We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design Suites and Towers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Design Suites Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Design Suites Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Design Suites Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marcelo T. de Alvear 1683 | Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires 1060AAE, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
King George, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Design Suites and Towers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel was styled in a 1970's Art Deco design. All white walls, no wall hangings, Stainless Steel/Glass furniture.
The café was only open in the morning 0630-1030.
The staff was friendly but not always helpful. They made reservations for us , but the price quoted was wrong, and the pickup time was wrong.

Room Tip: I was in the back room (not facing the street) and had no trouble with noise, but that is with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    148
    63
    32
    19
See reviews for
63
139
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

So the first thing to be clear about is this is never a four star hotel, its two stars at best.

Pro:
- good location
- helpful staff (helped book transfers and entertainment)
- generally clean

Cons:
- Thin walls, between the noise of our neighbours bathroom plumbing and the street it was challenging to sleep
- The jacuzzi pipes were not cleaned and started spitting out bits of dirt and hair
- Breakfast is terrible, self service, no proper eating area (you effectively eat in the lobby at desks in a communal fashion), it's all cold (nothing cooked) and if you want a proper coffee be prepared to wait until a member of staff is available
- On arrival they had issues with their systems and we waited over an hour to check in, no offer was made to us to apologise
- The rooms may appear large but they take minimalism too far! They only have net curtains so the sun will wake you up nice and early. The decor is supposed to be minimalistic but in truth it just appears unfinished

You just need to be aware of what you are buying when you stay here, I expected luxury and contemporary design, I was disappointed.

If you want a good location for shopping however then it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I accidentally booked this hotel online and meant to book the one in Salta. I immediately sent an email stating my mistake. I repeatedly tried calling but no answer and I left multiple messages. If you aren't going to give a refund, at least respond to me and let me know. No communication available with this hotel! I got American Express to check into for me and they also never got the information they needed from them. Thankfully, American Express refunded me my money and is still checking into the matter.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was up all night due to the snoring next door! The walls are so thin you can hear EVERYTHING! I asked for a different room but they couldn't offer me one. It was a disaster!!! I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserves a good review based on their service. We arrived early in the morning after a 20 hours trip and airport hoping we just wanted to take a shower and sleep, I was afraid because I couldn't ask for a early check in before arrival. They didn't had any rooms available, but they managed to clean one ASAP for us.

The reception person made us 2 restaurants recommendations both excellent with fair pricing.

Room was big with a little balcony, and the bathroom disposed with a jacuzzi tub. Bedding was comfortable and my room was in the interior court of the building which made it very calm.

For the location, it is perfect spot to visit, I would definitely come back on my next visit to Bs As.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent one night while on business in BA. Friendly clerk, clean room, good breakfast and convenient location in city center. Bidet ruffled my girl friend's feathers. Quiet, great bed, hot shower and would return. Weird lap pool in lobby designed by architect on dope. No art work in rooms and strange fabric art in lobby. Cold furnishings and a positive attempt at Bauhaus design. Don't forget to ask clerk for money exchange... Better than bank rate.

Room Tip: Go high...9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Marketing Digital at Design Suites Buenos Aires, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My 15 year old daughter, my wife and I recently stayed at the Design Suites Buenos Aires. We booked a triple suite and were very pleasantly surprised! As rather regular family travelers and Tripadvisor users, we realize that much of the review is based on prior expectations. Judging by some of the other reviews of this hotel, we did NOT go into this trip with high expectations. However, we really enjoyed the terrific central location, the bright and very clean room, the respectable breakfast, and the friendly and helpful staff.

The one bedroom suite was large by European standards with a small fridge, microwave and kitchen area -- perfect for small families. The friendly staff offered reasonably priced restaurant, tour, and transportation recommendations. Keep you expectations modest and if you find a good price for this property, I think you will find that it more than meets your needs. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Marketing Digital at Design Suites Buenos Aires, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your trip!

We look forward to see you at the hotel in your next trip.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Suites Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Buenos Aires

Address: Marcelo T. de Alvear 1683 | Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires 1060AAE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Suites Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccable contemporary design, rooms with city views and hydro massage bathtubs can be enjoyed just 1 block from elegant Santa Fe Avenue. The lobby boasts an indoor reflecting pool and an art gallery. Wi-Fi is free.Design Suites Buenos Aires offers 4-star style facilities just 4 blocks from Callao subway station. Guests have free access to a top of the line gym 1 block and a half away.Air conditioned rooms feature designer style furniture with minimalistic inspired decor. There are flat-screen TVs and kitchenettes with microwaves and coffee makers.A full buffet breakfast with croissants and regional jams can be enjoyed in the dining area, decorated with local artwork. The restaurant offers a varied dining menu and room service.The historic Recoleta Cemetery and world renowned Colon Theater are less than 10 blocks away.Jorge Newbery Airport is 3 miles from the Suites. Private parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Design Suites Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites And Towers Hotel Buenos Aires
Design Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Suites Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.