We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad She Made Me Go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)

Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)
Av Figueroa Alcorta 3415, Buenos Aires C1425CLA, Argentina (Palermo)
54-11-4808-6500
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 294 attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This not-for-profit art museum and cultural center first opened its doors in 2001 with the mission to promote contemporary Latin American artists.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Glad She Made Me Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The day we went was the most beautiful day of our entire stay in Buenos Aires and the last place I wanted to be was in a museum. But- WOW-this former palace was extraordinary and gave a picture of what upper class life was like in BA in the early 20th Century. One thing not to be missed is Croque Madame, the museum's cafe. The food was incredible and worth a trip itself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,286
    614
    160
    33
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Excellent collection, beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the MALBA on our list, but never made it a priority, until we were dying for something to do to escape the 43' heat. An excellent decision, the MALBA is full of well-curated shows, and a fantastic permanent collection. They also provided english translations of the curator's notes which was very nice, and much appreciated (and lacking in other museos in BA).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting Look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A few pieces will really interesting. Most interesting of all was the realization of how derivative New World art can be. The building is lovely.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“LOVED it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The building of the museum is glorious and the collection features the best latin american artists of the 20th century. I fell in love with Antonio Berni here. The cafe is excellent; a little pricey but worth it for the quality of food and wine list as well as the atmosphere and the service which are both excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“modern museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It pays a photo of its interior and exterior, beautiful construction. The galleries didn't apeal much to me

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA) also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA) to your Saves list