We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little over the top...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Ventana Tango Show

La Ventana Tango Show
Balcarce 425 | Monserrat, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Montserrat)
11 4331 0217
Website
Improve this listing
Visit La Ventana Tango Show like an insider
$115*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a traditional Argentinean tango show with an appetizing South American dinner.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A little over the top...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Slightly dramatic for my taste but I did like the ambience/atmosphere of the place. The dances seemed to over dramatize while just going through the motions. I actually liked it that they threw a gaucho sequence in there but I can see how this would turn some people off. The bit with Evita singing "Don't cry for me, Argentina" of of a faux balcony with huge Argentine flags waving underneath her was funny but probably not in the way the establishment wanted it to be.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    176
    54
    19
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Food was only average ... show was way too long ... wasn't the experience we expected ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This particular night out in Buenos Aires was touted as a highlight ... but I am not sure it turned out that way. We were part of a tour ... so this event was 'pre-chosen' by our travel agent in California.
The building and decor was quite interesting ... lots to see ... we walked downstairs to the 'showroom/restaurant'. After ordering our meal, lots of wine was brought to table and then the meal. Orders were mixed up ... several folk in our party didn't get theirs until well into the show ... and, frankly, I could only eat a bite or two of my steak .. very hard and tasteless, which was a disappointment, since steak is supposed to be the very best in Argentina ...
the show was fine for the first hour and a half, but it just went on and on and on ... just when we thought it was done, they would roll out another dancer or three ... I actually liked the bolo performer and his band and I enjoyed the tribute to Evita ... and then more and more tango. So long .....
Did not appreciate having the tip plate circulated and almost pushed at us. We had paid the tip when we paid for our trip ... it seemed almost rude.
We were not allowed to take photos of any of the performances ... just outside and upstairs.
Would I go again if I just had a few days in Buenos Aires? No, I don't think so ... but that is just my taste. Others might find it an excellent adventure!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

On a previous visit to this venue the tango show was fantastic and really captured the emotion of the dance and the music. On a return visit we were a bit disappointed. The tango sequences were good but there was a real mix of what we considered to be unrelated stuff. Not quite sure why they felt the need to have ¨Dont cry for me Argentina¨ as a dramatic piece or the spaghetti western style music ala Clint Eastwood. Still the gaucho performer was excellent but the show was not as billed really so look into it before you book. Also they served absolutely gruesome wine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Skip it...spend your money elsewhere!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We attended a Friday night "tango show" with dinner included.  We did quite a bit of research ahead of time and settled on La Ventana based on their website and other reviews.  We came away extremely disappointed in what we got for the money ($140 USD per person).  Here are our takeaways for your consideration:

1) Don't buy the dinner!  The food quality is poor, in line with what you'd get at a low-budget restaurant.  We had the fish (bad) and the steak (passable) as our entrees.  They are serving 200+ meals in a short time and you can tell.  If you must see the show, save your $60 per person and eat at a real restaurant prior.

2) Calling it a tango show is a stretch!  The show is really more of an ensemble program that looks at a lot of other Argentinian culture.  The show itself started late (closer to 10:30 than 10) and went on for about an hour and 40 minutes.  Of that time I would estimate 45 minutes was devoted to tango split between the beginning and end of the show while the other time (more than half of the program!) was devoted to a musical/video tribute to Evita Perron and guacho-style music and dancing.  While these other elements were well-produced, it was a large and unexpected deviation from what we expected out of a "tango show" and ultimately left us disappointed.

3) Seating is important!  If you're going as a couple do your best to be seated in the upper balconies...it appeared to be the best view looking down on the stage and it was much more peaceful than the main floor.  We had the worst possible seats even though we arrived near the beginning of the seating (~8:15)...directly on a serving aisle.  While this was OK during the meal, it was horrible during the show as service never really stopped.  There were easily 100+ passes by the wait staff during the show that obstructed the view each time.  That and an extremely tall and big-headed customer at a table directly in front of us on the same ground level left a good portion of the show obstructed through the duration.

4) Service was bad!  In addition to the continuous passing of wait staff during the show bumping me and obstructing the view, the service overall didn't live up to the quality expectation.  Two examples:  a) our waiter poured a glass from our bottle of wine into an already used water glass belonging to other customers, never bothering to replace it, and b) we had a medical emergency about half way through the show at an adjacent table and instead of stopping the show we were forced to deal with continuous disruption while the staff and ultimately EMTs dealt with it in place.   You really come away with the feeling that you are cows in the cattle car being pushed through on the way to slaughter.

5) No Bottle of champagne!  It was promised on the website but never delivered.

I'd strongly recommend you stay away from La Ventana.  A nice alternative if you're looking for good tango on the cheap is at a nice restaurant on the main street in El Camanito in La Boca called La Vieja Rotiseria...better food for reasonable prices with great seats to a free, continuous, and high quality tango show.  If you want a big production show, try a different one than LV.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Avoid - Total rip-off!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were given details of this Tango show by our hotel. Having paid a whopping USD140 for entry we expected a spectacular show and a lovely meal to accompany it. The show was fine but the meal and the service absolutely awful!! We had hardly sat down and the waiter came rushing to take our drink and wine order. We had just got our Margaritas and even before the first sips were taken, the waiter rushed in with the red wine which he then expected us to taste!!

My major gripe was not about the haste in which all our meals were then served but the appalling way in which the main course was handled. Two members of our party were vegetarians and had ordered the Ravioli which was the only option for them on the menu. When the waiter bought the 2 ravioli's to our table, we noticed that one of them was not the ravioli with the vegetarian filling but pasta made with mozzarella and ham. The waiter realised that he had made a mistake and had given our ravioli to the lady at the next table. She had already started to eat the ravioli dish as she had not noticed that she had the wrong meal. He rushed across to the next table and lifted the plate from underneath the lady and replaced it with the mozzarella and ham filled pasta. He then hurries along into the kitchen and seconds later brings us the same Ravioli plate which the lady had already started eating. We only realised that this plate had already been served to someone else as I was watching the rushing around that the waiter was doing.

The whole episode was so badly handled and even after all this the waiter reminded us 4 times during the show, that the entry fee did not include his tip.

The overall experience is that the food is served too quickly. You barely get a chance to finish one course before the other one is rushed in front of you.

I do not recommend this restaurant, very overpriced with awful food and a service to match it. Go to the show but definitely avoid the dinner!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ventana Tango Show also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Ventana Tango Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ventana Tango Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.