    88
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
257
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

A small hotel in a fashionable part of Buenos Aires with plenty of nearby restaurants (although the one in the hotel is also worth checking out). Close to the Subte so it has easy access to Centro if you don't want to walk.
The staff were very helpful in suggesting places to visit, proving advice on how to get there as well as chasing up tour companies.
I've been in hotels in historic buildings previously and so understand that they come with constraints but couldn't help think that they could have done more to step it up a notch and so turn it into an exceptional small hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Bobo is truly a boutique hotel, located on a quiet street in Palermo. Decor is great; funky and interesting. Very quiet; even with others in the hotel you could barely tell. Cool elevator too. The room was lovely, with an outdoor balcony (deluxe); the rooms are on the small side so having the balcony really helps. Storage in the rooms are a bit limited (no closet) and a little fridge/mini-bar would be nice. Hipster vibe. Staff was great (Juan Paolo's help with our planning was spectacular.) We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast, which was delicious.

Room Tip: Go with deluxe or a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights in December and loved our stay! We had room 14, a deluxe suite. It was a walk in area with jacuzzi, bathroom, and then steps up to the bedroom and terrace. (It was called "The Loft".) Very quiet which I appreciated. Easy walking distance to the metro. Great staff who shared many travel ideas, issues, and concerns. The staff was truly proactive in handling our stay. We had a Luxury Link package and they knew all the details without us having to ask for our extras! Beautiful selection of fruits and pastries delivered as part of the package. An AMAZING 5 course wine-pairing meal at their lovely restaurant. They were so accommodating in allowing us to eat around 7:15pm. They were prepared for our visit and did a great job. Loved the included breakfast. Loved the location. Loved the service. Great property-truly a luxury property!

Room Tip: We had "the loft" room and loved it. Very quiet, great terrace to enjoy Guatemala street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I noticed some of the recent reviews on this boutique hotel and cant say that I can agree with some of the less than stellar commentary. Everyone is entitied to their opinion though! This place is literally blocks from some of the best nightlife in Palermo yet situated on a very quiet street (at least during my stay). The hotel staff is incredibly courteous and the rooms were very well put together. I was fortunante to get a second floor room with a balcony overlooking the small quiet restuarant across the street. I think this place was steal and would definitely stay there again. They even have a small restaurant downstairs which actually serves up a decent foodie type of menu for patrons and guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is in an old building with a new extension. We stayed in 2 rooms in the old part of the building. Both individual and different sizes but comfortable beds. Bathrooms on the small side with almost no flat space to put anything down. No plug for sink or facecloth which made shaving a bit of a bore...
The hotel really seems to believe its own publicity and some staff were rather condescending (not impressed with attitude at breakfast) others however were very helpful and storing luggage was no problem. We had a meal in the restaurant on arrival (thunderstorm made going out unattractive). It was OK but we did much better for less money locally the next night.
Overall OK - nice alternative to a chain hotel but would probably try somewhere different next time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

To be honest, my husband liked this hotel a whole lot more than I did—but both of us agree that the property is not being well maintained. We stayed for six nights in what was described as a "suite." The bathroom was small and not particularly functional except at the most minimal level: Floor and wall tiles were badly stained and in need of a good scrub. The sink was tiny and balanced on a shelf not more than ten inches deep. The room was on two levels, the first level taken up by a huge spa and a small desk. The caulking between the stairs and the wall was partially missing. The bed was comfortable and the linens excellent. We had a patio, but the street below was really noisy, even on Sunday. Patio furnishings were two uncomfortable chairs and a table. A few potted plants were all that separated the patio area from that of the next room. Most, but by no means all, of the front desk staff were friendly, but they were not especially knowledgeable, and requests were not followed up. The real highlight of this hotel, which is well located, is the restaurant. Breakfast, except for the glum waiter and the uncooked oatmeal I was served one morning, was superior. Dinner was probably the best meal we ate in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: We were in the "new section" of the hotel. The older section might have more character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BoBo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BoBo Hotel

Address: Guatemala 4870 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#44 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BoBo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BoBo Hotel & Restaurant is located in the heart of Palermo Soho, an upscale district of Bueno Aires. This self- described "Bourgeois Bohemian" hotel is just that- with a touch of class. The BoBo is an old town house that recently was refurbished to include modern, elegant decor while maintaining the structure and charm of the 1927'house.At the entrance of the Hotel is the BoBo Restaurant, a place of demanding palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BoBo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bobo Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Bobo Buenos Aires
Bobo Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BoBo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.