We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wilton Hotel to your Saves list
Wilton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Callao 1162 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires 1023, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Swedes have a word, "lagom", that captures a sense of personal satisfaction with facilities. It translates to 'just right', putting an emphasis on a setting that works and provides a high degree of personal satisfaction. It doesn't mean over the top or ultra-luxurious, but it is functional and comfortable. The Wilton Hotel in Buenos Aires reminded me of this criterion.

The personnel, from front desk to cleaners, were helpful and positive. They paid attention to booking requests and information needs, responding optimally. The room had generous dimensions, comfortable furnishings, and useful devices like a fridge and a safe. Fine bed. Spotlessly clean. The only source of room noise in a room not facing the street came through the door, the sound of other doors opening and closing. However, there were only four rooms per floor in this section of the hotel, so this sole source of noise was hardly continuous. For a cold buffet breakfast, the food was amazingly good in variety and quality - even varying from day to day - including marvelous baked goods. This hotel used to be known as the Wilton Palace, but the room rate is not a king's ransom. I would return without hesitation, as every aspect was just right.

Room Tip: Email the hotel with your request(s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    160
    114
    40
    22
See reviews for
66
160
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Please be ware, don't stay at this hotel!
I made a booking in Kayak.com well before arriving in Buenos Aires. When I arrived to the hotel, the receptionist (Alfredo) was very rude and insisted they needed my credit card details even though it was already payed for. He said I wouldn't be charged but he kept asking for a lot of information (credit card number, expiration date etc..), or he couldn't book me for the night, he was very impolite and insistent about this. It was very late and I couldn't find an other place near by..

I only stayed there for a night, but my credit card was billed twice a higher price than I booked for. I tried calling the hotel to get a refund, but they keep saying the reservation staff is not available, and Kayak wont do anything either. Please avoid staying here, the staff is very rude and wont help you. Not to mention they will bill you more than they say.

Room Tip: Please don't stay here. If you must, dont give your credit card details to the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Ventura, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I highly recommend the Wilton Hotel in Buenos Aires, Argentina located in Callao and Santa Fe (street names)) if you are planning to visit Buenos Aires.
It is not a large hotel so it feels very cozy and welcome.
Can't ask for a better location. Close to restaurants, shops and walking distance from Recoleta and if you like to walk you can walk all the way to the famous Calle Florida.
The staff is friendly, and breakfast is included in the price, and it is not a continental breakfast. It includes cold cuts, eggs and incredible pastries.
The rooms are not big, nor fancy but very clean and good enought to enjoy your stay.
Also, withing walking distance try El Callao restaurant. Great food, clean and good prices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are nosy because Buenos Aires is a busy city, but I rather stay in a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed only two nights at this hotel but we were very comfortable and the breakfast was acceptable. We felt well supported by staff and the cleanliness of rooms was very good. We recommend this hotel if you want to stay close to La Recoleta zone, nearby you can find good restaurants and bars. The Santa Fe Avenue is very crowded and full of life. I would definitely return to this hotel if I visit Buenos Aires in the future

Room Tip: Since Callao is a very crowded and noisy street, I would recommend the non-street rooms and higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hotel was located close to a major shopping avenue, but some distance from the main downtown of Buenos Aires. While clean, the accomodations were not remarkable. The rates were reasonable and this would be a good place to stay on a budget. In fairness, the continental breakfast in the morning was very good. On the other hand, the exercise room was dismal and at least 100 degrees. The shower was good, the bed terrible. Air conditioning only works with a key, so be sure and get an extra so you can leave the AC on when you go out. I would not stay here again unless only here for a short time. Not a place for a holiday stay.

Room Tip: Be sure and get a room facing the street. Otherwise your view is off nothing but rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

On behalf of the hotel and myself I want to ask my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Our team is constantly working to do better every day.

We are working with our team to improve care and provide quality service to our guests.

We hope you give us the opportunity to offer the attention and quality you deserve at a subsequent visit. We remain at your disposal for any assistance you may need before you visit.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The bathroom was clean and good sized, and the air conditioning worked very well (which I really appreciated!).The room was a little dirty, with a stained carpet. The breakfast was good and the staff was helpful. This is the only hotel I stayed at in BA where you had to pay extra for wifi in your room, it was included in the other rooms.
All in all, I think this is a very decent place to stay in this location. There was an ATM right across the street which was great because then I didn't have to carry what I withdrew, I could just carry a small amount put the rest in the room safe right away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

On behalf of the hotel and myself I want to ask my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Our team is constantly working to do better every day.

We are working with our team to improve care and provide quality service to our guests.

The hotel has 24-hour Internet access in the lobby and bar area. We have a Business Center with 2 computers. You can have tea or coffee in our Breakfast Area or order room service.

We hope you give us the opportunity to offer the attention and quality you deserve at a subsequent visit. We remain at your disposal for any assistance you may need before you visit.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The staff here were try helpful in telling us which areas to avoid and setting up tours. Most of the staff speak english and were able to help me when I lost my ATM card. This is a great hotel if you are looking for a place with warm staff, great breakfast, and plan on doing a lot of sight seeing. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. If you are in town to do a lot of sight seeing and not really for night life, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Wilton P, Gerente at Wilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wilton Hotel for your stay in Buenos Aires and for sharing your experience with us.

It fills us with pride and joy knowing that we make your experience at our hotel was positive.

Greatly appreciate to recommend us to their family and friends so they can also enjoy our all.

We hope to have the opportunity to host it at our hotel and make it feel like home again.

We remain at your disposal for any questions.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Hotel

Address: Av. Callao 1162 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires 1023, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The hotel offers a cordial and friendly atmosphere, situated in the most fashionable area of Buenos Aires. All guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. These rooms are equipped with all the modern conveniences that most guests will need, including bathrobe, and special bath amenities. For those guests whose schedule is demanding, the hotel offers 24-hour room service and its business center is open around the clock with High speed Internet access. There is plenty to see and do nearby, only steps away from dining, shopping entertainment venues, and transport hubs. Local attractions, like Florida Street, the Congress Palace and the Colon Opera House Theatre are only a kilometer away. Guests will find a variety of dining options in the area, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Hotel Buenos Aires
Wilton Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.