We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D821 B&b

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D821 B&b
Save
You added D821 B&b to your Saves list
Defensa 0821, San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1065AAO, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Location, location and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location, location and location. This B&B is conveniently located at the historic San Telmo area, right at the Sunday market, couple minutes of walk to Plaza Del Mayo, with lots of cafes, local restaurants, antique stores, and Asian grocery store along the street. Located at the intersection of Road Independecia and Road Defensa, easy enough to tell the taxi driver on the location even if you can't speak Spanish:)

Room is clean and comfortable with ok complimentary breakfast. Owners are nice, flexible and eager to help on soccer match arrangement. Good deal for budget travelling!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The host and his wife are incredible! They are so very nice and will bend over backward to make sure you are having a good time. The breakfast they serve is delicious and very much the Argentinian experience.

If you are looking for the Argentinian experience, look no further! The suite with a balcony over looks the historic San Telmo Street, where much of the life happens (dancing, parades, antique shops and street vendors). The location is great, very close to La Brigada (amazing steak house), El Viejo Almacen (historic Tango show), and just a few blocks from Plaza Del Mayo.

The rooms are very minimilistic, but thoughtfully designed by the hosts. For an American in the summer the only down side is the rooms are not technically air conditioned. There is some sort of swamp cooler, but its very loud and doesn't completely cut the heat. Also, we had to buy our own soaps and shampoos - which is not that unreasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Defensa 821 in November at the beginning of our 8 week trip across South America. What a find it was. Juan and Marcela were the perfect hosts. There help and advice were priceless. Juan even arranged tickets for a Boca Juniors Soccer game.He supports River Plate so this really was going beyond the call of duty. We loved the conversations we had with him over breakfast.
The B & B is in the heart of San Telmo in a perfect location. Walking distance (I am in my Sixties) to Plaza de Mayo, Puerto Madeiro and the Subte Station. The famous San Telmo Sunday Market is right on the door step, Plaza Dorrego is three blocks away. It really feels like the heart of Buenos Aires and there is always something going on. One night we came home and there was a parade of 40 Uruguayan drum bands going by our window. There are literally dozens of cafes , restaurants and bars within a few blocks. Neighborhood felt really safe and we were comfortable walking around both day and night. So much so that we spent most of our week in BA in San Telmo. We will definitely return to Defensa 821.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very fantastic location. On Defensa with amazing view to the Fair of Sunday. Owners, the best!!!
Recommend because is close to Plaza de la Mayo, Puerto Madeiro, Recoleta and Boca. Chic and basic!!!

Breakfast nice and very good "Media Lunas"

Room Tip: 301, top of the house...next to Terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our Hosts, Juan & Marcela were so friendly and we've again (after our visit in the last year) had a warm welcome despite of our late Arrival at 9pm. We've got the Room at the very top of the House, with a nice, separated terrace overlooking Defensa Street. Breakfast consists of Sandwiches de Miga and Medialunas, Coffe and Juice, so we've had everything we needed to start the day in BsAs. Room was very clean and the large Bed sleeps you very well. We will definetely go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

An amazing B+B in a great location close to all the markets, shops and cafes. The owners were wonderful, told us all the great spots to go and made us feel like part of the family – we stayed over the Christmas period and had a traditional Argentinean Christmas with the owners. The rooms are stunning, beautifully decorated and very clean.

We extended our stay here as we didn’t want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The ownwers itself attend and the front desk and prepare the breakfest for the clients. The ambient is familiar and the " media luna " is delicious. The Location is perfect for those who wants to be close (few blocks) from downtown. It is also near to Puerto Madero and Caminito. There are buses lines who passes in front door, and can conect you to anywhere in Buenos Aires. If you want to go to a River Plate´s game, ask the enthusiastic fan and Defensa 821 owner Juan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D821 B&b? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D821 B&b

Address: Defensa 0821, San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1065AAO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO)) WE ARE NOT A HOTEL. Defensa 821 is ideally located within one of the most traditional neighborhoods, which give Buenos Aires its indisputable flair. Here you can enjoy the wonderful colonial architecture, lavish history and unique art, which make San Telmo so culturally rich. Wake your spirit up and embark on a grand journey with D821 to discovery the tradition of art, music, history and literature intertwined with style and comfort. Our idea, only four rooms...chic & basic! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D821 B&b, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.