We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)
Av Figueroa Alcorta 3415, Buenos Aires C1425CLA, Argentina (Palermo)
54-11-4808-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 320 Attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This not-for-profit art museum and cultural center first opened its doors in 2001 with the mission to promote contemporary Latin American artists.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's always a great pleasure to visit this Museum, if you have time, go to the restaurant for a complete day!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,988
    984
    247
    47
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must See for Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The building itself is a must see for its interesting modern architecture. The art is good too especially the wood bench that wraps the entire museum. The cafe food is very good but service was slow.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent and unique museum, in a great building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I loved this museum - I can't remember the last time I found a collection to be so interesting and memorable. I have very little familiarity with Latin American artists beyond Mexico, and so I found it fascinating, and loved the mixture of different styles and media. It's not a huge museum, so totally doable without getting tired out, and the building itself is also great - I was in love with the benches that were works of art themselves. The gift store was also excellent, with a charming bookstore hidden downstairs, and the cafe was good too! I think Bellas Artes gets more press, but if you only go to one museum in BA, make it MALBA!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful building with impressive Sth Amerian modern art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A great example of impressive architecture housing beautiful modern art by South American artists. enjoyed seeing Frida Kahlo self portrait too. Interesting visit and glad we did.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Museum seemed unimpresssive, restaurant horrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stopped here for information and a beer / snack. The waiters were unattentive to put it nicely, just RUDE to be more realistic. No one would look at us for quite some time, and when we finally stopped to ask someone if they would like us to seat ourselves they hardly even responded, and referred us to "a guy up front" who was not present. When we sat on a sofa where others were served we were litterally ignored and stepped over clumsily three times until our table mates (who we did not know) called the waiter back and asked him to serve us. He responded something along the lines of "not yet" because he had other people to serve. We just left. Don't bother.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA) also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.