We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Ventana Tango Show

La Ventana Tango Show
Balcarce 425 | Monserrat, Buenos Aires, Argentina (El Centro)
11 4331 0217
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #28 of 294 attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Dinner Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a traditional Argentinean tango show with an appetizing South American dinner.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Where do I start? Ventana cram you in to a small underground space with 2cm between your table and the next one and begin by serving what I can only describe as the worst meal I have ever (attempted to) eat. I could stomach about 3 spoonfuls in total of the onion soup (they'd thrown in so much cornflour last minute that all you could taste was floury lumps), pork chop and yams (I think the reason they charge so much is because they've invested in a high tech machine that literally sucks the flavour out of root vegetables. It's the only explanation) and creme caramel (I could make this when I was 3. Ventana served me a viscous lumpy tastless mess), all washed down with the rancid wine. Then the tango started. To give them thier dues, the dancers were ok. What we saw of them. The rest was traditional music, a guy twirling some ropes and, the piece de resistance, a flag waving, terrible rendition of 'Don't cry for me Argentina'. A man sitting at the table next to us collapsed half way through (probably hoping to escape) but the show just continued. Don't go near this place unless you want to pay $140 for inedible food, throat-burning wine and average local entertainment. This is not a tango show - you get about 30 min in total. Laughably bad

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    116
    35
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very talented, professional tango show. I especially loved the musicians - could have listening to them even longer! The dancing was superb. Did not pay for dinner - drinks were included and transporation from Recoleta for about US $100.00.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“found this overly commercial”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thhis venue was recommended by my hotel and got good trip advisor reviews but my friend and I were very disappointed. the whole thing had a very hard, commercial edge to it. It is held in quite an atmospheric building and it ws quite smallish so good views of the stage but as soon as we got in they were trying to get us to buy expensive cocktails in addition to the expensive dinner package we had already purchased. They were very stingy with the wine at dinner, which didn't really matter as it was cheap and nasty, the worst wine i tasted in the whole of my Buenos Aires trip. There was also much less tango than I had anticipated and too much pipe music which I found boring. there was a very entertaining display of boleadores, though. Overall, I could not recommend the meal package at all, shockingly overpriced, but the show might be worth seeing if you are interested in the non-tango aspects such as the Andean pipes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very over priced, meal edible , wine rough. On arrival offered cocktails not included in the price, staff not very attentive and unless you were both drinking the same wine no bottle left on table, so went thirsty between trying to attract a wine waiter . Show was good but went to local music and dance away from tango. Any extra payments at the end of night, if bank card used it took over half an hour and chasing the waiter to find out why they still had your card, before they informed you they needed you to sign at the reception desk. No apology complete lack of interest in customers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal and Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked this show as part of my stay in Buenos Aires. I was picked up at my hotel at 7:30 to arrive a little before 8. The meal was three courses served over 2 hours. I found the portions to be large, too large to finish in fact, but quite tasty. Unfortunately dinner took entirely too long at 2 hours, especially since the show is another 2 hours on top of this. The show is entertaining, but you cannot take pictures which was a shame. I enjoyed all the acts, although I think I would have enjoyed it more had I seen the show on a shorter day. I had flown in that morning and I was very tired by midnight, so I recommend saving this for mid-trip. Towards the end of the show the waiters try and sell you tango pictures, CDs, and DVDs as souvenirs. A great idea, but they do it during the show which is distracting and I just waved them off because I wanted to watch the show, not examine these items. They should sell them after. Overall, worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ventana Tango Show also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Ventana Tango Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ventana Tango Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.