We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See for Art Lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)

Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)
Av Figueroa Alcorta 3415, Buenos Aires C1425CLA, Argentina (Palermo)
54-11-4808-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour
Ranked #5 of 497 things to do in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This not-for-profit art museum and cultural center first opened its doors in 2001 with the mission to promote contemporary Latin American artists.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Must See for Art Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited the MALBA during our recent visit to Buenos Aires and loved the broad range of representative South American art. Highly recommended.

Our only issue was with the onsite restaurant. We had heard it was a good option for lunch. We had to find ad clear our own table and find our own menus. After about 10 minutes one of our party found a server and asked them to take our order. After another 15-20 minutes without getting service we walked out. Unfortunate since there are not too many other lunch options close by.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,965
    1,444
    335
    61
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I wouldn't say Buenos Aires has a lot to offer in the art department but the fantastic permanent exhibition here is well worth a visit, I spent a highly enjoyable hour strolling around. the crazy bench alone makes it worth the trip!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspiring visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great architecture and an inspiring exhibition. You can even get good food in the cafe. Certainly worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san rafael, ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great art, perfect size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved MALBA. Amazing light and architecture. The art was wonderful and the size perfect...doesn't take more than an hour of your day. We hit it on the way to the Buenos Aires Zoo...also highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Glad She Made Me Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The day we went was the most beautiful day of our entire stay in Buenos Aires and the last place I wanted to be was in a museum. But- WOW-this former palace was extraordinary and gave a picture of what upper class life was like in BA in the early 20th Century. One thing not to be missed is Croque Madame, the museum's cafe. The food was incredible and worth a trip itself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA) also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.