We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy boutique hotel in Palermo district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BA Sohotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BA Sohotel to your Saves list
BA Sohotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paraguay 4485, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Trendy boutique hotel in Palermo district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This new modern boutique hotel is located in a very good location, close to the subway (50 cents one way to Centro, Oblisque, Cathedral and safe), and buses and taxis at the front door and just a few blocks away from many trendy stores and restaurants.
The reception staff speak English and are very helpful and friendly. Staff are attentive and restaurant attached has some excellent tapas and sidewalk seating to enjoy alfresco dining. Breakfast was included with the room and was average. They need to get some cereal bowls.
Rooms are large, with a nice balcony to enjoy some late afternoon sun, which can also be done on the terrace pool and hot tub area.
The doors for the rooms are not overly sound proof. While the patio doors are very sound proof and solid to keep out any street noise.
This is high value for your money in a safe area. We will return here the next time we come.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors if you want a view and some late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    97
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
103
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in December 2012 - the hotel is located in the middle of the Palermo district, which is great for bars and restaurants in the evening, though there wasnt much going on during the day and you will need to travel if you want the bigger shopping areas.

The hotel appears to be very new, and is decorated in a modern style (lots of grey, white, red and chrome etc.) - breakfast is served in the restaurant on the ground floor and was buffet style - we found the selection a bit average in comparison to American breakfasts, but it was consistent with nearly every other breakfast we saw in Argentina. Reception were helpful when asked to help out, but werent overly proactive in volunteering their services.

The room itself claimed to have two queen beds - in my opinion, the beds were actually just double sized - I am of average height (5'11" in old money) and my legs were hanging off the end of the bed, which was also very hard. On the first day the hot water wasnt working in the shower - in my book, the two things you have to get right in a hotel are 1) comfy bed, and 2) powerful, hot shower, so unfortunately it was a fail on both.

Loads of TV channels which I assume is the norm in BA - there was no laundry service.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a King Bed - the neighbourhood is uninspiring, so the views from each room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas, at the start of our South America trip, and were both very impressed by the level of service we received. The reception staff were all friendly, welcoming and always on hand to offer their advice and tips on what to see & do in BA. The room was modern and clean with a nice balcony and right next to the terrace pool area. The pool was a welcome break from the afternoon heat after a day of sight seeing! The hotel is situated in the Palermo soho area and is a great place to enjoy a casual stroll while checking out the trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Our only (slight) complaint is that the rooms don't have great soundproofing so you may get disturbed by noise guests returning to their rooms at night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have stayed in BA sohotel for 3 nights in Dec/Jan. Evrything was absolutely perfect. From check-in (we got a welcome drink as soon as we arrived, had our luggage brought up to our room, hotel staff showed us around) through our entire stay. Rooms are very big, beds huuuuge and very comfortable. Windows have double glasses so rooms are quiet, which is something hard to find in Palermo. Location is excellent, just a very short walk from all the shops, restaurants and subway. Staff was extremely friendly, professional and helpful with no exception. The jaccuzzi and small pool on 1st fllor is a nice bonus. Also very tasteful decoration with lots of arts in the hotel an rooms.
I can't recommend this hotel enough - everything was perfect (and God knows that when there's a tiniest flaw, I will find it and tell:-). Well done, BA sohotel, and thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My 7th time in B.A, and first time in this hotel. And I wasn't dissappointed!!

Friendly staff, HUGE Rooms compared to similar hotels in the area, decent wifi (free), good beds, small nice balconies and a good pool/spa area. I've stayed in a lot of nice hotels in Palermo, but this one might have been the best so far, and it is way cheaper than the other ones I've stayed in.

It's a very new and modern hotel, which I really liked. Will definately go back. Great location by the way, close to everything in Palermo Soho.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Your neck will be so sore from the hard pillows, you'll really need the jacuzzi tub in room and the thick bathrobes would be nice if they weren't tailored to munchkins. Rooms were roomy and clean. No computers for the guests and if you are in B.A. on a Sunday or holiday, there are no internet cafes available. The swimming pool would maybe fit a few chihuahuas and the bathrooms were obviously designed by someone who had never used one. Magic Johnson would have to stretch to reach the towel racks and the half glass shower door guaranteed a floor flood. But can't say enough good things about the staff (front desk, doormen, waiters, housekeepers) who are genuine and couldn't do enough for us when we caught colds - even running to the nearby pharmacy for us. After a week, felt like family. And the Palermo Soho district is a treat, especially at night with the trees lit up and chic outdoor cafes - familes, lovers out on the street. Just watch your step as the sidewalks are all torn up, garbage and dog poop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Got a really friendly welcome and were able to check into our room early. Room was big and had a balcony.

The reception staff, especially Deborah, were so helpful. She sorted polo tickets for us in advance. Then while we stated they helped book tango shows and gave us advice on what to do and where to eat.

The breakfast is ok. There's a guy who looks over the room all the time which is a bit off putting and he's not very friendly. They offer cereal but there aren't any bowls or cold milk, so you have to have hot milk and eat out of a cup. It's a bit random.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, it didn't look too special and there are so many great restaurants within walking distance. One if the best and closest was Las Pizarras, 2298 Thames St. Cheap but amazing food, go before 9 or after 10.30 to make sure you get a table.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BA Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Sohotel

Address: Paraguay 4485, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BA Sohotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Palermo Soho neighborhood, eclectic, unique design, with bright and spacious rooms and personalized service: Our goal is to make your stay unforgettable.33 comfortable rooms, equipped with the latest technology. All the rooms and lobby have paintings of the recognized artist Renata Schussheim.Set forth in the common areas serigraphs by artists Antonio Berni and Carlos Alonso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BA Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BA Sohotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.