We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels great every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1555 Malabia House

Save Saved
You added 1555 Malabia House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
1555 Malabia House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malabia 1555 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feels great every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It is a small boutique hotel with charm and people that care. I have been there twice, always very helpful attendants. This is my story there. Once, I arrived at 4 or 5 am in the morning after the Milongas of BA, breakfast is up to 10 am. I woke up around noon, and when I went to the kitchen and I was pleasantly surprised, they had prepared my breakfast, the whole table all for myself, with fruits, fresh coffee, eggs, croissants (facturitas). It felt like home when you were a kid and your mom had the food ready when you wake up :). I could not believe it and I never forget. Remember, it is always good to be nice to the people that serve us too and make them comfortable as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    97
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
209
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

That's my third time in Malabia House. Again, a lovely stay. The staff is very courteous, the location is great, breakfast is better than the average. All together makes Malabia House a great option.
As cons, the rooms are a bit tight, with little furniture.
Definitely, worths a stay, specially with the benefits-costs ratio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had such a lovely visit, a 5 night stay at the Malabia House - something came together with the kind hospitality and friendliness of the staff, little interior pocket gardens and this beautiful area of BA - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I often complain about customer service in Buenos Aires. It is just not something you can rely on, unfortunately. However, at 1555 Malabia, the service was very good. I must agree with other reviewers in that the breakfast and area/location are great. However, it is possible to find something better in the same price range...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for a week at Casa Malabia back in 2007. This place was very charming. Lots of attention to detail - very helpful staff. They made you feel right at home. A couple of times we sat in the main room sitting back and relaxing from a long day of walking and each time the staff would bring over custom drinks, snacks and appetizers! It was a truly great spot.

I would not recommend it if you are traveling with small children - the rooms are kind of small. But, very clean and a great value.

We talk about this place all the time - we cant wait to visit Argentina again. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, NJ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I hate to write negatively of this place because the people are so nice, the breakfast lovely and the neighborhood just fine. This place may do well for many people and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there. But some may be disappointed and may want to seek something better, so it's best to know that the rooms are tiny and many are windowless and lacking in charm. Although we had everything we needed, we did not love this place. The ceilings are high and lighting is poor. We had numerous tiny ants in our tiny bathroom, but that was corrected when we mentioned it. It is not accessible and you must climb a flight of steps to your room.

Room Tip: We had room number 114, which does not have a window, except one in the tiny bathroom that opens to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week around New Year's with my boyfriend and had such a fabulous time! The hotel could not be in a more perfect location for food and shopping. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Whenever we wanted to venture outside of The Palermo neighborhood, the friendly staff gladly called us a car. The service was excellent and so helpful with suggestions, restaurant recommendations, the best ways to get around, and with giving us insights into Argentine culture. Most of the staff spoke perfect English which was helpful to us as our Spanish was not great. In the afternoons, complimentary snacks and (not complimentary but extremely inexpensive) drinks were served in the common area. The complimentary breakfast buffet was decent, and pretty indicative of what Argentineans eat for breakfast. It mostly consisted of breads, sweet croissants, pound cake, sweet drinkable yogurt, coffee, juices, some cereals, and fruit salad. Eggs were available upon request. Our room was well appointed and comfortable, and the gardens throughout the hotel were charming. Our room did not have an adjoining bathroom, we had to go across the hall about two steps, but we had a key and we were the only ones who used this bathroom. We felt like we got to know the staff and some of the other hotel guests well by the end of our stay, and this place felt like our home away from home, as trite as that sounds. We would definitely go back and recommend this to others highly, especially for the price!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1555 Malabia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1555 Malabia House

Address: Malabia 1555 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#83 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#106 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1555 Malabia House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1555 Malabia House Boutique Hotel is set in a 19th-century building surrounded by restaurants and shops in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood.All accommodations are well-appointed with luxurious furniture and modern amenities, including air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1555 Malabia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1555 Malabia House Hotel Buenos Aires
1555 Malabia Hotel
1555 Malabia Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1555 Malabia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.