We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Telmo

San Telmo
Carlos Calvo esquina com Defensa, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Almagro)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$156*
and up
Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour...
Ranked #25 of 234 Attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Architectural landmarks in the city’s oldest neighborhood have been restored, and this revitalized area is distinctly artistic, with cafes, antique shops, cobblestone streets and lots of artists and dancers.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

walking around San Telmo on a Sunday is one of those must-do things in Buenos Aires, the market, the people, the food..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    1,151
    302
    49
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Try going midweek for a pleasant stroll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I went on a Wednesday and was afraid of missing the Sunday market. But I found it very enjoyable to have a leisurely stroll without a lot of people. The artisans and shop owners actually conversed with us in a friendly way. Probably my favorites were la defense, the San telco mercado, plaza santo Domingo and an awesome vintage shop off of plaza San Domingo. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
211 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“True Bohemian ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A different part of buenos aires with boutique shops and lots of antiques available. Great place to hang around at night on weekends. Lovely fair in sunday mornings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If you like antique fairs, you'll like this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'm a little.... so-so when it comes to antique fairs. But I decided to go to San Telmo regardless, and it was definitely enjoyable. There are a lot of historic houses in the area (albeit a bit run down), and miles and miles of stalls on Defensa. The plaza itself is also crammed packed. It's the fairly standard antiques fair stuff - I'm not entirely sure if there was anything particularly unique or different.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic antiques market but much more too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I went to this district twice, once on a Sunday to see the amazing antiques market, it was amazing and there were so many beautiful shops as well as stalls. Never seen so much gorgeous stuff in one place - wish I wasn't travelling! I went back a few days later to El Zanjon which was an extraordinary experience - a restored building where once the rivers ran through, tunnels, beautifully restored, fantastic guides, outstanding resotration. Add it to your MUST DO list in BA for a unqiue experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Telmo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Telmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.