We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well it's the 3rd time we've stayed here!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abasto Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abasto Hotel to your Saves list
Abasto Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Corrientes 3190, Buenos Aires 1193, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“well it's the 3rd time we've stayed here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We've stayed here 3 times as its close to our friends houses. Its clean, safe and has a good breakfast. As a point of interest all our Argentinian friends consider it the place you go to for your wedding night!.

Sadly no where is safe to walk in BA at night so all should be cautious but security is good here. Most of the front desk staff speak English the restuarant staff possibly do but can be selective about it - they can be slightly grumpy which is the weak point of the hotel.

The pool was closed for some reason while we were there.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    94
    46
    13
    9
See reviews for
54
62
13
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West Michigan USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I travel occasionally to Buenos Aires on business and each time I travel I stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located right across the street from a large multi-level shopping plaza with stores, restaurants and movie theatres. The hotel used to be Holiday Inn Select back before 2002. I stayed there when it was a Holiday Inn. Now it has a tango theme and is well maintained with a very friendly staff. Internet in rooms is via cable and is good speed. It is reasonable in price -- about 8 to 9 dollars per 24 hr. period. Many of the bathrooms have a jacuzzi tub with jets. I was able to book this ahead during a trade show and the value for the price was very reasonable. In the low 100's. per night. Breakfast is included in rate. I will stay here again the next time I come to Bs.As.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Maybe the hotel is not 5 starts, and just 4, the location is pretty nice at day. I say this because it is a office, commerce area of Buenos Aires and in the night becomes really isolated and dark, so you have to keep the cautions that you normaly have in any big city.

We were there for 6 days, and really enjoyed ourselves, the service is great, the room was nice, and the staff is for really friendly and helpfull, I have been there in Buenos Aires 5 times, in 5 starts hotels, and I deeply recommend Abasto Plaza, maybe is not the more luxurious, but I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

The location is awfull, even though you are right across the Abasto Plaza Mall. You cannot walk around safely after 6 pm. Service was really poor and the hotel staff was anything but helpfull or friendly. The rooms are old and dirty. Breakfast was also very bad with unfriendly staff as well. I definetly do not recomend this hotel! Very disapointing experience.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed here the last two days of our 5 week honeymoon. We had travelled across Sth Amercia staying in hotels ranging from 1 to 5 stars and our stay at the Abasto was by far the worst experience. Definately not 5 stars!!!

The staff were not helpful and completely uninterested in providing any assistance. The food served was dreadful quality and not made fresh. The facilities such as the gym and the pool are very basic.

There are much cheaper and better quality hotels available throughout Buenos Aires.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — The attitude of the staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo, sp, brasil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

This hotel is right across the road from the Abasto Shopping. The room is big, clean, with great view. The staffs are not so helpful. We had to carry our own luggages while check-out because there were many groups of tourist.

  • Liked — the view.
  • Disliked — service.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stayed at the Abasto with our 4 months old daughter and found the stay completely at our satisfaction. The staff was very polite and helpfull and we had no problem taking our daughter with us to the restaurant for dining. The tango show was OK, but being born in BsAs myself I tend to dislike tourist-tango anyhow. The food at the restaurant was OK, but nothing special. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone really, but be aware that the location is not the best (ie. non-centrical).

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abasto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abasto Hotel

Address: Av. Corrientes 3190, Buenos Aires 1193, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abasto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first five stars hotel inspired by the Argentine Tango theme, a unique and distinguished place located at the historical neighbourhood of Abasto. Internationally recognized, Abasto Hotel is remarkable for its own style, which combines the excellence in service, the elegance in decoration, and the friendly professional assistance of the staff in order to make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abasto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abasto Plaza Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abasto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.