We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet retreat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Garden

Japanese Garden
Av. Casares & Av Figueroa Alcorta, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
11/4804-4922
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$187*
and up
Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour...
Ranked #27 of 477 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A tranquil Zen garden complete with fish ponds and an arched bridge even offers a traditional tea house.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

you can almost forget there's a busy city with wide boulevards congested with traffic outside. avoid the overly expensive restaurant and then make your way to the rose garden nearby.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,457
    1,155
    352
    64
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The garden is OK but I don't think it was worth the visit. There are much better gardens all over the world. The place is kept clean but it is fairly small and doesn't have any memorable attractions. It is also a bit out of the city center.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“below average garden”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been to a lot of japanese gardens so perheps we are a bit biased. If you have never been to one, then you should check it out. If you have had that experience before this will be underwhelming.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“perfect small relaxation spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

we love this garden, it is on a smaller side but oh so peaceful, tranquil. Our kids like to go there to feed fish, I like to relax and admire beauty. There also is a a restaurant but food is so so. The entrance is really inexpensive and all kids under 12 are free.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This Japanese garden was just okay, it was probably a 20 minute stroll all the way around. When we went it was absolutely packed so it was hard to see all the attractions. We actually traveled to Japan and were very impressed by authentic Japanese gardens but this lacked certain character and wasn't too well maintained. The water was dirty and we couldn't see any koi fish, other than the occasional one that would come up really close to the surface. I was actually surprised to learn that this is the biggest Japanese garden in the world outside of Japan., didn't seem like it. I think there are a lot better things to do in Buenos Aires!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Garden also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.