We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, but worn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristoforo Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cristoforo Colombo to your Saves list
Hotel Cristoforo Colombo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fray Justo Santa Maria de Oro 2747, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #352 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Pressbaum, Austria
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, but worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

The hotel was booked by the organizers of a medical congress. It is situated in Palermo, a lively neighbourhood with lots of bars and restaurants. The lobby made a welcoming impression and the staff at the front desk was very friendly. After exiting from the elevator you think you are in another hotel. The carpet on the stairs is partly torn, in some places there is plaster on the floor as some walls crumble a little. The room was spartan but clean. The wooden floor showed deep scratches, the window could not be completely closed. The gym on the 16th floor with a nice view had rather new Life Fitness equipment. Breakfast was fine in a refurbished restaurant. Wifi is free!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    84
    36
    12
See reviews for
75
44
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The good:
1. Location 1 minute from the convention center
2. Location, 3. Location

The bad:
1. During some periods of times of the day, eg afternoons, there are no hot water for a shower. I left the water running a few times for over 10 minutes only to find the bathroom floor flooded, as the shower curtains are remote from being helpful, and the water were still cold. Pay attention as you shower when there are hot water, for short bouts of cold water.
2. As promised there is a strong WIFI signal in the room. However it is not always the we were able to connect to this signal. The WIFI In the lobby works well and fast.
3. We heard the shower/toilet pipes in the room next to ours as if the walls were sound transparent.
The...
Breakfast OK. Do not expect much quality but variety and quantity were satisfactory.
Desk staff very nice but could hardly solve these problems.

An important tip: less then 200 meters from the hotel there is a small and very very cheap laundry. Drop off at 9 am. Get it back nicely packed at 2pm. Many small supermarkets and food shops around. A big supermarket 10 min walk. Subway station about 12 minutes walk with the line leading towards main city attractions. Crowded but very efficient.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

old, tired, in need of a lot of attention.
if you can stay here cheaply, for maybe two night max, then it could be acceptable.
but if you can afford a little more, there are so many other better choices in Buenos Aires.
Although this hotel is, technically, in Palermo .. it's not in the bit of Palermo you want to be in.

Breakfast is adequate - there is a half-decent gym at the top. but overall it's a bit manky.

Room Tip: find a another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCC, Reservations Manager at Hotel Cristoforo Colombo, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and regret if we did not reach your expectations.

With your feedback we can give the excellence we seek every day.

Best regards,
Alejandra Sebastiá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We chose this hotel for a one night stopover in BA because of its proximity to the domestic airport.
The receptionist spoke excellent English and was very helpful.
The room was spacious with a separate lounge and bedroom.
The floors are hard faux parquetry. We had room 1001 and were awoken by somebody in the room above wearing heels, either packing or practicing their tango steps from 0500 - 0600.
Earplugs may be necessary.
There is a general store on the immediate corner and ATMs about 2 blocks away. The breakfast was adequate. The staff arranged a taxi to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCC, Reservations Manager at Hotel Cristoforo Colombo, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks you so much for your feedback. You are invited to visit us again if you return to Buenos Aires.

Sinceraly,

Alejandra Sebastiá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It´s the best option when travelling with kids. I stayed 4 nights with my husband and 3 kids. The apartment had 2 separate rooms, 2 bathrooms and a dinning room with a terrace. Windows have blinds which is great for the children´s safety.
Location is excelent. Palermo is one of the most beautiful neighbourhoods in Buenos Aires. It has a lot of green spaces. The hotel is located a few blocks from Avenida Santa Fé where you can find several restaurants, fast food places and stores.

The best: comfortable beds, spacious rooms, location and price.
The worst: additional and high parking service cost, poor variety of breakfast and small area. On Sunday morning we had to have breakfast standing up because there were no tables available at the rush hour (10:00).

In summary, the quality-price ratio is so good and the rooms were so big and comfortable for families that we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCC, Reservations Manger at Hotel Cristoforo Colombo, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Marcela,

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, y nos pone muy contentos saber que ha tenido una estadía satisfactoria.

Esperamos pronto su regreso.
Saluda atte,

Alejandra Sebastiá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

At first sight the room looked very old, but a closer look revealed some renovations. New bed and tv, fresh paint on the walls and some new decorations. Bathrooms were old and small, but worked fine. Place was clean, breakfast was good. Reception staff was very helpfull, and spoke good English. Location is great, nice neighbourhood and close to subway.
We booked a room for 4, and actually got 2 interconnecting rooms, each witch their own bathroom, 1 with a separate kitchen (no plates or cooking utensils, so not very usable), 1 with a separate living room with kitchenette (again not usable). Considering the price we paid for this, absolutely value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCC, Reservations Manager. at Hotel Cristoforo Colombo, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for detailing the renovation that the hotel is
currently performing. We have ceased to be an apart hotel, kitchenette are for water heating, cooking is not allowed in them.
We hope to receive them in your next visit to the city.

Alejandra Sebastiá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This Hotel has a good location at a reasonable price in the Palermo district. Within walking distance of restaurants and shopping and the subway. Taxi from airport is $50 US. Good air conditioning which was critical due to high outside temps. They advertise wi-fi and give you Logon on info but we could never get connected, they said due to "problems with the internet provider". We had a spacious suite with 2 rooms (bedroom, livingroom w/kitchenette/frig/sofabed but no plates or utensils) and balcony but the 2 sliding glass doors wouldn't lock due to faulty design! We had 3 people and stayed 4 mites but they left us only 2 towels every day and we had to go to the front desk daily to get more.

Room Tip: Get a room high up since sliders don't lock
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCC, Reservations Manager at Hotel Cristoforo Colombo, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments. We are pleased to have met your expectations
With your feedback we can give the excellence we seek every day.

Best regards,

Alejandra Sebastiá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristoforo Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristoforo Colombo

Address: Fray Justo Santa Maria de Oro 2747, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cristoforo Colombo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel is located in a privileged place right in the heart of the Palermo park: in the same block as "La Rural" Convention Center, walking distance from the US Embassy, Buenos Aires' Golf Club, Polo courts, Hippodrome, Planetarium Galileo Galilei, Zoo, Japanese Garden and Sivori Museum, just minutes from the Metropolitan Airport. It combines an excellent location to enjoy the greener area of the capital of South America with the comfort and privacy of an apartment, along with the friendly and warm of our staff. We offer 160 rooms totaly equiped with air conditioned, safe deposit boxes and Wi-Fi. The hotel has an outdoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi, massages, playground for children and a gym located at the 17th floor with panoramic views of the city. Exclusive floors for smokers are available. Guests can enjoy Argentinean and Mediterranean cuisine at the "Puerto de Palos" Restaurant. At "Timon" Bar a whole variety of drinks and snacks. Room Service is also available until 11:00pm. For successful meetings, we also offer comfortable meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cristoforo Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Cristoforo Colombo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristoforo Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.